We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical relaxing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Montville Oceanview Cottages
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
997 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 639 helpful votes
“A magical relaxing experience”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We had a fantastic 2 night stay at Montville Ocean view cottages. We purchased a package which included 2 nights accommodation, dinner supplies for one night, a bottle of wine and breakfast daily. Bob and Loraine, the owners of the property have created a wonderful location for a relaxing break.

Our apartment was true to the images that we viewed online, the kitchen is well stocked with all the little essential things: tea, coffee, sugar, S&P, sauce, oil, food wraps etc. Loraine supplies a fabulous amount of food for the Bar-B-Q dinner and breakfasts( cereal, juice, bacon/sausages, mushrooms, tomato, bread/muffin, jam and butter; changes daily). There is also an Nespresso machine.

The bed was most comfortable, from the bed there is a stunning view of the outside gardens. The living room was spacious, TV, DVD movies and CDs provided. There is air-conditioning and a fire place to cater for different temperatures.

The bathroom is gorgeous, large shower, and a spa bath; which was great for a big soak when the afternoon turned wet and gloomy.

On the property there is a 'marked' walking trail which we tried to follow. There are stunning views looking down over the land towards the Sunshine coast in the distance. From the cottage it was a 10 minute drive up the mountain to Montville.

As other TA reviews have pointed out the kookaburras are rather cheeky and will attempt to steel your food from the bar-b-q or from your plates. Keep a close watch.
Also in the morning the blinds do not provide complete block-out of light (which was not a problem for us); eye shades are provided.

If you are looking for a relaxing break away from a busy life, Montville Oceanview cottages is a great destination. We loved listening to the sounds of the bush and feeling like we were far from everywhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kpiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We enjoyed a 2-night stay in one of these lovely cabins. We loved that our cabin was completely private and separate from the other ones. I took a book to read but it was never opened and the tv was never turned on. I have read a few reviews where people complained about bad tv reception but that was the last thing on our minds.
The only negative thing I have to say is that the sun woke us very early as the blinds don't keep the sun out. Apart from that it was close to perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megsie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Spent 3 nights here as a short honeymoon. Only booked for a 2 night couple weekend, then had to stay another night - couldn't bear to leave. Fabulous views, total privacy, lovely food & champagne provided. Played tennis twice, went on the bush walk, enjoyed a spa bath with the best views imaginable. Previous reviews complained about the TV - reception seemed fine to us & why would you go there to watch TV !! Kookaburras were cute & not as threatening as we were lead to believe. Cicadas are deafening for about an hour around sunset. Will definitely be returning for our 1st anniversary.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdt_53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We had a 2 night stay package and stayed in cottage 2. It has a beautiful view of the coast. The breakfasts and dinner platter had generous servings and we we're even joined by kookaburras each morning. The bathroom and spa was stunning which also had gorgeous views. Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nimbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I travelled solo to Montville Oceanview Cottages and stayed two nights. Cottage was very clean and well maintained. The decor is contemporary and tasteful. The spa bath in the bathroom was lovely and overlooked the bush surrounds. The king size bed was very comfortable with crisp linen.
As mentioned in other reviews, the tv reception is very ordinary, but there are literally hundreds of DVD's in reception to choose from but I guess if you just want to watch the news or catch X-Factor that doesn't help much!
Breakfast provisions were fine although I only received one egg each morning and perhaps thought two could have been provided. I also had dinner provisions one evening which were also adequate, although I think things like the bread could be taken up a notch to really make it special.
My cottage (no. 3) has its car park about 20 metres away along a path, some of which is just gravel. This can be a bit tricky to negotiate with a large piece of luggage. From what I could gather, the other cottages have car parks right outside the front door.
On the whole, I enjoyed my peaceful sojourn and once the council fixes the road I would probably visit again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingkitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qld
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The cottage we stayed was very modern, had a nice little kitchen, beautiful view from the large front verandah, and bathroom was nice. It was the usual open plan for the bedroom and lounge area, but the bathroom was in it's own room. The TV was terrible though and to heat up the main area (in winter) we had both heaters going at full the whole time. The breakfasts were lovely and very generous, we had lots to give to the many kookaburras that were our constant companions! The location was quiet and peaceful, but as the road was closed to montville, our trips for dinner and site-seeing took a bit longer than usual - hopefully this is only a temporary thing. One of the reasons I go away is to catch up on sleep, reading, tv etc. The cottage was very open, a lot of glass everywhere - there was not one spot I could stand without seeing glass and the outside, and the sun came in waking us up (no proper curtains). The glass let all the heat out, and the blinds were very thin, so not very eco-friendly. I felt like I was in a fish bowl and not very comfortable, especially in the bathroom. The bathroom was ok, but using it in the middle of winter without any heating was one of the most painful experiences! This place is lovely, but we won't be back unless they address the insulation problem.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank QldFamilytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed two nights and really enjoyed our time at Oceanview Cottages. A perfect place to spend a romantic weekend, or just to get away from the hustle of the city.
Pros:
The generous use of glass overlooking secluded bush land/rainforest.
Amazing breakfasts provided to cook on the BBQ each morning.
Possibly the best bathroom we'd seen in a long time - spotlessly clean and with the most amazing views from both the shower and the two person spa bath.
Friendly and welcoming owners.
Cons:
We had no mobile phone reception and the accommodation didn't have WiFi (we're with Vodafone - those with Telstra should be fine).
The couch was not very comfortable.
The TV was quite small and reception wasn't great.
However, cons aside, we loved our stay and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AllynAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montville
0.6 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#3 of 3 in Montville
174 reviews
2.9 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
3.2 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Falls Montville
The Falls Montville
#1 of 3 in Montville
434 reviews
2.3 mi away
Secrets on the Lake
Secrets on the Lake
#1 of 9 in Montville
511 reviews
2.8 mi away
Montville Misty View Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montville Oceanview Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montville Oceanview Cottages

Property: Montville Oceanview Cottages
Address: 549 Palmwoods-Montville Rd, Montville, Queensland 4560, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Montville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Montville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Montville Oceanview Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Montville Oceanview Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing