We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay at Secrets on the Lake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Secrets on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 9 Montville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bli Bli, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Amazing stay at Secrets on the Lake”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We would recommend Secrets to people who really enjoy those 'extra touches' when it comes to décor and ambience. Every fixture of these cabins is a work of art, and the privacy and comfort that is afforded is second to none. We stayed for two nights to celebrate our eighth wedding anniversary, and despite having chosen a new location every year prior (in the spirit of adventure - which to be honest, is a mild way of saying that all other venues didn't meet expectation...), we booked the same cabin for next years anniversary as we were checking out!! More than a naughty weekend, Secrets creates a special place in your heart that you can return to in your mind whenever daily life gets stressful or overwhelming. We are very much looking forward to our return to Secrets on the Lake at Montville.

Room Tip: All cabins are differently themed, and I recommend that you check the Secrets website for photos to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleDrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secretsonthelake, Front Office Manager at Secrets on the Lake, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you Michelle for your great pics you have added, we are so happy to have fulfilled your "Special place" that you can return to.... this is always our ultimate aim, that this is it! Thanks so much for posting onto Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    46
    7
    5
    6
See reviews for
54
382
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Aldy, George and the staff created another memorable, relaxing and happy Christmas for us at Secrets. Aldy's Christmas platter was superb, and the jokes in George's Christmas crackers were superbly dreadful - just as they should be! - and delivered to our door. Nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff, and it is all done effortlessly and with a smile. The adjacent café and the gallery are very popular with guests and visitors. One couple at the next table were on a day trip from Burpengary and were gobsmacked by the wood carvings on the café veranda, and the construction techniques. They also said they loved the coffee and the food and hoped they might be able to stay in one of the cabins for a special event they had coming up. So many of the other guests during this stay had all been coming for years, and all said how special Secrets was to them. We too keep going back to Secrets, to the friendly efficiency, the beautiful spot, great food, truly luxurious cabins, to where we are pampered, and made to feel so very welcome.

Kevin & Anne

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secretsonthelake, Front Office Manager at Secrets on the Lake, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you Cookes - we look forward to seeing you again very soon, thanks for spending Christmas with us at Secrets!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2013

What an amazing find. Not having a view of the coast or valley seemed strange in that area but Secrets is so incredibly unique, it doesn't need that. The tree house rooms are secluded and only accessed by elevated walkway. The attention to detail is spectacular, from the small, patio BBQs to the shoe horn hanging by the front door. The staff were very attentive without being overbearing and the welcome/breakfast food basket has to be seen (or tasted) to be believed. My only complaint was the possums (or maybe just the season) as nuts or branches kept dropping on our tin roof throughout the night. This could have been fixed with a big rainstorm - next time.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Dragonfly suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sc0ttH7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secretsonthelake, Front Office Manager at Secrets on the Lake, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hello Scott, thanks for your review, unfortunately there is not much we can do about the wildlife and trees!!! :-) We think it adds to the experience, thanks for taking the time to post this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed for the first time at Secrets on the Lake just recently. We had 3 nights in "Dragonfly" which is one of the more expensive cabins. The interactive map on the website was great, as you can see the relative location of the cabins, and we wanted one as secluded and peaceful as possible, and were prepared to pay that bit extra. It really was the nicest place we have ever stayed; the design, the outlook, the standard of furnishings, all fantastic. The beautiful wood carvings and furnishings everywhere were a real feature, if you have stayed there you will know what we mean. And overall it was very very peaceful and relaxing. The staff and owners were very friendly and helpful too, and it was a pleasure talking talking to them. We did not eat at the cafe so unfortunately can make no comment, but it seemed very popular. All in all, it was the most relaxing and enjoyable short break we've had and we have no hesitation to strongly recommend.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 281richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secretsonthelake, Front Office Manager at Secrets on the Lake, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you so much for posting your review, maybe you can plan a Winter Escape and sit in front of the fireplace looking out onto the Lake..... very romantic!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We'd been staying near the coast in Twin Waters for four weeks, and went here as a leaflet in the house had "good coffee" written on it. We went to try the coffee (very good). The restaurant and gallery had many fascinating details carved in wood. The whole structure is wood... One of the staff said that George could show us the rooms - he seemed a bit busy but in a gap grinned and said he'd love to. They were amazing. Each is an individual cabin with it's own motif. The cabins are set on stilts, and located in a strip of forest so that you are hardly aware the others are there - a glimpse of a roof perhaps. There's ample space for a party - but this is really couples land! the sunken bubble bath with views over the treetops, candles and a champagne bottle holder say it all.

We were entranced and booked for the following night in Dragonfly (after that we had to catch a plane from Brisbane). Relaxed from the bath, we grilled steaks on the small BBQ, fed some veg pieces to the possum and chilled.

George and the staff were magnificent, the provided goodies really good and the setting magnificent. They have truly created a small patch of heaven in Queensland.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secretsonthelake, Front Office Manager at Secrets on the Lake, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
We try very hard to be "a little bit of heaven in Queensland" - we think we have a lot of elements that are very special in a very special part of the world here on the sunshine coast hinterland. Thank you for your review - we love Dragonfly it's pretty special to us and it's quite an experience. Looking forward to seeing you again next time you visit QLD.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We have just returned to England,after staying with you for our friends wedding,We stayed in 2 frogs,which is very cosy and luxurious,everything is furnished and finished to a very high standard .The owners and staff are friendly and efficient,We loved the breakfast basket we received on arrival,and hot croissants and muffins were delivered fresh each morning to the tree house.The restaraunt serves excellent food too.This is a real retreat,which makes you relax and unwind as soon as you arrive,Inside the cabin is a jacuzzi,double shower,an ubber comfortable bed,on the balcony is a BBQ ,and a double swing to relax ,whilst enjoying the stunning views .I am just sorry that this secret is on the other side of the world,but when we visit Oz again, we will stay here as part of our holiday.Everyone one should put this place on their bucket list of must do's.

Room Tip: Just stay there,then you too will come away with lasting wonderful memories.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delariva2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secretsonthelake, Front Office Manager at Secrets on the Lake, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you for your great review - it's nice when you are over here for a wedding (which is usually a mad rush around and you don't get to relax much) that you did feel relaxed and experienced Secrets. We really appreciate you taking the time to write this review for us all the way from England - we hope next time you are visiting Aus that you make time to visit us again. Thank you and we hope you had a wonderful time at the wedding when you were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Mary and I had a lovely two-night stay in December. We found our hosts to be professional and welcoming. The cabin was delightful, as are the elevated walkways with their carvings and a bird's view of the surrounding rainforest.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbossley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secretsonthelake, Front Office Manager at Secrets on the Lake, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
We love to see reviews like this one! Thank you so much, so glad you took the time to visit us and relax and enjoy everything Secrets has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montville
1.7 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#3 of 3 in Montville
175 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
419 reviews
1.0 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Falls Montville
The Falls Montville
#1 of 3 in Montville
449 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hunchy Hideaway
Hunchy Hideaway
#6 of 15 in Montville
136 reviews
1.9 mi away
Spicers Clovelly Estate
Spicers Clovelly Estate
#2 of 9 in Montville
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets on the Lake

Property: Secrets on the Lake
Address: 207 Narrows Road, Montville, Queensland 4560, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Montville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Montville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Secrets on the Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Perfect Romantic Escape.....IMAGINE the ultimate romantic escape flowers, chocolates, and definitely some champagne and fruit. Hide away in a beautiful hand-carved cabin while a log fire burns and favourite music playing in the background. Neck deep in bubble bath and lounging in the sunken spa, gaze out over the veranda to see mist rolling over the magnificent lake. Secrets on the Lake is nestled in the Sunshine Coast's lush hinterland on 45 acres of rainforest and right on the shores of Lake Baroon. There are ten tree houses Waterlilies, Two Frogs, Possums, The Bower, Lizards Lair Wait A While, Platypus, Dragonfly, The Nest & last but not least Secrets. Each cabin is only accessed by a hand carved elevated treetop walkway, lit at night by handmade pottery lamps. They are meticulously appointed and individually themed from a different element of nature and feature extensive ceramic, iron and woodwork. Our guests can indulge themselves with our special homemade touches - the complimentary Champagne Breakfast basket, the hearty BBQ Hamper and cheese platters, a range of massages or our specially catered for Packages be it an escape or a honeymoon. Sit back on the deck and enjoy coffee & cake at the cafe or wander through the art gallery where the "Tree of Dreams" lives. Come & visit this wondrous place & be captivated by the charm & beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Secrets on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing