We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Words are insufficient to express our LOVE for 'The Chook'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spotted Chook Ferme Auberge
Ranked #4 of 9 Montville B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We booked out the entire Spotted Chook & Amelies Petit Maison for our wedding weekend, so we could stay with our close family (half of whom were visiting from the UK)

What a beautiful time we had! The place itself is divine, with so many thoughtful touches, but the hosts Leeroy & Jane were incredible. Our first night we were treated to a wonderful family dinner and just couldn't have felt more looked after. The breakfasts every day were a treat, especially the home baked treats.

Our photographer was thrilled at the myriad opportunities for great images, and Amelie was the perfect place to prepare for our wedding with lots of room for hair & makeup etc! The hand carved king sized bed was super comfy and the fireplace kept everything snuggly and lovely.

Could not recommend highly enough! We will be returning for our anniversary, or perhaps for no reason at all - need a chance to have a spa on the deck!!

Room Tip: Amelies Petit Maison is private & gorgeous. In the main house The Loft is lovely.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MathenaOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Spotted Chook Ferme Auberge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 88 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2011

When we started planning our wedding we knew we wanted a personal, intimate, quirky and unique ceremony and reception... The Spotted Chook did NOT disappoint!
From the first time we saw this beautiful venue, we knew it was for us. It has all these qualities and more! Jane and Leeroy are so welcoming and made us (and our guests) feel at home. We had room for our closest friends and family to stay with us for the weekend, which helped make our wedding a very special experience indeed. Not only was the food exceptional, the service and attention to detail was second to none. This little gem has helped make our wedding a true celebration. We will be back again and have already booked for our first anniversary.

Room Tip: Amelie's Petite Maison provides the most romantic and private setting. The room is spacious yet...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Fantastic short stay in every way - beautiful district with lots to do; lovely bed and breakfast with beautiful appointments and extremely clean; gourmet breakfast; and helpful friendly people - nothing was too much trouble, even driving us out to dinner. Will definitely be back. Authentically French in character. Came away feeling truly refreshed.

Room Tip: Stayed in Buttercup room - very pretty, good view, quiet. Other rooms look nice as well.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrisbaneAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We have stayed here before and returned because of the fantastic experience. I just cannot understand the one and only negative report on The Spotted Chook although the spelling is so bad in the report it makes one think that it must have been written by a person with poor discernment!

This place is not the Intercontinental Hotel - it's a beautifully positioned and staffed B & B and the animals that are on the premises endorse its standing as 'Ferme Auberge' as far as we were concerned. Sure, the chickens crow in the mornings; the cat and dog sleep on the verandah and one sometimes has to step over them to reach the dining room. but this all lends itself to the charm and appeal. The superb food and hospitality make it well worth the experience.

We will return as will others apparently going by the other reports.

Howard & Sue.

Room Tip: The Attic or Amelie's cottage are the best.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howiesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

What do you want when you go on holiday......All your needs taken care off!!!.It takes advantage of the buetifull landscape, lush green rolling hills, sun setting over your rear balcony.A fireplace a must for ambiance,A bath that you can spend hours in,Food thats an expeirence and most off all staff that will go above and beyond to give you want you ask for.They know service and your basic missing out if you dont stop here when you are in the area. Oh and Amelies is the room you want for the red carpet treatment .

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patos77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Hubbie and I stayed in Amelies cottage for 2 nights to celebrate my birthday. Leroy greeted us with such friendliness. He got the mix perfectly right. Friendly and helpful, with good suggestions on places to eat at and see, but not in your face. We were lucky in that the place had cleared out as it was mid week and we had the luxury of having breakfasts in the dining room exclusively to ourselves which suited us perfectly and they were DELICIOUS. A very generous amount of food. We are animal lovers so enjoyed meeting the cat and dog too. The cottage was roomy and relaxing and very quirky. The cottage was an easy 3 minute drive to Montville shops and had brilliant rural views. We enjoyed watching the birds and animals from the deck of the cottage each day. We would definately recommend The Spotted Chook as a fabulous getaway. If there were one very small detail that let things down I would say that there were a few dead bugs in the cottage and spiders webs around the deck area that could have been removed and with me having a bug phobia, this was the only very small thing that stopped the cottage from being absolutely perfect, but we do also understand that a popular place to stay at can get very busy so its hard for the owners to keep on top of everything as there are only so many hours in the day. Dont let that stop you going there though. It was absolutely delightful and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piglethead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

My husband and I held our small wedding of 35 people here in August and had a group of 8 friends stay at the chook with us for 2 nights (we had an extra night when everyone went home). I seriously cannot speak highly enough of The Spotted Chook. From our first contact with the owners, Jane & Leeroy, we knew this was the perfect spot for our wedding. They made us feel so at ease, which is absolutely welcomed when planning a wedding! Every need was met, every request and question was answered and NOTHING was too much trouble. Jane was the chef and catered the whole wedding while Leeroy kept everyone's drinks cold and topped up and their twin daughters kept everyone fed and happy. The cocktail reception food was to-die-for.... breakfast each day was amazing, fresh and plentiful. The rooms were gorgeous, we can speak for Amelies Cottage, which is the stand alone 'honeymoon' cottage... it was like a little slice of french inspired heaven. Bright and open with not one but two bathtubs, one on the outdoor deck with a huge comfy bed, fireplace and anything else you could need. I think we only left the cottage to get more wine! Views from everywhere, a short walk or drive to town if need be, friendly pets happy to get a pat and great people. We can't wait to get back there again for our first anniversary if we can wait that long.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TenandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montville
1.7 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#3 of 3 in Montville
178 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
443 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Falls Montville
The Falls Montville
#1 of 3 in Montville
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
1.6 mi away
Spicers Clovelly Estate
Spicers Clovelly Estate
#2 of 9 in Montville
506 reviews
0.7 mi away
Altitude on Montville
Altitude on Montville
#2 of 15 in Montville
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spotted Chook Ferme Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spotted Chook Ferme Auberge

Address: 176 Western Ave, Montville, Queensland 4560, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Montville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Montville
Price Range: $143 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Spotted Chook Ferme Auberge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spotted Chook and Amelie's is the most delightful mix of Australian /European style. Perched on poles and facing the valley with stunning views.The rooms are large with private verandah,sofa, fireplace and air-con. They are all with private bathrooms and Queen or King beds. Soft robes, bar fridge, lcd tv/cd/ipod players. We have a gourmet continental breakfast included in all our prices. The property has guest lounge and dining room where we do breakfast and dinner by arrangement.DVD library, magazines, games and more are for guest enjoyment. We are on 110 acres of family property with cows, horses, chickens and family pets. The rainforest is below with a vast collection of bird life. So come on up and share our piece of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Spotted Chook Ferme Auberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing