We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic Night Away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spotted Chook Ferme Auberge
Ranked #4 of 9 Montville B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 7, 2013

What a wonderful place and a wonderful night away in Montville.

Upon arrival we were greeted by Leeroy and the adorable dog. We were shown around the house and informed that we were free to roam the property as we wished, and were then taken to our room. We stayed in the Petit Maison, and it was everything that i expected. The room was exactly as the picture's represent, with a wonderful 2 person spa on the back deck, as well as a wonderful claw footed bath in the bathroom.

The room was a wonderful size, that was perfectly decorated in a french rustic way. The king size bed was super comfy and cozy. We had a romantic and relaxing night away. The Petit Maison is in complete privacy with shrubs around the edge of the back patio and the side patio. The back patio faces out over the expansive property and is a perfect setting for Champs in the spa or reading in the comfy chairs.

Leeory was super friendly and chatty which was nice, and their cute dog was so friendly and loved taking us for a walk around the property to meet the cows and of course the spotted chooks. He recommended a wonderful restaurant for dinner, as his wife is the cook and she was enjoying a marathon in Paris. Breakfast was a delicious assortment of sunshine coast yoghurt, fresh fruit, crossiants, home made muffins and juice and coffee.

I would absolutely recommend this place to my friends and family who are looking for a nice escape not too far from Brisbane.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Km_mccgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petitemaison45, Owner at Spotted Chook Ferme Auberge, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you. Responses like yours make us glow with pride. Badger the dog if he could would also reply. He is getting close to being able to manage the Spotted Chook on his own. Just a few little rough spots that need to be ironed out. He enjoys showing off his chooks and the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 90 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

My husband and I recently spent two nights at The Spotted Chook in Montville and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
We stayed in "The Loft" which we found to be very spacious and inviting. The whole resort had a lovely airy ambiance. I absolutely adored the vases of fresh roses which were...everywhere !
A highlight of our stay was the delightful 3 course meal that Jane served in our room for our anniversary dinner. We enjoyed a Zucchini Souffle, Roasted Duck with Figs, and a wonderful custard tart with Mango.
Jane was an absolute pleasure to meet - so friendly and natural - we would be happy to stay here again and highly recommend The Spotted Chook to others wanting a quiet, romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petitemaison45, Owner at Spotted Chook Ferme Auberge, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

I just read your review again. Thank you. I miss Jane's cooking at the moment as she has been away and will be away for 3 weeks in all. She just ran the Paris Marathon on Sunday 42.19 ks in 4 hours. What an effort. Again thanks for the lovely comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

To end a horrible year, my husband and I spent New Year's 2012/2013 at the Spotted Chook. Leeroy and Jane looked after us so well. Dinner was excellent and the breakfasts superb - homemade croissants and Madeleine cakes. We were introduced to the wonderful menagerie of animals - the spotted chooks of course, a new lamb, the dog and the horses in the distance. We spent our time reading, watching a great variety of DVDs (excellent library) and having bubble baths. We ventured out for a walk at the Kondalilla Falls, had a lovely lunch at Wild Rocket in Montville, returned to our love nest and readied ourselves for New Year's Eve at The Reserve Restaurant (both restaurants recommended by Leeroy and Jane).

We returned to our everyday life refreshed and energised to begin a brand new year with wonderful memories of our peace-filled time at the Spotted Chook. I sincerely thank Jane and Leeroy for looking after us so well and getting us to a perfect place to start our New Year. Next time I'd like to bring the children but then ... maybe I'll leave it just for us!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petitemaison45, Owner at Spotted Chook Ferme Auberge, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Glad we were able to have you see in the New Year at the spotted chook. Sorry for the late reply. We have just put another 30 dvds in the library. This time all Italian and French. So you need to come back to check them out. A Bientot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We just had our wedding at the beautiful Spotted Chook, and one word to sum it up - perfect! Leeroy and Jane run a tight ship, nothing but helpful from our first visit out of the blue to check their facilities, and answering my constant questions on everything and anything with no problems or hesitation. The whole weekend was smooth and calm, it helps to know you have a couple of very experienced hard workers behind the scenes ready to change anything at short notice if required and doing all they can to keep their guests happy. The prices were better than we expected for the service we received. Our guests had nothing but praise for the wedding, the food was amazing, the setting is magical and I have no doubt we will all be back for a night away at some point. Thank you Leeroy and Jane!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vealls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Leeroy and Jane run a wonderful little spot in Montville. We stayed in the Amelie's Petite Maison cottage while we were getting married elsewhere in Montville. If only we'd booked our wedding too at the Spotted Chook!

Our whole family stayed in the main house at the Spotted Chook, and all were impressed by the intimate, friendly and charming location and amenities. Breakfast was also a treat, served in the homey dining room, or in our cottage.

We will definitely be back for our anniversaries. Thanks Leeroy and Jane!

Room Tip: You can't go past the cottage, Amelie's Petite Maison, for privacy and comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngeleneFay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petitemaison45, Owner at Spotted Chook Ferme Auberge, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you for your lovely comments. We do try to do our best to make it a beautiful experience at The Spotted Chook. It is hard to get it right all the time, with everyone, so very exciting when we see happy customers make a comment
All the best
The Team at The Spotted Chook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We recently got married at the Spotted Chook. It is a beautiful location and we loved the fact that it was a very private and intimate venue. The accommodation is lovely and the food very good. Throughout the process, from booking to our wedding day, Leeroy was great. He worked so hard and always did his best to help us. On the day of the wedding, Leeroy's daughters also helped out with the set-up and waitressing and they were lovely, making sure we always had what we needed. However, Leeroy's wife was rude to us on several occasions over the weekend, including in the middle of our wedding meal. I have read that a couple of other reviewers had problems with the host being rude and we too had first-hand experience of this. It was very disappointing.

Based on our experience, If you are thinking of getting married at the Chook, I would suggest:

1) You make sure you are very clear from the outset what you can and cannot do in terms of decorations/layout etc (particularly if you have specific ideas) and are aware of all the extra costs (If you have children coming, ask about the prices as we were very surprised by these costs for what was provided); and

2) Deal with Leeroy exclusively.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aubergine26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed here as part of a wedding party in July 2012, and boy were we impressed! The scenery surrounding this beautiful place was breathtaking, with every single room providing a stunning view of the grounds and surrounding hills. Jane and Leeroy were absolutely fantastic. Nothing was too much of a hassle, and they made our stay there incredible enjoyable. The food was first class, the rooms have been furnished to perfection, and the entire place had such a wonderful feel. Would recommend this place to anyone - solo or family - who are travelling around the Montville area. Definitely a place you will not want to leave!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montville
1.8 mi away
Clouds of Montville Eco Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
The Falls Montville
The Falls Montville
#1 of 3 in Montville
491 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
0.9 mi away
Secrets on the Lake
Secrets on the Lake
#2 of 9 in Montville
593 reviews
1.6 mi away
Spicers Clovelly Estate
Spicers Clovelly Estate
#1 of 9 in Montville
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spotted Chook Ferme Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spotted Chook Ferme Auberge

Address: 176 Western Ave, Montville, Queensland 4560, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Montville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Montville
Price Range: $133 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Spotted Chook Ferme Auberge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spotted Chook and Amelie's is the most delightful mix of Australian /European style. Perched on poles and facing the valley with stunning views.The rooms are large with private verandah,sofa, fireplace and air-con. They are all with private bathrooms and Queen or King beds. Soft robes, bar fridge, lcd tv/cd/ipod players. We have a gourmet continental breakfast included in all our prices. The property has guest lounge and dining room where we do breakfast and dinner by arrangement.DVD library, magazines, games and more are for guest enjoyment. We are on 110 acres of family property with cows, horses, chickens and family pets. The rainforest is below with a vast collection of bird life. So come on up and share our piece of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Spotted Chook Ferme Auberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing