We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spicers Clovelly Estate
Ranked #1 of 9 Montville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2014

It was perfect we really enjoyed it and intend to come back soon, the rooms were amazing the food was superb especially breakfast the coffee was excellent and the service was great. Recommend the picnic basket idea it's quite good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron M, General Manager at Spicers Clovelly Estate, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Dear Sam,

Thank you for your positive comments and for taking the time to review your stay at Spicers Clovelly Estate. Your comments will be shared with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Spicers Clovelly Estate in the near future.

Kind regards

Cameron Matthews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 525 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

My room had a fantastic view with 2 window seats. Its beautiful and comfortable. The under floor heating in the bathroom was great as it was winter. The spa bath was enormous and very relaxing.
The spa treatment was amazing. The breakfast was so huge and delicious you need the full 2 hours in the morning to eat it all, and don't need lunch !
Great short walks to explore on the grounds around the hotel.
Nice walk into Montville, and easy drive to Maleny and to viewing points and bushwalks.
A perfect stay. Can't wait to come back.
It was the best

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron M, General Manager at Spicers Clovelly Estate, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Dear Natalie B,

Thank you for providing such a positive Trip Advisor review. We are grateful that you took the time to record your experience, and will pass your comments onto the team.

Kind regards

Cameron Matthews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Brilliant food & staff were excellent would recommend it to anyone interested in great inovative food. Location is great a stroll into Montville is only 10min. Malaney is also only a 15 min drive. Sunshine Coast is also within easy reach.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Colin & Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron M, General Manager at Spicers Clovelly Estate, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Dear Colin & Jan A,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide you excellent review. Your comments are much appreciated and have been passed on to the staff concerned.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Spicers Clovelly Estate in the near future.

Kind regards

Cameron Matthews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed at this estate on the weekend just past with the Active Getaway Package. The package involved accommodation, all breakfasts, a two hour horse ride, one hour massage each, a three course dinner and an afternoon tea picnic hamper.

The estate is gorgeous. We arrived to the smell of wood smoke on the air and a crisp winter's evening. Inside was warm and toasty and our room was large and comfortable. We stayed in Room 10 and I would definitely ask for this room again. It had a separated lounge area, a big work desk (great for the husband who had work to complete over our visit) and a huge bathroom with heated flooring and a spa. I especially loved the two window seats I had to choose from in the bedroom. The room had a lot of thoughtful design touches which we really appreciated.

We ended up eating in The Long Apron restaurant both nights and the food was fabulous. The service from staff was great and the restaurant is so elegant and in such an intimate setting.

Our breakfast on Saturday morning was again great food and service. Breakfast is taken outside in the sun and we could have stayed sitting there all morning! The service for the Sunday breakfast was rather poor though. We had some older wait staff who seemed to be a bit disorganised and lacking the efficiency and professionalism of the staff from the previous day. We also had a rather long wait for our food although it was still delicious.

The reason for only four stars out of five is the terrible experience we had on the horse ride at the Mooloolah Valley Riding Centre. It was quite a shocking for us. The horses were not cared for and roaming all around the property. We had to wait over an hour after our start time for our ride and when we finally got going our ride was very eventful and in the end we just didn't feel safe. The two hour experience took over four hours and impacted on the rest of our plans for the day. Do not ever go to this horse centre, it should be shut down, it was that bad.

We came back to a wonderful relaxing massage which helped in some measure to redeem the day. My husband even fell asleep towards the end it was that relaxing!

Apart from the horse experience which we do not feel reflects on Spicers but rather a company they trusted, we had a wonderful stay. Staff were discreet and so accommodating. The setting is peaceful and we loved sitting by the fireplace in the common lounge area. We would definitely return here in future.

Room Tip: Room 10 is upstairs and really large - it is a luxury spa suite. We'd definitely request this r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThePaynez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron M, General Manager at Spicers Clovelly Estate, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Dear "The Paynes",

Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Spicers Clovelly Estate. It is greatly appreciated. We were delighted to read such positive comments.

We wished you to know that your concerns regarding the horse riding activity have also been addressed, as has the breakfast service which you received on the Sunday.

We appreciate your even handed review and look forward to welcoming you back to Spicers Clovelly Estate in the future.

Kind regards

Cameron Matthews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

What a wonderful venue for a wedding. ONe could not fault a thing. The staff were over the top with their service from the moment we arrived till we left. Nothing was too much trouble. The grounds were impecable

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rochelle & Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron M, General Manager at Spicers Clovelly Estate, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Rochelle & Joe,

Thank you kindly for your trip advisor review. We really appreciate you taking the time to write about your recent experience at Spicers Clovelly Estate. I am thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your stay whilst attending a wedding here. I will pass on your valued feedback to the team. We look forward to providing the same high level of service on your next visit to Clovelly.

Warm regards

Cameron Matthews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Beautiful venue, delightful rooms and surrounds, perfect for a couples getaway. Watch out for room four, which is very noisy in the wee hours of the morning. It backs on to the laundry and coolroom and the service area's noisy hot water system is right next to the bed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Alex & Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron M, General Manager at Spicers Clovelly Estate, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Dear Alex & Ian,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Spicers Clovelly Estate. We certainly are extremely lucky to be located in such a beautiful location, the hinterland is a gorgeous part of the world. I note your comments regarding the noise you experienced during the evening from your room, I will follow this up immediately.

We hope to welcome you both back again soon.

Warm regards,

Cameron Matthews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

From the moment we arrived we felt we relaxed and indulgent. Starting with morning tea of French Scones and fresh cream a must have when you visit Spicers Clovelly Estate. As our daughter was getting married we had the entire estate to ourselves. The attention to detail at this venue from our room (with heated ensuite floor tiles) snug soft towels and crisp linen bedding and amazingly comfortable pillows (such hit and miss in most places). The library was a nice room to catch up with other guests or just to sit and soak up the atmosphere. Our wedding dinner was exceptional as was the wedding breakfast the following morning. The staff were attentive and professional. Although it is not a cheap accommodation option it is so relaxing it is a great place to stay for a special occasion or just to spoil yourselves. My husband and I will be looking for an excuse to head back to Montville and enjoy the "Spicers" experience again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron M, General Manager at Spicers Clovelly Estate, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Dear Andrea,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent “Spicers” experience. Spicers Clovelly Estate is the ideal place to celebrate everything that’s special in life, especially a wedding!! I will be sure to share your lovely comments with our team. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us, from the heated flooring in our luxury accommodation, to the exceptional food you experienced at dinner, and the friendly service. We hope to welcome you back for another unique getaway on the Sunshine Coast Hinterland in the near future, no excuses necessary!
Warm regards,

Cameron Matthews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montville
0.6 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#3 of 3 in Montville
182 reviews
2.4 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
2.4 mi away
The Falls Montville
The Falls Montville
#1 of 3 in Montville
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
463 reviews
2.3 mi away
Montville Misty View Cottages
2.7 mi away
Treetops Montville
Treetops Montville
#6 of 14 in Montville
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Clovelly Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Clovelly Estate

Address: 68 Balmoral Rd | Sunshine Coast, Montville, Queensland 4560, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Montville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Montville
Price Range: $254 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Spicers Clovelly Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clovelly Estate is one of the Sunshine Coast Hinterland's most luxurious and intimate experiences. Comprising of just 10 suites and a luxury 3 bedroom cottage to ensure the highest levels of individual service are maintained, Spicers Clovelly Estate offers 5 star luxury with old world charm and a modern French influence in a contemporary setting where guests can be swept away in the romanticism of a European escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Spicers Clovelly Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing