We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Slice of Heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spicers Clovelly Estate
Ranked #1 of 9 Montville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2009

My husband and I needed some time out and this was the perfect retreat. We stayed in an Estate Spa Suite with the best in room spa I've ever experienced (and that says something coming from a spa connoisseur). The hotel was beautifully decorated in a French style and at the same time exuded a very relaxed, homey atmosphere - so you could really relax. The service was exceptional, but not intrusive. The food was sensational and there was plenty of it. We opted for the $85/3 course dinner, which included wine/drinks. The grounds/garden were beautiful, plenty of birdlife and space to wander around without seeing any other guests. My only complaint - we should have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enajttocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

517 - 522 of 522 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2009

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary at Clovelly and chose this site as it was only 4 weeks old. We had been frequent visitors at their sister property at Spicers Peak and were never disappointed. Once again the level of service, food and accomodation was amazing! Only 10 rooms so it is intimate. We had a couple massage which was amazing also. Not much to do but relax or a 20 min walk to Montville which has some gorgeous gift shops . So the shopper in me is kept happy.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FiveStarTraveller4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2009

Only 2 1/2 hours drive from the Gold Coast, 'Clovelly Estate' is easily accessible and nestled into some wonderful surrounds. This brand new retreat is situated only a short distance away from the quaint tourist village of Montville in the Sunshine Coast's hinterland.

Check-in was fantastic! Whilst we sat on the comfy couches sipping away on our Vodka, Lime & Soda's, Laurie from front office, talked us through the check-in & orientation and even took our luggage to our room whilst we just chilled reading a great selection of coffee table books.

Rooms were spacious and well appointed. Flat screen TV, Ipod Dock stereo, heated towel rail etc. We did have a terrace adjoining the room, but it is a public area so really couldn't enjoy it, as we felt we needed to have curtains closed for privacy. Would have been nice for the curtains to have a sheer. This is just a small issue and didn't detract from our overall satisfaction.

The grounds were amazing, and a short walk up one of the hills led us to the breath taking views of Lake Baroon, ask the staff to point you in the right direction as it is well worth taking a look especially on sunset.

Stayed in for dinner with the promise of something special. We opted for the 3 course meal for $85 each which includes a selection of wines. Well ... hmmm .... it really didn't live up to expectations. It was something you would find in an average cafe but dressed up to make it look like something a bit more special. For a boutique dinning experience, the food had a little 'too prepared in advance' feel about it and no special touch. With the surrounding area boasting some top dining experiences it might be better to eat out.

BREAKFAST!!! WOW!!! What a scrumptious feast that was. So simple yet so fresh and delicious. With a selection of fresh pastries, beautiful preserves, fruit salad, coffee and freshly made Juice, it made our day. Sitting on the terrace we soaked up the rays and just wished we never had to leave.

Our overall rating of 'Spicers Clovelly Estate' was Excellent with the exception of a few minor teething problems that really isn't worth mentioning, our stay was magic and have already recommended it to all of our friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thehillbillies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

An absolutely marvellous resort - only 2 weeks old when we stayed but already the professionalism of staff was evident. Rooms are very well detailed and the food was fantastic - prepared by Cameron Mathews (ex Siggis in Brisbane). The gardens and grounds are ideal for leisurely strolls or serious walking. Staff are friendly and attentive to your every needs under the direction of General Manager, David Assef. Highly recommended and an easy drive from either Brisbane or the Sunshine Coast.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gseca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

This gorgeous 10 room retreat offered just the romantic break we wanted. Our room was lovely with lots of fantastic little touches including an ipod dock, while the on-site restaurant and bar were so good we barely left the place! In fact if Montville hadn't been such a short stroll away we may never have been tempted. Sublime and highly recommended on all counts.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EssieBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamiem10, Manager at Spicers Clovelly Estate, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2012

Thank you for such wonderful feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MATOU71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montville
0.6 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#3 of 3 in Montville
182 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Falls Montville
The Falls Montville
#1 of 3 in Montville
475 reviews
2.4 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
459 reviews
2.3 mi away
Montville Misty View Cottages
4.7 mi away
Spicers Tamarind Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Clovelly Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Clovelly Estate

Address: 68 Balmoral Rd | Sunshine Coast, Montville, Queensland 4560, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Montville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Montville
Price Range: $244 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Spicers Clovelly Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clovelly Estate is one of the Sunshine Coast Hinterland's most luxurious and intimate experiences. Comprising of just 10 suites and a luxury 3 bedroom cottage to ensure the highest levels of individual service are maintained, Spicers Clovelly Estate offers 5 star luxury with old world charm and a modern French influence in a contemporary setting where guests can be swept away in the romanticism of a European escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Spicers Clovelly Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing