We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A secret that should be kept”

Secrets on the lake at Montville
Ranked #5 of 30 Restaurants in Montville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A secret that should be kept”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We decided we wanted to have brunch on Easter Sunday so we found this restaurant online.
In a nut shell, the secret should be kept and never told.
The staff are rude, their communication skills non existent and they really do seem to want to be somewhere else.
The food was atrocious, it seemed as if the cook/chef was completely untrained. ( Being a chef I tend to notice these things )
What was really disappointing is that it is such a nice spot with a wonderful outlook.
To be let down by staff who just don't care. ( I will however say that the owner was there handing out roses to all the women, nice touch ) I would suggest to the owners to sack all the staff and start again.
Otherwise this information is going to spread like a virus.
P.s.. We are locals, so this was even more disappointing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    71
    14
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“what a wonderful way to finish a great holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

How fortunate that my friend who I was holidaying with had discovered Secrets while searching on the Internet...the weather was lousy but it didn't detract from the fabulous view and atmosphere. I would certainly advise making a booking for the restaurant although we were lucky and got a table . The food was reasonably priced and delicious. We were also recipients of a beautiful rose which capped off a wonderful holiday.
Bev Q

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bevPenrith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Offering afternoon tea but closing 4pm?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Nothing more to say, but why bother opening for afternoon tea, when you close at 4pm. Considering the steep, hilly walk from car park to cafe, it would be considerate of this place to put their hours of business clearly on a sign in the car park!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ket72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved the outdoor dining experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Really enjoyed the outdoor restaurant and atmosphere. Food was lovely and selection of wine exquiste. Made extra special by the gentleman handing out the beautiful roses. The view is lovely and staff are very helpful and friendly.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyles2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Loved the tranquil setting, could have sat there all day! Was recommended to us by John and Sonya at Avocado Grove, and I'm glad we decided to go. Will definitely go back next time.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jilanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Secrets on the lake at Montville also viewed

 
Montville, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Secrets on the lake at Montville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing