We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to celebrate a birthday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spicers Clovelly Estate
Ranked #2 of 9 Montville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A great place to celebrate a birthday”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Having stayed at Spicers in the Hunter Valley I was interested in trying another property in the group, so to celebrate my husbands birthday I surprised him with 3 nights at Clovelly Estate. The property is in a lovely position, just out of Montville,with a selection of walks and a lovely pool to laze around in the 28 degree days we enjoyed. Booked the pamper package which was great value and included breakfast each morning, massage and a 5 course dinner at Long Apron. Room no 1 upstairs was extremely comfortable and had a huge bathroom and a separate 2 person bath under the window. We were fortunate enough to have a candle lit bath drawn for us on 2 nights (one part of the package, the other a surprise birthday gift) with bottles of French champagne and Moscato. The bed was extremely comfortable and there is a great selection of pillows. We chose to upgrade to a 90 minute massage which was also very enjoyable. Service is very professional and this flowed through to the restaurant with both ladies very knowledgable about the food and wine. The food was very innovative and deserving of 2 hats. On one of the nights we dined at the sister property, Tamarind which is Asian inspired and also excellent. Highly recommend and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cdmknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    57
    15
    8
    1
See reviews for
45
396
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Noosaville, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We treated the family to a night at Clovelly to celebrate a birthday. We all enjoyed every moment of the time we were there from the cosy rooms to the Chef's table. We were made to feel special and we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wdbentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Gosh, where to,start? We are hard critics but there was nothing to fault at Spicers Clovelly. We took the Gourmet Getaway package for 2 nights which at $650 per night seemed pretty expensive and I was anxious that it it wouldn't live up to it. Gosh, it was really great value for money. The 5 course meal at the Long Apron restaurant was amazing - the food not only was a taste sensation, but it was quirky, fun, and amazing in construction. Herston Blumenthel eat your heart out. Wine list was fab drawing from the best Australian wine regions. We thought we couldn't fit breakfast in, but again it was really good.
Our room was small, but this was our choice as part of the package but every part was quality. Even down to the angora blanket on the bed (it was winter). There is not an aspect that is overlooked. Everything is quality. BUT, the best is the staff - Sam, the manager is professional fun,and his sense of humour is great. Tara, the restaurant supervisor was attentive, knowledgeable, fun, and great company. All staff were simply fabulous. A beautiful property with ample room for walks and picnics in Spring/Summer, and a short walk into bohemian Montville. This is a special place and well,worth the investment.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Christina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed there in May 2013 and the chef prepared us a fantastic vegetarian tasting menu and the Hostess chose wonderful matching wines for each course. An absolute delight and all the staff were wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaime B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

A truly special place, on Brisbane's doorstep. We stayed here for a long weekend break and afterwards felt like we'd been on a long holiday. A welcoming relaxed friendly vibe in a French provencal inspired decor. The restaurant serves magnificent food (2 hats), so fresh and pure. The staff go out of their way to make sure guests want for nothing. We were pampered in the spa, roamed the gardens that are full of fruit trees and went on rainforrest walks that are nearby. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hendrikaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Typical of what we have come to expect from Spicers.
Welcoming staff made you feel like you were at home immediately. We were shown to our room (which is a rather nice touch). We had dinner at the Long Apron (amazing but pleasant challenge to the senses).
Breakfast on the balcony was wonderful.
None of the meals left one feeling "stuffed" but were more than adequate in size.
We only had one night here as we were going on to Tamirand for 2 nights. If we were doing it again, we would do it the other way around. The place & staff made you feel so much at home.
Did not check for wifi etc as we were there to relax and if we had not been able to get mobile reception, we really would not have cared.
Thanks again to all the staff who made our stay so pleasant.

Room Tip: Have more than 1 night if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Spicers Clovelly Estate in Montville. Staff were attentive and professional, our room was gorgeous, and Spa Anise was to die for!! We also enjoyed dining at the Long Apron restaurant which has recently been awarded two Chefs Hats!! Loved every second and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKZander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montville
0.6 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#3 of 3 in Montville
175 reviews
2.4 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
2.7 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Falls Montville
The Falls Montville
#1 of 3 in Montville
461 reviews
4.7 mi away
Spicers Tamarind Retreat
1.9 mi away
Secrets on the Lake
Secrets on the Lake
#1 of 9 in Montville
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Clovelly Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Clovelly Estate

Property: Spicers Clovelly Estate
Address: 68 Balmoral Rd | Sunshine Coast, Montville, Queensland 4560, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Montville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Montville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Spicers Clovelly Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clovelly Estate is one of the Sunshine Coast Hinterland's most luxurious and intimate experiences. Comprising of just 10 suites and a luxury 3 bedroom cottage to ensure the highest levels of individual service are maintained, Spicers Clovelly Estate offers 5 star luxury with old world charm and a modern French influence in a contemporary setting where guests can be swept away in the romanticism of a European escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spicers Clovelly Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing