We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what an amazing place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Secrets on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 9 Montville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Upper Caboolture, Queensland, Australia
1 review
“what an amazing place”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

stayed here for our honeymoon :) we stayed in two frogs , it was amazing from the moment we pulled up. the moment we walking into the beautiful reception we felt so relaxed and welcomed. we were greeted with an amazing welcome basket with cereals , jams , milk , Manley yogurt , bread , wine , chocolates , fruit and more. also the most amazing scones with jam and cream I could have eaten 10 :) , our bags were then walked over to our tree house and as soon as you walk in the smell of aromatherapy oils relaxed you ( if you weren't already relaxed ) the views are amazing :) the room is beautiful , clean and has everything you could need. there's canoeing , walks and lots to do around the area, the possums at night are a great experience they come right up to you and eat out of your hand and will even let you pat them. lots of other amazing wildlife too. Hot fresh baked croissants at our door every morning :) missing that now. the place is overall relaxing and amazing , will definitely be back for our anniversary next year or maybe sooner. definitely check out the key restaurant in Maleny while you there great food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabitha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secretsonthelake, Front Office Manager at Secrets on the Lake, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi Tabitha, thank you so much for your review, so nice to see honeymoon couples who finally get time to relax and chill! We hope we become your special place to celebrate your anniversary - a great chance for you to take at least one holiday a year to just stop and take some time out with each other... Life gets very busy! Congratulations on your wedding!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    45
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
51
371
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a two night midweek stay in Two Frogs to celebrate our 20th anniversary. Since we last stayed at Secrets there have been some magical extensions / upgrades which are fantastic. We really enjoyed the peace and serenity of the beautiful location and will definately be back soon.

Room Tip: We;ve stayed in a few of the treehouse cabins. Each one has a different aspects / views. Look a the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secretsonthelake, Front Office Manager at Secrets on the Lake, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you Peter, mid-week is a great time to visit us, thanks for your review, so glad you like all our changes we have been making, see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiwn Waters
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

WOW...we chose Secrets as our Honeymoon destination - and we weren't disappointed. We couldn't fault anything...there's nothing we would change, and we can't wait to return. It doesn't matter which treehouse you stay in, they all have their own unique features. We were totally spoilt, from the warm welcome by George and the team, to the petal trail leading to our treehouse, not to mention the soothing music playing, the sunken double spa bath, the double love seat overlooking the lake, the log fire, the double shower, the champagne brekky, the BBQ hamper, the treats, the plunger coffee...just awesome! We loved every minute of it...so much so that on the day of our supposed departure, we just couldn't leave, and booked in for another night! Secrets is a magical soul rejuvenating place, the privacy and comfort is extraordinary, and the grounds are just beautiful. A true Hinterland gem.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secretsonthelake, Front Office Manager at Secrets on the Lake, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your honeymoon escape, and adding an extra day (extending your bliss!) So many of our guests celebrate their wedding anniversaries with us every year, they pre-book for next year when they check-out. We even had 1 couple who are going overseas next year and so they pre-booked for 2015! So glad you enjoyed your stay, it is a special place where you spend your first few nights as a newly married couple - a few days of reconnection following the stress and pace of life that often leads up to a wedding. Congratulations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Thank you to George and crew for such an amazing experience. From the moment we walked in to the time we left everything we experienced was designed to help us relax and enjoy this most incredible atmosphere. You literally have thought of everything. Thank you, thank you, thank you. We will be back!
Edy and Tracey Baird

Room Tip: Just say yes to what ever George suggests. Every room is amazing and you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secretsonthelake, Front Office Manager at Secrets on the Lake, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Now I don't know about the saying 'yes' to everything George suggests bit...... :-)
Thank you for staying with us at Secrets, we will see you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Secrets on the Lake for two nights and wish we had booked a third night. This place is the best place we have ever stayed in, it was so peaceful, relaxing and romantic. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating. Such a beautiful location. We can't wait to go back and are already thinking about our next holiday. Could not recommend this place enough

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinCra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secretsonthelake, Front Office Manager at Secrets on the Lake, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
O thank you so much for your wonderful review, everyone works so had to keep our standard at the highest level possible from the maintenance crew, housekeeping, reception staff and even the cafe staff, it really makes our day to see your great feedback - we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My hubby and I went for a walk here late fathers day and was absolutely amazed at the beauty of the Hinterland once again. The privacy and comfort of Secrets is a true gem of the Sunshine Coast. Although we didn't dine, we will definetly be back to visit. First impressions really do count!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank VanCessa66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secretsonthelake, Front Office Manager at Secrets on the Lake, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you so much - we do hope you get back to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gympie, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We recently enjoyed a wonderful two days and nights in "Two Frogs" - a beautiful tree house at Secrets on the Lake. What a fabulous spot - beautiful views in an amazing setting overlooking Baroon Pocket Dam, wonderful accommodation, romantic getaway, warm hospitality - overall an outstanding experience. Everything was perfect.

Room Tip: Our tree house - "Two Frogs" was beautiful, but I think they would all be fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DONELLE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secretsonthelake, Front Office Manager at Secrets on the Lake, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thanks Donelle for posting this review, so happy you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for taking the time to write and post your pic - we love getting feedback - see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montville
1.7 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#2 of 2 in Montville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
1.0 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
2.1 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Spicers Clovelly Estate
Spicers Clovelly Estate
#2 of 9 in Montville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
2.8 mi away
Maleny Tropical Retreat
2.2 mi away
Hunchy Hideaway
Hunchy Hideaway
#7 of 16 in Montville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets on the Lake

Property: Secrets on the Lake
Address: 207 Narrows Road, Montville, Queensland 4560, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Montville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Montville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Secrets on the Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Perfect Romantic Escape.....IMAGINE the ultimate romantic escape flowers, chocolates, and definitely some champagne and fruit. Hide away in a beautiful hand-carved cabin while a log fire burns and favourite music playing in the background. Neck deep in bubble bath and lounging in the sunken spa, gaze out over the veranda to see mist rolling over the magnificent lake. Secrets on the Lake is nestled in the Sunshine Coast's lush hinterland on 45 acres of rainforest and right on the shores of Lake Baroon. There are ten tree houses Waterlilies, Two Frogs, Possums, The Bower, Lizards Lair Wait A While, Platypus, Dragonfly, The Nest & last but not least Secrets. Each cabin is only accessed by a hand carved elevated treetop walkway, lit at night by handmade pottery lamps. They are meticulously appointed and individually themed from a different element of nature and feature extensive ceramic, iron and woodwork. Our guests can indulge themselves with our special homemade touches - the complimentary Champagne Breakfast basket, the hearty BBQ Hamper and cheese platters, a range of massages or our specially catered for Packages be it an escape or a honeymoon. Sit back on the deck and enjoy coffee & cake at the cafe or wander through the art gallery where the "Tree of Dreams" lives. Come & visit this wondrous place & be captivated by the charm & beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Secrets on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing