We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Belgium gastronomic spot”

Cafe-Restaurant de la Foret
Ranked #10 of 54 Restaurants in Overijse
Price range: $29 - $47
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
374 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Very Belgium gastronomic spot”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had a good meal before we had to attend a party in the neighborhood. Restaurant established in 1908. Therefore we had some light dishes. Starting of with some oysters and afterwards some fish and mussels. It is more apparent that the locals know their locals here and that is what it is all about here. Mind you the menu has not changed for probably 25 years. People in this little community Jesus Eik know their peers for ages. Therefore be not surprised to be bypassed by locals, it is not the rule of hospitality but it is the local rule. Nevertheless it is a great Belgium experience to have had dinner here.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ch B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    67
    19
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
741 reviews
539 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Very pleasant spot”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Warm welcoming service in perfectly situated restaurant. Next to forest so great to combine with pre/post lunch walk. Good brasserie style food with excellent steaks and fish. Nice selection of beers and wine.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sdmmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good for Sunday lunch”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

A large group of us including children visited for sunday lunch and we found it to be excellent. Our large order was dealt with well and there were no complaints with the food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sawmillbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“A spot of EXCELLENT!”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Having been to so many brasseries recommended by one friend or another and usually a ho-hum result sadly this is most assuredly NOT in that!

No reservation, cold call, on a weekend evening (a bit later - 8pm) there we are. Table for two? No problem right this way. What language would you prefer - French, Flemish or English?

A very nice menu in all aspects of typical Belgian foods. We went for the varied approach - you get this, I'll get that and we'll trade some. ALL of it was declicious!!!

Good beer list, nice house (red) wine as well. It's not quite our All Time Favorite but it's on the top of the list. Very nice and family friendly. Pets appear to be welcome also.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank better_beer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Belgian brasserie”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

If you're looking for something typically Belgian, you're at the right address.

The brasserie has a classical local decoration, made of tiles and wooden chairs and tables.
The staff is also typically Belgian, speaking a mix of Flemish and French and is particularly welcoming, warm and friendly. The staff only would already make this place a must.

The menu is made of classical Belgian dishes, delicious and served very simply, without any exaggerated pretention.

I highly recommend to visit this place, for good local food and a fresh beer.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe-Restaurant de la Foret also viewed

Overijse, Flemish Brabant Province
Overijse, Flemish Brabant Province
 
Overijse, Flemish Brabant Province
Overijse, Flemish Brabant Province
 

Been to Cafe-Restaurant de la Foret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing