We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal hinterland accommodation in spectacular location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spotted Chook Ferme Auberge
Ranked #4 of 9 Montville B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed in the Snowpea Suite for two nights which was ideal for two sisters sharing a room - a queen and two singles with plenty of space to relax. Although our room didn't have a view of hinterland, we looked out to a beautiful garden and gazebo area and we would definitely choose to stay in this room again. The view from the breakfast room is spectacular.

The highlight of the weekend would have to be the amazing three course meal prepared by Jane - do yourself a favour and dine in for at least one night of your stay. Magnificent local produce which was deliciously prepared and a meal we will remember for a while to come.

Breakfast was lovely and Leeroy and Jane were wonderful hosts - friendly and happy to give suggestions of where to go in this beautiful part of the world. The library also has an extensive collection of DVD's and books which is perfect for those rainy afternoons.

The Spotted Chook is a must-stay location for those wanting a relaxing weekend away.

Room Tip: The Snowpea Suite is spacious if you are travelling with a friend and don't want to share a bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petitemaison45, Owner at Spotted Chook Ferme Auberge, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you very much. We love it when we get such lovely people at the spotted chook. Jane's cooking is awesome. Glad that you had the right kind of stay.
Leeroy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 89 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had a fantastic two days at the Spotted Chook. We had a family room, even though it was just two of us, we enjoyed the extra space. The bathroom is extra large and well appointed. The bedroom was a great place to sit and read, watch tv or sit with a spotted cat!! We loved our stay at the spotted chook! The communal lounge was fantastic: a fire, loads of books and dvds, chill-out music and wifi made it a great place to recover from the walks!

Room Tip: We had the family room, even though it was just two of us...is was great to have the extra room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theresa1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I stayed in the Loft at the Chook for 3 nights. Leroy, Jane, Chloe and Emily were marvellous hosts and I felt renewed at the end of my sojourn there.
I also co facilitated a conference at the Chook and again Leroy, Jane and Chloe ensured the workshop spaces were warm and comfortable and the food for participants was marvellous.
I recommend the Chook as both a place of renewal and rest and/or a gorgeous location for workshops and conferences.
The food was delicious, service was relaxed and beautifully paced and the facilities were luxurious and comfortable.
Wonderful hosts.

Room Tip: all rooms have a lovely view and are beautifully appointed. The Loft has few steps if mobility is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Denese H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Spotted Chook last night. The owner, Leeroy, was very welcoming and friendly. We stayed in the corner room downstairs for one night only (you can normally only book for 2 nights but it is worth enquiring if they have 1 night available). Our room was spacious with lovely French doors opening out from a sitting room onto a private balcony and the room was tastefully decorated with French furniture and furnishings. The bed was very comfortable and warm on a cool night. There was a fireplace but we didn't find the need to light it but it would be great in the winter time. The bathroom was large with both a bath and a shower. It was very quiet with no traffic noise - we just awoke to the sound of the cows mooing and the bower birds singing which we didn't mind at all. There was a communal lounge area which opened out onto a balcony with a view down the valley. It was very welcoming with French music playing, lots of interesting books to ponder through and a large selection of dvds. Leeroy put on a great breakfast with homemade goodies. All in all a great place to stay, a home away from home.

Room Tip: Our downstairs corner room was private and sunny, however, we did have some noise from people walkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetrotters005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

What a wonderful place and a wonderful night away in Montville.

Upon arrival we were greeted by Leeroy and the adorable dog. We were shown around the house and informed that we were free to roam the property as we wished, and were then taken to our room. We stayed in the Petit Maison, and it was everything that i expected. The room was exactly as the picture's represent, with a wonderful 2 person spa on the back deck, as well as a wonderful claw footed bath in the bathroom.

The room was a wonderful size, that was perfectly decorated in a french rustic way. The king size bed was super comfy and cozy. We had a romantic and relaxing night away. The Petit Maison is in complete privacy with shrubs around the edge of the back patio and the side patio. The back patio faces out over the expansive property and is a perfect setting for Champs in the spa or reading in the comfy chairs.

Leeory was super friendly and chatty which was nice, and their cute dog was so friendly and loved taking us for a walk around the property to meet the cows and of course the spotted chooks. He recommended a wonderful restaurant for dinner, as his wife is the cook and she was enjoying a marathon in Paris. Breakfast was a delicious assortment of sunshine coast yoghurt, fresh fruit, crossiants, home made muffins and juice and coffee.

I would absolutely recommend this place to my friends and family who are looking for a nice escape not too far from Brisbane.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Km_mccgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petitemaison45, Owner at Spotted Chook Ferme Auberge, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you. Responses like yours make us glow with pride. Badger the dog if he could would also reply. He is getting close to being able to manage the Spotted Chook on his own. Just a few little rough spots that need to be ironed out. He enjoys showing off his chooks and the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

My husband and I recently spent two nights at The Spotted Chook in Montville and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
We stayed in "The Loft" which we found to be very spacious and inviting. The whole resort had a lovely airy ambiance. I absolutely adored the vases of fresh roses which were...everywhere !
A highlight of our stay was the delightful 3 course meal that Jane served in our room for our anniversary dinner. We enjoyed a Zucchini Souffle, Roasted Duck with Figs, and a wonderful custard tart with Mango.
Jane was an absolute pleasure to meet - so friendly and natural - we would be happy to stay here again and highly recommend The Spotted Chook to others wanting a quiet, romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petitemaison45, Owner at Spotted Chook Ferme Auberge, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

I just read your review again. Thank you. I miss Jane's cooking at the moment as she has been away and will be away for 3 weeks in all. She just ran the Paris Marathon on Sunday 42.19 ks in 4 hours. What an effort. Again thanks for the lovely comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

To end a horrible year, my husband and I spent New Year's 2012/2013 at the Spotted Chook. Leeroy and Jane looked after us so well. Dinner was excellent and the breakfasts superb - homemade croissants and Madeleine cakes. We were introduced to the wonderful menagerie of animals - the spotted chooks of course, a new lamb, the dog and the horses in the distance. We spent our time reading, watching a great variety of DVDs (excellent library) and having bubble baths. We ventured out for a walk at the Kondalilla Falls, had a lovely lunch at Wild Rocket in Montville, returned to our love nest and readied ourselves for New Year's Eve at The Reserve Restaurant (both restaurants recommended by Leeroy and Jane).

We returned to our everyday life refreshed and energised to begin a brand new year with wonderful memories of our peace-filled time at the Spotted Chook. I sincerely thank Jane and Leeroy for looking after us so well and getting us to a perfect place to start our New Year. Next time I'd like to bring the children but then ... maybe I'll leave it just for us!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petitemaison45, Owner at Spotted Chook Ferme Auberge, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Glad we were able to have you see in the New Year at the spotted chook. Sorry for the late reply. We have just put another 30 dvds in the library. This time all Italian and French. So you need to come back to check them out. A Bientot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montville
1.8 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#3 of 3 in Montville
182 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Falls Montville
The Falls Montville
#1 of 3 in Montville
478 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
14.8 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Montville Mountain Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spotted Chook Ferme Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spotted Chook Ferme Auberge

Address: 176 Western Ave, Montville, Queensland 4560, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Montville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Montville
Price Range: $135 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Spotted Chook Ferme Auberge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spotted Chook and Amelie's is the most delightful mix of Australian /European style. Perched on poles and facing the valley with stunning views.The rooms are large with private verandah,sofa, fireplace and air-con. They are all with private bathrooms and Queen or King beds. Soft robes, bar fridge, lcd tv/cd/ipod players. We have a gourmet continental breakfast included in all our prices. The property has guest lounge and dining room where we do breakfast and dinner by arrangement.DVD library, magazines, games and more are for guest enjoyment. We are on 110 acres of family property with cows, horses, chickens and family pets. The rainforest is below with a vast collection of bird life. So come on up and share our piece of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Spotted Chook Ferme Auberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing