We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing place for a getaway!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Montville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brisbane
1 review
“An amazing place for a getaway!!”
Reviewed July 26, 2009

I took my partner away for his birthday and to get away for the city rush....the Narrow Escape was the PERFECT choice!!!
Our cabin was unbelieveably beautiful! It was clean and very well looked after. The stream was running below and and we heard nothing but a few birds. We went and got our breakfast basket for the weekend (lots of fresh fruit, bread, jams, yogurt, eggs and sausages) and picked out a couple of movies from Jo and Mark's collection.
The first night we had one of Jo's home cooked meals. The food was amazing and seemed endless with garlic bread, a huge main dish and 2 desserts! The second night we went down to the local pub for dinner, Mark arranged our table and the transfer to and from the pub.
Each morning there were fresh croissants delivered to the door which was simply the icing on the cake for our weekend away.
Definately plan to go back!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d_and_rick09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
375
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2009

My wife and i recently visited the Sunshine Coast and decided to spend a couple of days in the Hinterland. There was a wide choice of accommodation available but we wanted something a little different than the usual B & B's in the area. We chose The Narrow's Escape over others simply for the website appeal and the extra's that were offered by the property. We also appreciated the courteous reply and feedback to our questions from the owners so when we arrived we felt that we knew the property well.

Our cottage was indeed "among the rainforest"...the weather certainly enhanced our experience; we were comfortable, cosy and warm during our stay. The added touches were also appreciated, even down to the warm muffims in the morning. We found the two family pet dogs unintrusive but we are dog lovers.

Nothing was too much trouble for the owners: our fire was lit every afternoon so the cottage was warm on our return, wine was available, we ordered dinner, delivered to the cottage, and relaxed in the spa without a care in the world. The birdlife we appreciated each morning which complimented the setting. The privacy and enjoyment of the environment which surrounded us exceeded our expectations.

The extra's for us (chocolates, port, breakfast hamper and more...) enhamced our stay and we would certainly recommend The Narrow's Escape to our family and friends.

The birdlife we appreciated each morning which complimented the setting.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoLou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2009

My partner and I had a magnificent three nights staying at the Narrows Escape. We felt spoilt and childish as we giggled over the little touches that makes this cottage resort so wonderfully unique. Upon arrival we were greeted by the lovely Joanne who had already prepared a breakfast hamper chock-a-block full of fresh fruit, sausages, free range eggs laid by chickens on the property, cereals, bread, you name it!! The room had already been made up even though we had arrived before check-in! We gasped in delight as we were led to our cottage, Rosella. The soft sounds of rainforest music and the dimmed lighting in the cottage demonstrated the attention-to-detail that the owners Joanne and Mark have made to ensuring this is a romantic getaway.

We enjoyed the dinner hamper on our first night which consisted of not only two generous servings of beef diane and chicken curry, but we were also treated to ice-cream and sticky date puddings, fresh salad and tasty garlic bread!

The delightful border collies, Toby and Leyla, were a joy to see playing in the garden. They greeted us with playful smiles and added as a great distraction when we were missing our own puppy.

The cottage was fully self-contained and included everything we could have needed for our stay plus more. I have already booked our next stay to the Narrows and can not wait to go back!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyfulWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2009

After reading the reviews we were looking forward to a wonderful stay at the Narrows. I called the morning of our arrival and left a message asking if they could recommend the closest supermarket to stop at on the way, but they never returned my call even though we didn't arrive until 4pm.

We arrived to see that our cottage, Kookaburra, had an uninterrupted view into the neighbouring cottage, and we could see each other clearly from our balconies which were barely 10 metres apart. Not the "secluded" privacy I had asked for and had been promised. We could hear every footstep of the cleaning staff next door, and when people moved into that cottage we could see them and hear them, and no doubt they could see and hear us.

On our first night the owner's two border collie dogs barked and barked through the night, at 11pm, 12.30am, 1.30am, and 3am, and when I asked Mark the next morning if that was common he denied hearing it at all, basically calling me a liar. I wish I had recorded it. The dogs wander unattended throughout the day, and came to our cottage early in the morning, scratching, whining and barking at the door. They would turn up even at 7 or 8 at night and they urinated on our balcony. I am quite frightened of shooing dogs away in case they bite, so we were forced to put up with it.

The cottage was full of cobwebs, the kitchen was dirty around the microwave, skirting boards were dirty, and the bathroom ceiling was mouldy and the fittings chipped and discoloured. The gas stovetops had little difference between low and high (I have a gas stove so I am used to them) and even on the lowest setting you had to hold the pan well above the burner to avoid food being charred. The hot water ran out twice when all we were doing was filling the spa, and the power went out twice.

We received smiling indifference from Mark, and when we left he didn't ask us how our stay was, he just looked embarrassed and said goodbye. If he hadn't asked us to pay the whole amount up front we would have definitely checked out after the first sleepless night. For $260 per night (and that is the cheapest rate) I would expect MUCH better service. This was very disappointing as we were hoping to find a place that could be "our place" as we like to go away for a few days every 3 months. The Narrows is definitely NOT destined to be "our place".

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank infiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo_Narrows, Owner at Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hi infiji, what a disappointing experience you had! We are very sorry that your experience wasn't one of peace, seclusion and romance, as is the case for our other very satisfied guests. It is also disappointing that our contact with you following your stay regarding your feedback was not acknowledged. We aim to deliver the best quality service, with an unforgettable uniquely peaceful stay, and clearly in your case we did not deliver. Please accept our apologies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2009

My partner surprised me with a weekend away at Narrow's Escape for my birthday, and it was a very pleasant surprise! The rainforest surroundings are beautiful. As soon as we arrived at the cottage, it was clear that the owners pay so much attention to every detail to ensure that your stay is enjoyable and comfortable. Mark and Joanne go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need. The cottages are very cosy and private, and the property is so peaceful that all you hear are the sounds of the rainforest and the running creek. The freshly baked croissants each morning is an extra special touch that we thoroughly enjoyed! I highly recommend Narrow's Escape for a private, relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mini_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2009

I cannot recommend highly enough the amazing cottages at the Narrows Escape. My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in February 2009, and I wish we could have stayed for 5 more!

We stayed in Kookaburra cottage, and had a view over-looking the creek and rainforest. Each of the cottages is accessed by a private, screened path, so there's no through-traffic. We were welcomed by Kevin and Jenny, who were looking after the cottages while the owners were on their own holiday, and we couldn't have asked for better hosts. Kevin walked us to the cottage, carrying the incredibly well-stocked breakfast hamper (bacon, eggs, bread, butter, homemade jam, cereal, juice, milk), and showed us in to the beautiful cottage. He showed us all the important bits, and then left us to enjoy the gorgeous surroundings.

Our cottage (and I think they're all mostly the same) was largely open-plan, with a kitchen, dining area, lounge with flat-screen TV and a huge spa bath, which looked out on to the rainforest. With plenty of windows, it was possible to see the forest from pretty much anywhere in the cottage. The bed was really comfy, and the bathroom stocked with organic toilettries. Each cottage has a gas barbeque on the verandah, which is what we used to do most of our cooking. Do order one of the barbeque hampers - the food is delicious, and so nicely presented!

There's a free laundry on site, along with a salt water swimming pool. There are paths through the forest, but it rained a lot while we were there, so we used the excuse to stay in the wonderful cottage and watch some of the many movies available from the DVD library in the office. Taking a spa bath while watching the rain falling through the trees was such an indulgent and relaxing way to pass the time!

Nearby Montville has some cute little shops, and a supermarket, but we tended to drive a little further to Maleny, which has more to choose from, and has a number of restaurants. Everyone we met was so welcoming and friendly, and happy to help.

We cooked for ourselves most of the time we were there, but did eat lunch at the Flame Hill Winery on the first day. Delicious food, super-friendly staff, and a lovely view from the terrace, not to mention great wines! There's no room service at the Narrows Escape, but you can book dinner/barbeque hampers before 4pm, which are delivered to your cottage around 6pm. Fresh croissants are delivered by 8am every morning, and left just outside the door for you.

The Narrows Escape truly is an escape, and perfect for a romantic trip away. There are no 'phones in the cottages, though the owners are happy to make restaurant reservations etc for you, and no internet access (though there are internet cafes in Montville, Maleny, and all the beach towns). There was no cell 'phone coverage during poor weather (though it picked up at the top of the road), but we could get it near the parking spaces during fine weather. It'w so quiet there, and all you can hear is the sounds of nature around you (birds, insects, frogs, the water - it's heaven!). It's not so far out of the way that it's a chore to drive to the local tourist spots, and the fabulous Australia Zoo was only about 35 minutes away. The pretty beach town of Mooloolaba is about the same distance, and well worth a visit. It was wonderful to head back to the peaceful escape of the cottage at the end of a busy day, and to fall asleep to the sound of the forest.

These cottages are perfect for couples who want a romantic break, and to really leave the world behind for a few days. Perfect!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exitrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2008

We've just returned from 3 nights mid week at the Narrow's Escape ... and what an escape it is!! The cottages are isolated enough from each other to ensure you're not disturbed in any way, they are immaculately cleaned and presented and serviced in an unimposing way. It's all the personalised, special touches that made this the most comfortable and peaceful experience we've had away from home. Mark and Joanne are very thoughtful and respectful of the fact that we came here to "get away from it all" and made the whole booking process very simple. Thanks guys. Excellent views and atmosphere at Penefathings Inn. Great shopping/browsing on Main Street. Can't fault anything - you've considered everything anyone needs to be comfortable, yet subtly spoilt. Well done!!” We'll definitely return.

  • Liked — Isolation and service
  • Disliked — Had to come home
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krisnjulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montville
2.4 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#3 of 3 in Montville
175 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
428 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Falls Montville
The Falls Montville
#1 of 3 in Montville
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Peppers Noosa Resort and Villas
25.0 mi away
Sofitel Noosa Pacific Resort
1.0 mi away
Secrets on the Lake
Secrets on the Lake
#1 of 9 in Montville
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat

Property: Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
Address: 78 Narrows Rd, Montville, Queensland 4552, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Montville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Montville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 7 acres of rainforest, seclusion is guaranteed at this award winning retreat, tailored for couples. Six contemporary design pavilions, surrounded by birdsong and the tranquility of ancient rainforest. Delight in your self contained cabin with fully appointed kitchen, complete with Nespresso Coffee machine, free high speed wifi, deep double whirlpool spa baths, log fireplaces and a verandah to soak in the views. Minutes from charming hinterland villages, art galleries and wineries await to delight the senses. Recognised by TripAdvisor' Hall of Fame and winner of the 2013 and 2014 Qantas Australian Tourism Awards, this highly awarded resort provides a unique natural experience with indulgent luxury. Taste the finest regional produce at highly acclaimed restaurants or explore the myriad of walking trails at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing