We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not visit for the swimming pool!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clouds of Montville
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Montville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Visited with our adult-daughter recently and shared a motel room for two nights. Comfortable, well-equipped and plenty of space for three and everything very clean. Very generous with tea/coffee making items, including milk. Nice bathroom too. Hosts and all staff very pleasant and helpful. Large choice of free DVDs available to borrow and lots of leaflets, including directions for a good selection of walks in the surrounding area. No private space to sit outside; just shared benches outside the front entrance. Small swimming pool but not terribly impressed with this as there were very few chairs and only one sunbed and umbrella, but then it was very shaded. Also the pool area was cluttered and not that clean. We were the only people there but only stayed for a short while. As we were leaving the pool area, a family of four were arriving and there would have been a severe shortage of seats! Plenty of shops and cafes/restaurants at Montville only a short drive away, and a very pleasant place to wander around. Maleny is also within easy reach. A very nice area to visit with beautiful views towards the Sunshine Coast. Our particular room was on the groundfloor so views were just across the carpark but I would assume views from the upper floor were better and possibly quieter. There were some noisy vehicles using the carpark, including a delivery vehicle early one morning. Would recommend a visit if you are not bothered about a swimming pool.

Room Tip: For motel rooms, possibly upper floor is better.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderluster101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cloudsofmontville, Owner at Clouds of Montville, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

So glad that you enjoyed your stay and this very special place, the Sunshine Coast Hinterland! Your comments were much appreciated as we all do work hard to try to ensure our Guest enjoy their time with us. The staff really appreciated your compliments.
Sorry about the pool. Had you stayed with us a few days earlier the pool was almost biblical and you could have have walked across it!
Ex-cyclone Oswald had just passed our way the prior weekend and I suspect that almost everything blown off the trees and shrubs in the entire region landed in the pool! It certainly seemed that way!
The whole facility looked as if a bomb had hit it and we spent days prior to your visit trying to get things cleared up and in order ( as I write this I still have a massive Gum tree down the paddock that has fallen over that I still need to attack!)
We got the worst out of the pool but you were quite correct it was not up to our normal high standard and there was still work to be done. In retrospect I probably should have closed the pool to Guests and avoided any negative comment.
There are six chairs in the pool area but only 10 meters away in the BBQ area another eight which can so easily top up any shortfall that concerned you.
As you observed we do deliberatly allow the trees around the area to grow up through spring and summer to provide natural shade. In late autumn we have a massive prune to allow the winter sun to flood the pool deck!
I cannot disagree with your comments other than to say the condition of the pool was a real exception for which we apologise. Today you would find it simply brilliant.
Your headline "do not visit for the swiming pool" was I thought a little over the top in that it implies that the pool is always sub standard which simply is not true! It is a bit like saying" dont go to England for a holiday as it always rains!" which is equally inaccurate.
In relation to your comments about a noisy vehicle we have one milk truck that comes in early on a friday morning which I suspect was the culprit. It has by law a reversing alarm (presumably to warn the dozens of people who stand behind milk trucks at 7am in the morning !)...an absolute nonsense I agree but not a great deal we can do about it. We are a small business and their run schedule is inflexible.
Again we thank you for your comments which we truly value. We hope that if you pas this way again you will stay with us...we sincerley appreciate your patronage. Do, however, bring the dark glasses as the sparkle from the pool today is almost blinding!
With our best regards, Angus and Margaret (owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for Clouds of Montville
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 178 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stay at Clouds on a regular basis while holidaying on the sunshine Coast and my personal experience has always been nothing but the best.
I have stayed in the cottages and also in the Motel Units, the cottages are beautiful and I stay there when I feel flash.
The units are cheaper and one of the best value for a motel.
The service is second to none, Margaret and Angus always make you feel welcome and any request is always been met with a smile.
Well done guys.

Room Tip: Higher floors are preferable as you get fantastic views.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanne495024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cloudsofmontville, Owner at Clouds of Montville, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Dear Jeanne,
Many thanks for your wonderful comments. It is always a pleasure to have you stay with us and we sincerely look forward to your next vist.
Go well,
Margaret and Angus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The view is stunning, and clouds were literally rolling into the room - it was amazing. The service when we arrived was fantastic, and we didn't have to pay to hire dvds. The room was clean and neat. Unfortunately the room is very old fashioned with cheap furniture. The issue came when we were told we were the only guests in the hotel. Then another family arrived (they were lovely), but they were placed in the motel room right next door to us - despite all of the other rooms being available. This is a small oversight which caused unecessary disturbances due to the noise from a shared floorboard and the voices penetrating the walls. Also the units are non-smoking, which is great, until the other guests started smoking outside our window while we were still in bed - due to a shared balcony - don't expect privacy on your patio here. We just didn't see why it was necessary, to put the only two bookings next to each other, considering the lack of noise control in these units. We were there for a romantic getaway - but if you don't appreciate hearing other guests, I wouldn't recommend staying here. The unit is nice, and we did enjoy our holiday, other than these complaints - but it's definately not a fancy place to stay, if that's what you're expecting. I'd say it's worth $200 a night max, because of the views, its position, close to the main shops, etc.

Room Tip: Definitely stay on the top floor for the views.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ree P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cloudsofmontville, Owner at Clouds of Montville, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Many thanks for your kind remarks and yes the views from the first floor of our motel section are simply stunning!
You booked your single night stay with us through Wotif in our motel section for the Australia Day long weekend and as it happened right in the middle of all the dramas caused by cyclone Oswald! Certainly when you checked in you were on your own as we had a heap of cancellations due to the dangerous conditions on the Sunshine Coast and up into the Hinterland.
Late that afternoon a number of people who were refugees from the weather checked in. With no power and no mains water for three days a number of families were seeking shelter. We have a substantial generator and were able to provide light, warmth and water. We turned no one away.
The only Family room we had left ( we have 2) was next door to your room. The walls are double brick, the floors are concrete and the verandahs are wood. It is however a motel and we dont pretend it to be otherwise. There will always be people in close proximity-it is the nature of the beast!
As you say with the clouds literally rolling into your room you will also have sound from outside through open windows and you are correct that the family was not the quietest!
We do appologise for any disturbance but if asked if we would do it again under the same circumstances and risk a poor review the answer is 'Yes". We simply could not turn these people away in such appaling conditions.
To be honest if I was taking someone special away for a romantic overnight stay I would not go to a motel...even my own!
It was a shame you booked a motel suite direct and did not talk to us. We have our private and romantic cottages hidden down in the rainforest at the back of our 5 acres. These have spas, king beds, wood fires, air con, full breakfast service and all the little luxuries. We do single night stays which many of the other accommodation providers will not entertain. I know this would have worked better for you.
Your comment on price is just about spot on. A single night stay the motel section in the middle of a long weekend is not the most cost effective way to buy a room. If you check our web site and our two night rate you will see it is below your suggested $200.
We would love to have you return but be perpared to pay a little more. Talk to us and book one of our beautiful cottages and soak up the luxury, peace and seclusion. We will even shout you a free cooked breakfast for two served to your door and complimentary restaurant transport if so required! We challenge you to come back and write again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Clouds of Montville is a great getaway that is a little different from the usual coastal places.
Accomodation is roomy and comfortable and the homemade cooked breakfast that comes as part of the deal is excellent.Plenty of places to visit in nearby Mapleton and Maleny and Montville shops and restaurants are only 5 minutes away. A particularly good relaxing stay for couples and great deals for seniors. Hosts made us very welcome and looked after us well.

Room Tip: We found that ground floor unit more protected from the road noise.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimanishep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Our 'garden room' was a very spacious,comfortable and quiet self contained unit in the main building. We had a lovely welcome from Angus and Margaret and were made to feel at home. Clouds is in a beautiful location with sensation views of the Sunshine Coast.it was a most relaxing experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank owlfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

My partner and I stayed in a cabin at Clouds of Montville for a relaxing weekend in the Sunshine Coast Hinterlands. I have stayed in many, many hotels over the years both for business and pleasure, and I can honestly say that the service provided by Angus and his wife at Clouds of Montville is the best I have ever recieved.
From the second we arrived Angus went out of his way to ensure that we were looked after in every way possible: he had literature and advice on everything and everywhere you could possibly be interested in within the area and the reception also includes a large library of DVDs from which we were free to choose as we pleased.
He then took us to our accommodation and gave us a walkthrough of all the facilities including spa bath, entertainment systems etc etc. This was not at all intrusive but pitched perfectly at making you familiar with your accomodation without having to look things up in a guide or wonder how something worked or where a remote control was.
He also brought us a basket full of wonderful, fresh provisions for breakfast - sourced from local Maleny dairies, farms and bakeries, and home made cookies etc. He included a complimentary bottle of wine (after asking what kind of wine we liked), which was superb. This was in addition to the complimentary decanter of port and chocolates!!!
The attention to detail that Angus and his wife go to to make your stay both comfortable and something special is incredible. Examples include:
- the log burning fire in the cabin not only had paper, kindling and wood all presented in a basket next to the fire but had pine cones stacked inside to create an attractive display; whilst we were there in summer so didn't need to light the fire, the smell of the pine in the fire would have been amazing
- the latest menus from all of the local restaurants are collected by Angus and placed in a folder in each room, so that you can peruse them before making your choice of where to go for the evening
- a complementary transport facility to your restaurant of choice (and back) is also provided!

It is very clear that Angus' incredible attention to detail and level of service comes from a genuine passion for what he does and his friendly, jovial nature - it was this in particular that made our stay that little bit special. This far surpasses any level of service one has the right to expect for such a level of accommodation, and its human, friendly nature means it far exceeds any corporate 5* level of service, which may be efficient, but is invariably served by faceless droids just doing their job.
I would not hesitate to highly recommend that you treat yourself and take a break at Clouds of Montville - you won't regret it.

Room Tip: The cabin with private spa is highly recommended - particularly for a romantic break
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David-Barker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

amazing hospitality,some noise on the balcony if you are at thecottage neer the street

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dhare1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montville
3.0 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
443 reviews
2.4 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
2.7 mi away
The Falls Montville
The Falls Montville
#1 of 3 in Montville
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Maleny Tropical Retreat
1.7 mi away
Secrets on the Lake
Secrets on the Lake
#1 of 9 in Montville
553 reviews
1.4 mi away
Montville Mountain Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clouds of Montville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clouds of Montville

Address: 166 Balmoral Rd, Montville, Queensland 4560, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Montville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Montville
Price Range: $126 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clouds of Montville 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Eco Resort and Day Spa set on 5 acres with a mix of sub-tropical and Botanic styled gardens. A range of accommodation to suit various requirements and budgets. We have ground floor studio apartments that have a Queen bed, kitchenette, bathroom with walk-in shower and single sofa bed. Can accommodate up to 3 guests. Children can be accommodated on ground floor. Our 1st floor 1 bedroom apartments have a King bed in the bedroom, separate bathroom with walk-in shower, kitchenette, lounge - dining room and balcony with views to east coast. With a double sofa bed can accommodate up to 4 guests. Children are unable to be accommodated on 1st floor. Our rainforest Cottages are our premium accommodation for couples. King bed, large spa, full kitchen, balcony with BBQ looking out into rain forest abundant with bird life. Our On-site Day Spa - The Montville Day Spa has a full hair and beauty room, several treatment rooms, far infra-red sauna and very special Floatation Pool. Advanced bookings are recommended. Outdoor facilities include a mineral pool, barefoot bowling green and the only 9 hole disc golf course on the Sunshine Coast. We also have an outdoor kitchen with BBQ, Pizza oven and Cafe Bar, you can take the food you prepare to our delightful Balinese style Pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Clouds of Montville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing