We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Smooth, but a wonderful experience”
Review of Treetops Montville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Treetops Montville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2013

It's not smooth, but it's not meant to be. OK it's unusual to see interior panelling made of corrugated iron but the cabin was clean spacious well equipped and comfortable, and we really felt we were right in the middle of the rainforest. It's very convenient for the Kondalilla national park. The bacon & eggs supplied for breakfast were good quality & very generous. Only problem - we didn't dare eat outside, the birds would have had the food off our plates in an instant!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choppingLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 117 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our stay at the wonderful Tree tops was one to remember. Thankyou soooo much for everything John and Gina. We are now back in the U.K and can't help telling everyone about our trip in Australia but most of all our stay with you. It was everything and more. We stayed in the rainforest, it was so relaxing, listening to the stream passing by the cabin in the evening. We did want to book a seaview cabin but they were all fully booked at the time, but we would definately recommend the rainforest........bliss ;-) We stayed for 3 nights and did'nt want to leave. We were really looked after with plenty of eggs, bacon, cerial brought to the cabin, also fresh towels and more kindle and fire lighters. Our whole experiance was one of romance and relaxation. Thanks again for a wonderful stay ;-) Teresa and Steve, Devon, UK

Room Tip: The cabins in the rainforest. Dreamtimes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Thank you John and Gina for the wonderful stay given to my family at Sundance - everything was perfect and they enjoyed sitting out on the incredible deck overlooking the Sunshine Coast. Would recommend anyone wanting to stay at Montville Accommodation - GO to Tree Tops of Montvill - (Please do not confuse this with Tree Houses or Tree Tops Seaviews) Thank you once again John and Gina for the wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buka53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband I have just arrived home from spending 2 night's in Starlight.The view is spetacular
But I,m afraid that is all it has going for it.
On arriving at the reception Gina showed the way,I was dissapointed with the greeting from John he just looked at us while Gina talked no greeting,no smile.
Gina then stated that ART is now there thing that there focusing on.Not a good start.
The cabin was clean and very nice but not at all oozing any ambuiance in romance.
We were told 2 go and get our own wood to start the fire I DIN"T come here to go find wood I'm not camping tho it would have been much cheaper and prob just as good.
$550 for 2 nights I expect everything there.Its not everyday u can afford to do this. ALOT of hard earnt money.
We have stayed in Maleny for the last 8 yrs and this was very poor and way to expensive
I even had to take my own candles and bubbles as they don't have them.
It may sound petty but when I go away with my husband to have a lovely weekend in a hideaway I expect perfection for the price I,m paying.
The place needs bracing, u tip toe thru the cabin the whole place shakes.
Privacy unfortunatly didn't happen,anyone can drive or walk past we had to keep the side blinds closed as we could be seen from the road,NOT HAPPY ABOUT THIS.
So lets recap
No wood,No kindling,No fire starters,Light bulbs blown ,Dressing gown rope missing,didn't like reading everywere that we will charge u 4 this and that,make sure u clean and leave on time.or we''ll charge not very romantic
Can be seen from the road.
So its all about money making.Not about the couple having a lovely getaway.
Sorry 4 been so negative guys but we must have been spoilt ,from other holidays,but I think there is alot that could be done 2 make it a wonderful stay.
The best thing without a doubt tho was who I was with.Love u darling xx

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treetopsmontville, Owner at Treetops Montville, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Debbie S,
Just read your comments. I am genuinely sorry you did not enjoy your weekend away with us at Treetops. One could not believe you occupied the same Starlight as Flore 84 reviewed in August 2012, the write ups are so contradictory. However, sadly to say you did. Our one and only Starlight.
When you arrived at reception, Debbie, I was actually rendered speechless by your entry and attitude – not very professional of me, I must admit, and for that I apologise.
Gina did mention the art gallery section of the reception was being renovated, trying to lighten the atmosphere of your arrival and actually get off to a good start. Apparently her attempt became your chance to ridicule.
Ambuiance is actually spelt ‘ambience’ and loosely means the perceived character and atmosphere of a place through the eyes of the beholder and of course can be enhanced or debased by the mood or integrity of the person or persons who occupy the area.
Romance cannot be manufactured for or by a building, it can only be created by the chemistry of two people as it is the pleasurable feeling from an emotional attraction from one person to another associated with love.
$550 for a 2 night weekend with wine and chocolates on arrival, in room bacon and eggs hamper breakfasts for each morning that you prepare at your leisure and a $25 voucher to a local restaurant in a rainforest seaview treehouse with great ambience ( bring your own positive emotional attraction ) is ‘ALOT of hard earnt money’ – but not overpriced .
I personally have never felt any movement in Starlight building, but will get my builder to recheck the steel bracing.
Regarding privacy, you can drive or walk passed the general vicinity of Starlight but would be hard pressed to become a voyeur – at the very most only one side blind would need to be drawn which would not be detrimental to breeze or view.
Starlight was actually designed with no windows or opening doors on the road entry side to assure the occupier privacy once inside.
‘NOT HAPPY ABOUT THIS’ is the same emotion you displayed, which left me speechless, on your arrival at reception.
To CAP it all off there are 2 signs in Starlight. 1 explains fire safety and fire extinguisher usage. The other, quite small above the splash back of the sink does explain to the guest that a surcharge will apply if the cabin is left in a condition that is less than satisfactory – maybe not quite politically correct and certainly not put there to try and collect revenue but to protect the condition of our cabins.
We have taken on board all your comments, Deb, and will strive harder to please all guests, as is our responsibility and want.
I admire your declaration of love for your hubby at the end of your letter – he is a lucky man.
John Hunt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We spent two nights here and found it very relaxing. The setup is great and the cabins are private and cosy. The bathroom was fine and the spa great. I personally woundn't some back but for no reason other than personal preference. The cobins are well furnished have everything you need for a quick meal or snack and coemw ith fire wood ready to light the fire. The local bush turkeys are friendly - but please do not feed them it encourages them to hang around. A great place for families as there would be so much for the kids to do in a safe surrounding.

Room Tip: Go for a luxury cabin if it is a romantic weekend away - the standard ones are not so romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drew Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treetopsmontville, Owner at Treetops Montville, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thankyou Drew. We are glad you had a relaxing time stay with us at Treetops Montville and that the cabin provided for all your needs.
Thanks again Drew
Kind Regards
Treetops Montville Staff
Freecall: 1800 087 330
Email: info@treetopsmontville.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My hubby an I stayed 3 nights in "The Escape".It was nestled in amongst the trees and very private. Just what we needed! The wildlife was immense and we were visited by many of the native wildlife, which we love. The cabin was very clean,and very cosy and the spa looked out into the trees. We did not want to come home and can't wait to go back.
Thank you Gina and John.Heaven on earth!!! We will be back. Highly recomend to all. We came back so relaxed and look forward to our next visit

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicki u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treetopsmontville, Owner at Treetops Montville, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thankyou so much for your kind words.
The Escape certainly has a magical quality about it.
We are very glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back again soon!
Thanks again
Kind Regards
John and Gina
Treetops Montville
Freecall: 1800 087 330
Email: info@treetopsmontville.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend for a night away from the beach while travelling around the sunshine coast, it was one of the more expensive places we paid for and probably the worst we stayed at. The Cabin wreaked of Bacon and we did not receive chocolates or bubbles as the booking stated. The deck had nails sticking out of it and the cabin was not very clean. Yes the view is great and maybe in winter when you get to utilize the fire and hot tub it would be a better atmosphere but for the money we paid and the receptionist not wanting to assist with our concerns it was a very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JL1080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treetopsmontville, Owner at Treetops Montville, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

An open letter from John Hunt.

Some reviews posted on this site are too ambiguous and out of character with our accommodation and staff attitude for Treetops to be sure that they actually refer to us, the registered owners of Treetops.

The name Treetops Montville is a registered Trademark of the John Hunt Family Trust and is used by other establishments in the Montville area because of the Hunt Family and the Treetops name having such a great reputation - hence the chance of confusion.

John Hunt designed and supervised the building of and managed and ran four other retreats besides Treetops Montville that have now been sold by The Hunt Family.

Owing to the fragmentation of Treetops by selling off the above properties over the years and the confusing advertising by others it is very hard to comment on a review that may or may not be justified for Treetops. The above review fits into this category.

Treetops Montville and Treetops Art Gallery Montville are still owned and run by Gina Toich and John Hunt at 4 Cynthia Hunt Dr. Montville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montville
0 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
471 reviews
3 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#3 of 3 in Montville
184 reviews
1.3 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Falls Montville
The Falls Montville
#1 of 3 in Montville
488 reviews
1 mi away
Montville Misty View Cottages
1.5 mi away
Treetops Seaview
Treetops Seaview
#8 of 14 in Montville
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treetops Montville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treetops Montville

Address: 4 Cynthia Hunt Dr | ,, Montville, Queensland 4560, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Montville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Montville
Price Range: $165 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Treetops Montville 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treetops MontvilleCreated for lovers of life & nature.Snuggle together in front of a log fire, luxuriate in your spa bath, hold hands as you discover the wonders of the rainforest or the treasures of the shops & galleries in Montville.Romantic weekend getaways or weekday holidays with spa baths, fireplaces, breakfasts included in your room, and you together. What more could you ask?Take a break now-relax-you deserve it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Treetops Montville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing