We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice spot but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Montville Mountain Inn Resort
Ranked #3 of 9 Montville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice spot but overpriced”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Went away for the weekend to Montville .Apon arrival we got served by a nice lady a reception but they could not find our booking,we booked it through the internet and they lady said that we might have booked somewhere else...Uh no i said i'm sure we did book here and sure enough she found our booking on the computer.We had a room upstairs witch was fine but walking up the stairs i thought they where going to calapse,not real sturdy.The room was dark but tidy enough.h whole place needs a make over sort of stuck in the late 80's.Opened the fridge to put some drinks in and boy it was like a frezzer.Had a nice hot shower when it finally warmed up and notice alot of mouled on the ceiling.Had lunch at the pub next door in witch was very nice meal but overpriced $19 for a chicken burger and chips.The bar staff where very odd people i thought that there must have been a funeral there as not one of them smiled or even said a friendly hi.Over all i nice spot to visted but over priced.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAZ011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle M, Manager at Montville Mountain Inn Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear DAZ011 - I’m pleased to learn that the problem you encountered upon arrival was managed well and resolved to your satisfaction. However, I do apologise here for any disappointment or inconvenience you were caused. We take on board your comments regarding room lighting and décor and look forward to wowing you the next time you stay with us. Look out for some great relaxing weekend getaway packages on our Facebook page and website.

The café next door will be thrilled to read your compliments regarding their food. They will of course be disappointed to learn that you were disappointed with some of the staff. We hear so many wonderful comments about their food and service, something they usually get so right.

Kind Regards
Lyle McCabe
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    113
    23
    9
    4
See reviews for
93
119
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
byron bay
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

The room was basic and for whatever reason the milk in the fridge was frozen to an unusable ice block but the staffwere lovely, the location perfect for us and we really enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gointosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle M, Manager at Montville Mountain Inn Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear gointosa - I am delighted you enjoyed our great location. Of course, I was sorry to learn about the problem you encountered with the fridge temperature. Please accept our apologies. We have since located and rectified the problem. I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to review our Hotel and we do hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Lyle McCabe
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Very reasonably priced accommodation......clean & comfortable.....and close to restaurants, shopping and the town centre. The owner/managers were very welcoming and helpful with our requests. The rooms are a good size for a family of 4 with early teens. The amenities provided in-room could have been better. Overall, a good place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AUSOMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundowran
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Great host with such a welcoming and positive attitude that you cannot help but be at least fully satisfied with this fairly basic accommodation. Managed to fit 2 adults and 3 children into standard room with mattress on the floor and no space wasted! Recommend food and drink at pub next door. Tennis court and swimming pool out at the back were a welcome surprise in what is otherwise a basic standard motel. Great location and easy on the wallet!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElFozzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

I stayed here as I was attending a wedding in Maleny. I would agree with previous post that my room was dark, even with all the lights on - a little frustrating when getting ready for my friend's wedding. Some noise travelled from neighbours in above rooms as they walked around and talked in the morning. Location is good, being on main street of Montville - if easy acess to wander to shops is what you are after. Accommodation is basic, but to be expected for the price, seeing as this was the cheapest place I could find for the night I required and this was one of the few places in Montville/Maleny area that accepted one night stays. Staff were helpful. However all in all, I doubt I would stay there again - I really disliked the overpowering smell of their air freshener/ room deodoriser. I'd like a place were I can open a window for fresh air.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pam_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2010

Middle of nowhere oasis for two travelers from New York looking for somewhere, anywhere on a rainy night. Can't remember the owner's name but he made us feel as welcome as could be. Close to all in the town and quite an amazing "backyard" with all sorts of plant and tree life.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bumzaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2009

Stayed at this 3.5 star motel in June 2009. It is located on the main street of montville and easy walking distance to the shops/galleries etc which is great for easy parking (which is very limited in Montville). I found the ground floor room I was in very dark even with all the lights on. It also had no foxtel etc and the shower was a very fine mist which stung on your body. You could also hear noise from the neighbours coming and going. Would try somewhere else next time but it was ok.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KALAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montville
1.4 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#2 of 2 in Montville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
1.6 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
1.6 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Montville Holiday Apartments
1.5 mi away
Secrets on the Lake
Secrets on the Lake
#1 of 9 in Montville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
1.0 mi away
Spicers Clovelly Estate
Spicers Clovelly Estate
#2 of 9 in Montville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montville Mountain Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montville Mountain Inn Resort

Property: Montville Mountain Inn Resort
Address: 118 Main St, Montville, Queensland 4560, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Montville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Montville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Montville Mountain Inn Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Montville Village. Walk to galleries, shops, restaurants... Tudor style architecturally designed, the Montville Mountain Inn Resort is a 26 suite motel-resort featuring the Montville Cafe Bar & Grill right next door. Our private salt water swimming pool and full size wind protected tennis court all set amoungst our lush tropical gardens, which are surrounded by ageless rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Montville Mountain Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing