We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice service, but it's really a motel room in a nice position.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clouds of Montville
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Montville
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice service, but it's really a motel room in a nice position.”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The view is stunning, and clouds were literally rolling into the room - it was amazing. The service when we arrived was fantastic, and we didn't have to pay to hire dvds. The room was clean and neat. Unfortunately the room is very old fashioned with cheap furniture. The issue came when we were told we were the only guests in the hotel. Then another family arrived (they were lovely), but they were placed in the motel room right next door to us - despite all of the other rooms being available. This is a small oversight which caused unecessary disturbances due to the noise from a shared floorboard and the voices penetrating the walls. Also the units are non-smoking, which is great, until the other guests started smoking outside our window while we were still in bed - due to a shared balcony - don't expect privacy on your patio here. We just didn't see why it was necessary, to put the only two bookings next to each other, considering the lack of noise control in these units. We were there for a romantic getaway - but if you don't appreciate hearing other guests, I wouldn't recommend staying here. The unit is nice, and we did enjoy our holiday, other than these complaints - but it's definately not a fancy place to stay, if that's what you're expecting. I'd say it's worth $200 a night max, because of the views, its position, close to the main shops, etc.

Room Tip: Definitely stay on the top floor for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ree P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cloudsofmontville, Owner at Clouds of Montville, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Many thanks for your kind remarks and yes the views from the first floor of our motel section are simply stunning!
You booked your single night stay with us through Wotif in our motel section for the Australia Day long weekend and as it happened right in the middle of all the dramas caused by cyclone Oswald! Certainly when you checked in you were on your own as we had a heap of cancellations due to the dangerous conditions on the Sunshine Coast and up into the Hinterland.
Late that afternoon a number of people who were refugees from the weather checked in. With no power and no mains water for three days a number of families were seeking shelter. We have a substantial generator and were able to provide light, warmth and water. We turned no one away.
The only Family room we had left ( we have 2) was next door to your room. The walls are double brick, the floors are concrete and the verandahs are wood. It is however a motel and we dont pretend it to be otherwise. There will always be people in close proximity-it is the nature of the beast!
As you say with the clouds literally rolling into your room you will also have sound from outside through open windows and you are correct that the family was not the quietest!
We do appologise for any disturbance but if asked if we would do it again under the same circumstances and risk a poor review the answer is 'Yes". We simply could not turn these people away in such appaling conditions.
To be honest if I was taking someone special away for a romantic overnight stay I would not go to a motel...even my own!
It was a shame you booked a motel suite direct and did not talk to us. We have our private and romantic cottages hidden down in the rainforest at the back of our 5 acres. These have spas, king beds, wood fires, air con, full breakfast service and all the little luxuries. We do single night stays which many of the other accommodation providers will not entertain. I know this would have worked better for you.
Your comment on price is just about spot on. A single night stay the motel section in the middle of a long weekend is not the most cost effective way to buy a room. If you check our web site and our two night rate you will see it is below your suggested $200.
We would love to have you return but be perpared to pay a little more. Talk to us and book one of our beautiful cottages and soak up the luxury, peace and seclusion. We will even shout you a free cooked breakfast for two served to your door and complimentary restaurant transport if so required! We challenge you to come back and write again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    69
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
21
109
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Clouds of Montville is a great getaway that is a little different from the usual coastal places.
Accomodation is roomy and comfortable and the homemade cooked breakfast that comes as part of the deal is excellent.Plenty of places to visit in nearby Mapleton and Maleny and Montville shops and restaurants are only 5 minutes away. A particularly good relaxing stay for couples and great deals for seniors. Hosts made us very welcome and looked after us well.

Room Tip: We found that ground floor unit more protected from the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimanishep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Our 'garden room' was a very spacious,comfortable and quiet self contained unit in the main building. We had a lovely welcome from Angus and Margaret and were made to feel at home. Clouds is in a beautiful location with sensation views of the Sunshine Coast.it was a most relaxing experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank owlfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

My partner and I stayed in a cabin at Clouds of Montville for a relaxing weekend in the Sunshine Coast Hinterlands. I have stayed in many, many hotels over the years both for business and pleasure, and I can honestly say that the service provided by Angus and his wife at Clouds of Montville is the best I have ever recieved.
From the second we arrived Angus went out of his way to ensure that we were looked after in every way possible: he had literature and advice on everything and everywhere you could possibly be interested in within the area and the reception also includes a large library of DVDs from which we were free to choose as we pleased.
He then took us to our accommodation and gave us a walkthrough of all the facilities including spa bath, entertainment systems etc etc. This was not at all intrusive but pitched perfectly at making you familiar with your accomodation without having to look things up in a guide or wonder how something worked or where a remote control was.
He also brought us a basket full of wonderful, fresh provisions for breakfast - sourced from local Maleny dairies, farms and bakeries, and home made cookies etc. He included a complimentary bottle of wine (after asking what kind of wine we liked), which was superb. This was in addition to the complimentary decanter of port and chocolates!!!
The attention to detail that Angus and his wife go to to make your stay both comfortable and something special is incredible. Examples include:
- the log burning fire in the cabin not only had paper, kindling and wood all presented in a basket next to the fire but had pine cones stacked inside to create an attractive display; whilst we were there in summer so didn't need to light the fire, the smell of the pine in the fire would have been amazing
- the latest menus from all of the local restaurants are collected by Angus and placed in a folder in each room, so that you can peruse them before making your choice of where to go for the evening
- a complementary transport facility to your restaurant of choice (and back) is also provided!

It is very clear that Angus' incredible attention to detail and level of service comes from a genuine passion for what he does and his friendly, jovial nature - it was this in particular that made our stay that little bit special. This far surpasses any level of service one has the right to expect for such a level of accommodation, and its human, friendly nature means it far exceeds any corporate 5* level of service, which may be efficient, but is invariably served by faceless droids just doing their job.
I would not hesitate to highly recommend that you treat yourself and take a break at Clouds of Montville - you won't regret it.

Room Tip: The cabin with private spa is highly recommended - particularly for a romantic break
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David-Barker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

amazing hospitality,some noise on the balcony if you are at thecottage neer the street

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhare1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Absolutely fabulous thoroughy enjoyed our romantic retreat. Cottage was spacious warm and spotless, all you could need was provided. Our host Angus could not do enough for us chauffauring us to and from restauraunts and guided tour. Provided luxurious breakfast hamper homemade goodies and champange on arrival. Views of Montville are stunning and a bustling town with lots quaint shops will keep you amused for hours. I cannot fault the accomodation or our hosts. Well done you certainly have it right. We are still there and will not forget you. We Highly recommend.

Room Tip: $ clttages available any of which are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gypseelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

My husband and I visited Couds for a 2 night escape.
We were not expecting such an amazing experience for the reasonable price we paid, especially since we only recently returned from our European holiday and had so many great hotels to compare the experience to.
We arrived quite late and headed to reception. We were greeted by Angus and his wife. We were able to grab some brochures on the area from reception and Angus asked us if we wanted to take a few DVD's from their wide selection. We headed to our room which was so well set up and so comfortable. Angus had already turned the heater on, stacked the fireplace with wood and paper ready to light, the lights were dimmed and the place was spottless. We were soon joined by Angus who brought with him a massive breakfast wlecome basket full of local breads, yoghurts, speads, milk, eggs and home made cookies! Amazing! ALso waiting for us was half a caraf of port and chocolates. Angus advised us that if we were hungry he woud drive us into town and when we wanted to be picked up we could advise the waitress and she would call him to pick us up! He had a booklet with all the menus of restaurants in the surrounding area. Angus also advised us that there were a lot of nature walks and he could drive us to the destinations we liked if we wanted. Such great service and offering. The room was large, a massive king size bed, a big 2 person spa near the bed that overlooked the greenery outside, a big deck to eat breakfast on, a ready to use kitchen, robes to wear, and heaps of second hand books to read infront of the fire (Angus even told us that if we found a book we liked and couldn't put it down, we could take it home with us). We had planned to head out one of thhe two nights at Clouds but the place was to warm and welcoming, we just couldn't leave. There is so much to see and do in the area that you could heas to a rainforest, waterfalls, dairy's and cheese tastings, antique shopping or for a coffe in town but the nights curled up on the couch infront of the fire were priceless. We highly recommend Clouds of Montville as a destination...we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kmhank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montville
3.0 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
394 reviews
2.4 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
2.7 mi away
The Falls Montville
The Falls Montville
#1 of 3 in Montville
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Maleny Tropical Retreat
1.7 mi away
Secrets on the Lake
Secrets on the Lake
#1 of 9 in Montville
511 reviews
1.4 mi away
Montville Mountain Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clouds of Montville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clouds of Montville

Property: Clouds of Montville
Address: 166 Balmoral Rd, Montville, Queensland 4560, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Montville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Montville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clouds of Montville 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Eco Resort and Day Spa set on 5 acres with a mix of sub-tropical and Botanic styled gardens. A range of accommodation to suit various requirements and budgets. We have ground floor studio apartments that have a Queen bed, kitchenette, bathroom with walk-in shower and single sofa bed. Can accommodate up to 3 guests. Children can be accommodated on ground floor. Our 1st floor 1 bedroom apartments have a King bed in the bedroom, separate bathroom with walk-in shower, kitchenette, lounge - dining room and balcony with views to east coast. With a double sofa bed can accommodate up to 4 guests. Children are unable to be accommodated on 1st floor. Our rainforest Cottages are our premium accommodation for couples. King bed, large spa, full kitchen, balcony with BBQ looking out into rain forest abundant with bird life. Our On-site Day Spa - The Montville Day Spa has a full hair and beauty room, several treatment rooms, far infra-red sauna and very special Floatation Pool. Advanced bookings are recommended. Outdoor facilities include a mineral pool, barefoot bowling green and the only 9 hole disc golf course on the Sunshine Coast. We also have an outdoor kitchen with BBQ, Pizza oven and Cafe Bar, you can take the food you prepare to our delightful Balinese style Pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Clouds of Montville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing