We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overcharged & Bad Service”

Flame Hill Vineyard
Ranked #11 of 31 Restaurants in Montville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My partner and I attended brunch with a group of friends following a wedding the night before. Unfortunately there were several cancellations. The restaurant was notified as soon as possible and they did not state this would be a problem. Upon arriving, we were told that we would have to pay the extra 10 people that didn't turn up. Reluctantly everyone chipped in the extra, but we never saw the 'ten' extra meals' nor did they try to come to another sort of compromise. I understand the cancellation caused an inconvenience, but the way they handled it was very poor. The service was terrible and unaccommodating and meals were very average. Won't be returning and will not be recommending this to anyone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank SarahBronson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flame_Hill_Vineyard, Owner at Flame Hill Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Malicious, fictitious, exaggerated rants such as this are the very reason no sane individual takes TA seriously.

To use the term "overcharged " is in fact defamatory as that did not occur. The reality is a group of people were charged for a function they booked and paid a deposit on. We were informed that morning, the Brunch booking was reduced by 25% however all the breakfast fare had been prepared by the kitchen, the restaurant had been set for a group of 40 plus and additional staff were on hand.

I have spoken to the lady who organized the event, who was unaware of this posting and stated she has been singing our praises relative to quality of food and service.

So where has FH erred ? - we did not take a bathe for 10 meals ?

The event organiser was informed on arrival the original cost would have to stand.

Interestingly the author mentions they were not informed earlier during the phone conversation, although the question was not asked, and really what bearing would that of had ?

A complete no show ?

In reality to be clear on the outcome of the 11th hour cancellation as we had to access the status of prep and make a decision if a credit to the customer was fiscally feasible.

Postings such as this rip the heart out of small business that works so tirelessly, and the passion out of great staff - neither deserves this.

REGARDLESS OF CIRCUMSTANCE, THOSE AT FAULT ARE THOSE WHO FAILED TO HONOUR THE COMMITTMENT TO ATTEND !

Vexatious untrue dribble for the sole purpose of damaging business is actionable

IT IS TIME SOMEONE TOOK A STAND AND THIS IS IT!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 207 of 249 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Drove in without a booking and sat down to one of the best meals we have had in years
It started with a fantastic plate of home made breads and butter and just got better from there
For entree I had a zucchini flower stuffed with scallop and my partner had the duck dish which I didn't get to try but the presentation was amazing
To follow I had the pork belly beautiful crackling and partnered beautifully with the parsnip and jus
The wines were also fantastic we had the Shiraz and did a tasting at the front of the restaurant
Well done flame hill and keep up the good work
We will be back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lychee-81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Found our way to Flame Hill by accident as we inadvertently drove past your chosen lunch spot. What good luck! We really enjoyed the wine tasting prior to being seated on the verandah. A warm sunny afternoon and great view of the vineyards and surrounding hills enhanced the experience. My Braised Beef cheeks were perfect, served with a jus and potato cake (don't be fooled) The Quinoa risotto with mushrooms was tasty. Our chosen glass of estate 2010 Shiraz was better than expected and the Verdellho was excellent

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank robert7005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Very beautiful vineyard with amazing views and friendly staff. We shared the Charcuterie which was delicious, as well as a freshwater entree which was also very good. The wine was good but not as great as the food oddly enough. Would visit again.

Thank Corinth1an
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

What a perfect spot up on the ridge with views down to the coast in the distance.
Friendly service
Nice wines
We had the shared platter - very generous serving with tasty variety of sliced meats, pickles, dips....
Would visit again next time we are back on the Sunshine Coast on holiday.

Thank 01foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flame Hill Vineyard also viewed

 
Montville, Sunshine Coast
Montville, Sunshine Coast
 
Montville, Sunshine Coast
Montville, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Flame Hill Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing