We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“40th Wedding Anniversary Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Treetops Montville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Treetops Montville
Brisbane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“40th Wedding Anniversary Surprise”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Our two lovely children surprised us with a two night package at Treetops Montville. We really enjoyed the experience. The cabin was tidy and clean, generous bathroom linen was provided (including four bath sheets, and two bathrobes), The spa/shower is set in an alcove with glass walls looking at the surrounding bush (although the sunken spa proved bit of a challenge for us ‘oldies’). The kitchen was a tad under catered with cooking facilities – we consider ourselves 'foodies' and enjoy preparing gourmet meals with limited facilities when on holidays. The kitchen lighting and cooking appliances could be better. That may not be a problem for other guests who take advantage of the lunch and dinner hampers that can be provided, or prefer to dine at one of the many restaurants in Montville and surrounding towns. Treetops Montville was a perfect getaway for a couple who live by the sea. We had a fire each night - great ambience (our former family home boasted an open fire, which we do miss now we've downsized!). The host, John, is an artist and the cabin was full of interesting artwork. We would also recommend a drive through the Mary River Valley - beautiful countryside, good roads, and lots of picnic/barbecue areas.

Room Tip: We stayed in 'The Escape' - perfect name !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    39
    11
    5
    8
See reviews for
9
80
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Queensland, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Hi everyone,

I am leaving my review as i don't want others to go into "treetops montville" with the expectations that i did, The $580 dollars i paid for 2 nights was a present for my partners birthday. For the money i paid, i would have expected things to be a little more updated, the cabin was old and weathered, i admit the views are 5 star but the cabin was very disappointing. every time i went to use the remote the batteries fell out because there was no back to it, the blind was broken, i couldn't have the fans on as every time i turned them on, the lights flickered on and off continuously. the "welcome book" was like a children's school scrap book, with paper slipped into plastic sleeves, nothing professional about this.

the water that came out the taps was green...it also took us about 1 hour to fill the spa bath and it still was not half full. I understand they are on Tank water...but in my 18 years, having tank water myself...it has never been green and i never had floating objects that came out into the bath.The glasses in the cupboard where not cleaned to a standard for what your paying for, and if cheap bed lining and old robes full of long hair is your thing that this is what your going to get.

If it wasn't a minimum of 2 nights that we wouldn't have stayed the second night and asked for money back.

There are so many things that were wrong with this cabin that when i checked out i felt like handing the service rep a list...

Please make sure you check the cabins out before you book, it was highly disappointing.

Room Tip: Look for yourself before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treetopsmontville, Manager at Treetops Montville, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
MatthewB
We were very disappointed to read your review.
We do not understand why you would not have contacted our office regarding your issues during your stay with us. We live on site and our office is attended virtually 24 hours a day every day of the year.
Please be advised that we have taken your comments on board and are working to rectify some of the issues you bought up.
We are removing the fans and connecting lights from the cabin.
The blind being broken and the remote batteries are a concern to us also that they were not reported by staff so they could be fixed.
Our spa baths are double spas and are quite large. They do take 15-20 minutes to fill which seems like a long time when your waiting but an hour as you stated is incomprehensible.
We run on bore water and if there is ever anything that comes through the taps it is a pinky/brown colour not green.
If the spa was indeed taking so long to fill and was green in colour why would you not have contacted reception immediately? We would have come over straight away to check water levels and pressure in our tanks and bore.
We outsource our linen and we pay extra for premium quality for our guests. We have already contacted our laundry service to address the issue of the standard of the linen.
You state that "if it wasn't a 2 night minimum then you would not have stayed the second night and you would have asked for your money back" If you were so upset with the cabin then you would have come to us straight away. Our guests are not forced to stay for a minimum amount of nights if they are not happy with their cabin.
We do not like our guests to be unhappy with their stay but we do not appreciate reviews like this being posted when our guests have not spoken directly to us about their issues. We always try to rectify any problems immediately that come to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

What a disappointment. I would never usually write a review but I felt sick about the money we spent for the cabin we were presented with. We were really looking forward to our getaway for our wedding anniversary and I couldn't have been more disappointed.
Our cabin was dated, dusty, old towels/robes, rotted wooden floors, no music connection and a very small balcony which had no protection from the rain. I'm not sure all of the cabins are like ours, but regardless, if you are paying extra for 'luxury' accommodation, that is what you should be given.
We've previously stayed at other hinterland places and paid less for much better quality. These cabins need an update. I felt completely ripped off the whole time we were there and it spoilt our time away.
I don't like to complain, but I also don't want anyone to feel the way we did.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missjoeyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treetopsmontville, Manager at Treetops Montville, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
missjoeyd
We believe that you have written this review about another accommodation property as we cannot find where you stayed with us and the comments you made do not describe our accommodation what so ever.
We do not advertise any specific cabins as "luxury"and the price for all of our cabins is universal. We do not charge extra for "luxury accommodation" as you said in this review.
All our cabins have multiple verandas with adequate all weather cover. There are large sliding doors in all our cabins to exit onto the multiple verandas. Our verandas are wide and spacious. Previous guests have moved their lounge suites onto the verandas to lay down and enjoy their surrounds.
Princes Fabricare Services provide all of our linen and we pay extra for premium quality for our guests.
We often get confused with other accommodation resorts up here and although we recognise that not all our guests will love it here as much as we do we do not accept this review as being an accurate description of our cabins.
Thankyou
Tahlia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

It's not smooth, but it's not meant to be. OK it's unusual to see interior panelling made of corrugated iron but the cabin was clean spacious well equipped and comfortable, and we really felt we were right in the middle of the rainforest. It's very convenient for the Kondalilla national park. The bacon & eggs supplied for breakfast were good quality & very generous. Only problem - we didn't dare eat outside, the birds would have had the food off our plates in an instant!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank choppingLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our stay at the wonderful Tree tops was one to remember. Thankyou soooo much for everything John and Gina. We are now back in the U.K and can't help telling everyone about our trip in Australia but most of all our stay with you. It was everything and more. We stayed in the rainforest, it was so relaxing, listening to the stream passing by the cabin in the evening. We did want to book a seaview cabin but they were all fully booked at the time, but we would definately recommend the rainforest........bliss ;-) We stayed for 3 nights and did'nt want to leave. We were really looked after with plenty of eggs, bacon, cerial brought to the cabin, also fresh towels and more kindle and fire lighters. Our whole experiance was one of romance and relaxation. Thanks again for a wonderful stay ;-) Teresa and Steve, Devon, UK

Room Tip: The cabins in the rainforest. Dreamtimes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Thank you John and Gina for the wonderful stay given to my family at Sundance - everything was perfect and they enjoyed sitting out on the incredible deck overlooking the Sunshine Coast. Would recommend anyone wanting to stay at Montville Accommodation - GO to Tree Tops of Montvill - (Please do not confuse this with Tree Houses or Tree Tops Seaviews) Thank you once again John and Gina for the wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buka53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband I have just arrived home from spending 2 night's in Starlight.The view is spetacular
But I,m afraid that is all it has going for it.
On arriving at the reception Gina showed the way,I was dissapointed with the greeting from John he just looked at us while Gina talked no greeting,no smile.
Gina then stated that ART is now there thing that there focusing on.Not a good start.
The cabin was clean and very nice but not at all oozing any ambuiance in romance.
We were told 2 go and get our own wood to start the fire I DIN"T come here to go find wood I'm not camping tho it would have been much cheaper and prob just as good.
$550 for 2 nights I expect everything there.Its not everyday u can afford to do this. ALOT of hard earnt money.
We have stayed in Maleny for the last 8 yrs and this was very poor and way to expensive
I even had to take my own candles and bubbles as they don't have them.
It may sound petty but when I go away with my husband to have a lovely weekend in a hideaway I expect perfection for the price I,m paying.
The place needs bracing, u tip toe thru the cabin the whole place shakes.
Privacy unfortunatly didn't happen,anyone can drive or walk past we had to keep the side blinds closed as we could be seen from the road,NOT HAPPY ABOUT THIS.
So lets recap
No wood,No kindling,No fire starters,Light bulbs blown ,Dressing gown rope missing,didn't like reading everywere that we will charge u 4 this and that,make sure u clean and leave on time.or we''ll charge not very romantic
Can be seen from the road.
So its all about money making.Not about the couple having a lovely getaway.
Sorry 4 been so negative guys but we must have been spoilt ,from other holidays,but I think there is alot that could be done 2 make it a wonderful stay.
The best thing without a doubt tho was who I was with.Love u darling xx

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treetopsmontville, Owner at Treetops Montville, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Debbie S,
Just read your comments. I am genuinely sorry you did not enjoy your weekend away with us at Treetops. One could not believe you occupied the same Starlight as Flore 84 reviewed in August 2012, the write ups are so contradictory. However, sadly to say you did. Our one and only Starlight.
When you arrived at reception, Debbie, I was actually rendered speechless by your entry and attitude – not very professional of me, I must admit, and for that I apologise.
Gina did mention the art gallery section of the reception was being renovated, trying to lighten the atmosphere of your arrival and actually get off to a good start. Apparently her attempt became your chance to ridicule.
Ambuiance is actually spelt ‘ambience’ and loosely means the perceived character and atmosphere of a place through the eyes of the beholder and of course can be enhanced or debased by the mood or integrity of the person or persons who occupy the area.
Romance cannot be manufactured for or by a building, it can only be created by the chemistry of two people as it is the pleasurable feeling from an emotional attraction from one person to another associated with love.
$550 for a 2 night weekend with wine and chocolates on arrival, in room bacon and eggs hamper breakfasts for each morning that you prepare at your leisure and a $25 voucher to a local restaurant in a rainforest seaview treehouse with great ambience ( bring your own positive emotional attraction ) is ‘ALOT of hard earnt money’ – but not overpriced .
I personally have never felt any movement in Starlight building, but will get my builder to recheck the steel bracing.
Regarding privacy, you can drive or walk passed the general vicinity of Starlight but would be hard pressed to become a voyeur – at the very most only one side blind would need to be drawn which would not be detrimental to breeze or view.
Starlight was actually designed with no windows or opening doors on the road entry side to assure the occupier privacy once inside.
‘NOT HAPPY ABOUT THIS’ is the same emotion you displayed, which left me speechless, on your arrival at reception.
To CAP it all off there are 2 signs in Starlight. 1 explains fire safety and fire extinguisher usage. The other, quite small above the splash back of the sink does explain to the guest that a surcharge will apply if the cabin is left in a condition that is less than satisfactory – maybe not quite politically correct and certainly not put there to try and collect revenue but to protect the condition of our cabins.
We have taken on board all your comments, Deb, and will strive harder to please all guests, as is our responsibility and want.
I admire your declaration of love for your hubby at the end of your letter – he is a lucky man.
John Hunt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montville
3.0 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#2 of 2 in Montville
171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
372 reviews
1.3 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Secrets on the Lake
Secrets on the Lake
#1 of 9 in Montville
498 reviews
3.0 mi away
At Remingtons Lodge & Private Cottages
1.0 mi away
Montville Misty View Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treetops Montville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treetops Montville

Property: Treetops Montville
Address: 4 Cynthia Hunt Dr | (off Kondalilla Falls Road),, Montville, Queensland 4560, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Montville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Montville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Treetops Montville 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treetops MontvilleCreated for lovers of life & nature.Snuggle together in front of a log fire, luxuriate in your spa bath, hold hands as you discover the wonders of the rainforest or the treasures of the shops & galleries in Montville.Romantic weekend getaways or weekday holidays with spa baths, fireplaces, breakfasts included in your room, and you together. What more could you ask?Take a break now-relax-you deserve it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Treetops Montville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing