We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning view, great spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
At Remingtons Lodge & Private Cottages
Ranked #5 of 9 Montville B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning view, great spa”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I booked my husband and I for a mid-week 1 night getaway. After phoning Jodie to advise that we were running late she advised us that the keys were in the door so once we arrive we could just walk in.
When we opened the front door we were immediately greeted by the fantastic view of the horizon overlooking the sunshine coast. Piano music was gently playing as we wandered in and our robes, towels and chocolates were waiting for us on the king size bed.
The fridge was stocked with our breakfast hamper, juice and a bottle of bubbly.

We probably should have done our research beforehand but we were wanting to go out for a nice restaurant dinner but didn't realise that in the middle of the week, Montville, Flaxton and Maleny are pretty much dead after 6pm; After driving to Flaxton, then back through Montville without seeing a place open for dinner we managed to stop the owner of the IGA from closing in time for us to grab some extras to eat. We ended up cooking up our breakfast hamper for dinner out on the deck. This was somewhat challenging as the outside light was out, but luckily enough the spa overlooks the deck so we turned that light on so we could make out what we were cooking. We found we had to wash the dishes and cups and glasses before use (which is not unusual in most self contained units) and we found out why - the kitchen sink only had a cold water tap, so we can only assume that previous patrons didn't wash their dishes properly?? We boiled the kettle so we could properly wash the dishes (Also - noticed that the dish rack drains onto the bench which in turn drips onto the floor/your feet so we put one of the bath mats down to protect the floor boards).
The fireplace and lounge was nice and with most of the lights off we could see the lights of the sunny coast, we read of the history of Remingtons Shute by the fire with bubbly and nibbles in hand - very relaxing, albeit with the sound of cars whizzing by on the road behind us.
We were expecting the luxurious king size bed to be soft and inviting but it was springy and hard and we both didn't have the comfortable sleep we were looking forward to (watch your toes as the corner posts of the bed stick out and there were a few stubbed toes during our stay).
We decided to watch the sunrise from the comfort of the nice hot spa which was fantastic. The only thing I could point out here was that the last people to stay had left their body wash/soap behind which made us think that perhaps the bath tub wasn't cleaned after they had left so we gave this a once over before we hopped in (my husband however, thought I was over-reacting here which could be the case)
It wasn't until we went to Reception to check-out that we noticed the selection of dvd's and newspapers which would have been good to know about on arrival. There was nobody at the Reception area so we called the number at the door, we were expecting to meet Jodie face to face as it was around the check out time (10.30/11am), we found this a little impersonal.
Overall, for what you get it is cheaper than the other B&B's in the area; however there are a few touches that could have made this outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank electricbugal00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    5
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
43
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This place is everything the website says and more. An abundance of breakfast provisions are included in the price with reception always open should you require more. There's also ample DVD's, newspapers & CD collection to keep you busy.
We seemed to stay at the perfect time as we had perfect days, with just enough chill at night to use the fireplace.

The spa is amazing and I want one this size for my home! The photo's don't do it justice and it EASILY fits two tall adults.
I proprietors give the feeling they go off 'old school' trust values with people who stay here. We turned up around 245 and Jodie had left the key in the door for us, all ready to go. The next day we intended to spend most of the day out and about so I sent hubby to call Jodie so that we could pay the balance owing without havingn to rush on check out day. Again, on check out your simply expected to leave the key in the door. It felt a little strange to begin with as we usually stay at big hotels and are used to hotel people pestering us for payment or to enforce check out times etc; here, there's none of that and whilst you feel welcome, your privacy is maintained at all times.
Also, we were immensely surprised at how Jodie goes out of her way with requests. My hubby LOVES coffee so I had asked for some extra coffee, really just expecting some extra satchets...no...Jodie had moved an expressi machine into our room with a box full of pods...boy, did that impress the husband!
The only very minor thing I would say is that we were celebrating our 9th wedding anniversary and, even though I had advised Jodie of this on booking, I was surprised it wasn't acknowledged with a card or note. However, my husband was congratulated when finalising our payment. This really didn't bother us and I only mention it as we were surprised.
Also, whilst the sunrise is amazing, block out blinds would be wonderful to have the option of a bit of a sleep in. We're both sleep deprived parents and were both up at 5am on both days due to the sun; lucky though, being so sleep deprived, we were able to get back to sleep, but the option of black outs would have been nice.
All in all, a fantastic few nights away and whilst I want to rave about this place to my friends, I also want to keep it our little secret :)
Thanks again Jodie :)

Room Tip: Toorali was amazing and had great views with the trees out front having recently been lopped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plunk07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Our family stayed in the lodge and we couldn't of been happier! The kids loved it especially the spa and all the DVDs. We loved it because it was such a fantastic house we had everything we needed and could relax, only wish we stayed longer! The fireplace, spa, breakfast that was already in the fridge, the wine & chocolates, the beds were so comfortable and so was the lounge and the view was amazing! Thank you so much Jodie we will be definately be back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natbruceflick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Six couples shared this remarkable property for a long weekend in June 2012 and we could not have been more impressed. Perched on the rim of the Blackall Range a few minutes from picturesque Montville, this property combines well appointed flexible accommodation for two to 14 people with top class service. The views are to die for and the attention to detail to ensure client comfort includes a bottle of gratis bubbly on arrival, excellent nibble/dinner trays at low cost and newspapers delivered daily. Well done Jodie and Scott. The options for touring/eating/drinking/shopping in close proximity are also first class. We had none of the concerns expressed by others about traffic noise.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with view (which is most of those available)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights in April 2012 in the Shalalah cabin. Very clean and comfortable with ample and delicious breakfast supplies provided. A minor quibble (not within the owner's control) with traffic noise, but the beautiful location and spectacular views more than made up it. Owner was very helpful and accommodating when we arrived without much notice. Thanks for that.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PK_Calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We spent xmas there and we loved it so much that we are going back for Easter ! Jodie is an amazing caring lady and truly takes care of your needs. We stayed at the Toorali cottage and we took our little foxie and cat. They loved it as much as we did. The lay out of the cabin, the spa with the windows opening onto the veranda overlooking the tree tops and the far Sunshine Coast were just amazing! The bfast basked is HUGE and if you leave your cabin for a few hours, Jodie will come in and miraculously tidy up the whole cabin. If you expect to cook massive stuff, then you will be disappointed as the cooking facilities are simple ( a small BBQ, a camping cooking burner, a microwave). We had fun cooking up bfasts and then we went for long walks with the dog and at night we went out or took away food. The cottages are comfortable, beds are AWESOME and the fact that we can take our 'furry kids', makes it truly friendly and worthwhile going back.

Room Tip: We had Toorali and loved it. We will have Bullockies next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swissmiss6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

I love Montville at the best of times and adore Secrets on the Lake/Whistlestop. Well there is now a competitor or their business. At Remington's provides all the little touches that makes a weekend away personable. The cottage where we stayed, Shalalah, was the only one available for the two of us, and more than adequate for a weekend stay with all of the normal couple amenities. Spa bath - tick, view - tick, comfy bed - tick, bottle of wine - tick. Saying that, I could also imagine having our two kids with us as well. The face of AR is Jodie and an absolute sweetheart. She has perfectly encapsulated what it is that sets this place and other accommodations apart. The variety of teas and coffees, the fruit and breakfast hamper, cookies, wine and breakfast hamper included in the cost. The outdoor setting overlooking the local coastal views are nothing but superior. I was distressed to read the previous disgruntled review because if only they had chosen to stay or were seasoned cottage/b&b residents, they would have experienced/and or recognised the superior stay that AR provides immediately. We will definately be back!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montville
0.2 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#3 of 3 in Montville
174 reviews
2.5 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
2.9 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Secrets on the Lake
Secrets on the Lake
#1 of 9 in Montville
511 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hunchy Hideaway
Hunchy Hideaway
#6 of 15 in Montville
135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Spicers Clovelly Estate
Spicers Clovelly Estate
#2 of 9 in Montville
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Remingtons Lodge & Private Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Remingtons Lodge & Private Cottages

Property: At Remingtons Lodge & Private Cottages
Address: 111 Balmoral Rd, Montville, Queensland 4560, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Montville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Montville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private luxurious rustic cottages with log fires, spa bath, ocean views situated close to Montville or Maleny villages, shops, restaurants and rainforest walks/waterfalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your At Remingtons Lodge & Private Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing