We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute bliss in rainforest heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Montville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I almost want to keep this place a secret, Narrows Escape is so heavenly, especially for foodies. Our stay could not have been more perfect - romance, relaxation, nature, divine treats.

Listening to the creek bubbling from the hammock was so relaxing. Every tiny detail was anticipated and taken care of and after our magnificent lunch around the corner at Flame Hill winery, everything we needed was provided in the luxury cabin. We could not even eat everything! I can't wait for us to come back and stay longer so we can get to have the couples massages next time.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Kerri54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo_Narrows, Manager at Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Kerri,
We are thrilled you had a fantastic birthday celebration, lovely lunch at Flame Hill and enjoyed all the fine details and extras which are available at Narrows Escape! What a super review, yes, relaxation and rejuvenation is what Narrows Escape is all about. Yes, when you come back the couples massage is excellent! Karen and Michael look forward to welcoming you back and spoiling you more! Thank you for your very kind feedback.
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 459 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at the end of February for three nights and this is a very beautiful area. Cabin is very secluded. Michael and Karen are very welcoming they respect your privacy and are very happy to help. The cabin has king parrots feeding from your bird table and the ever present bush turkey. There is a lovely small salt water pool. The breakfast basket and goodies are great and crossiants are delivered daily. However we felt that the cabin we stayed in (Wagtail) was somewhat dated especially the bathroom and kitchen which was our only disappointment and why we couldnt rate this as Excellent. (Michael has said that all bathrooms and kitchens are being upgraded this year).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarknJo06, Owner at Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Maureen, thank you for taking the time to provide your wonderful review of our property. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and had a chance to experience the serenity of the rainforest and the beauty of the wildlife. As Michael explained, we are in the process of upgrading all of the cottages and hope that this did not detract from your stay. We would love to invite you back once the renovations have been completed. Thanks once again and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed 2 nights last week. Everything was perfect. After speaking to Karen on the phone, she made every effort to get the cabin that would most suit us. We stayed in Dove cottage and it was just as described. Beautiful running creek which we could see and hear and very private (probably the most private of the cottages). Cottage was well maintained and very clean and well furnished (more modern that we expected). Had everything we needed to spend 2 days away from it all. Utilised both the webber bbq on the front verandah and the well stocked kitchen (gas burners and microwave) for all our meals. Only detraction for us was not having a dishwasher. For the price per night felt it should not be necessary to have to hand wash dishes. Wood fire was great and very cosy. Best part was the warm croissants delivered in the mornings as part of our breakfast !. All in all we felt we didn't need to leave the cabin for our entire stay. Very peaceful and relaxing. A retreat in every sense of the word and we are looking forward to returning but this time for a little longer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank constanttraveller26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo_Narrows, Manager at Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Constant Traveller,
Thank you for your excellent review and we are very pleased you were able to really enjoy all we have to offer at Narrows Escape. Our delicious hot croissants are ready and waiting for your next retreat away! See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I were up for a weekend photography course and even though he was out most of the time, I absolutely loved the hosts....you cant get any better than Narrows Rainforest Retreat.

Karen and Michael are wonderful hosts and will ensure you are totally happy and content during your stay.

“Really wonderful hosts! Beautiful tranquil setting, gorgeous pool and lovely atmosphere Its perfect guys!

You cannot improve on Perfection, but they will continue to strive just in case ......we will definitely come again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo_Narrows, Manager at Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Kristine,
We are delighted you had a lovely stay at Narrows Escape and your husband’s photography course went well. Karen and Michael really enjoyed welcoming you and love hosting everyone and making them feel extra special. Thank you for your generous review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My partner and myself had the pleasure of staying at Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat in February, 2013. Everything was perfect. The hamper was excellent. Very clean. The most noticeable item is attention to detail with everything. We will be back as one day was just too short.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bradley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo_Narrows, Owner at Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Bradley E, thank you for taking the time to review "Narrows". We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and that you will be looking to stay longer next time. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Very relaxing, peaceful and calming. Great to escape and just be., The sound of nature at her best. loved the visits from toby and Layla. great pups. Mary Cairncross - scenic reserve was beautiful. Well worth the walk. Maleny cheese factory - yum yum.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krystie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo_Narrows, Owner at Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Krystie B, thank you for taking the time to write your review of our beautiful property, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. While Toby and Leyla no longer live at Narrows we know that our managers Karen and Michael will really look after you when you stay next time. Our sincere thanks for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here recently and loved every minute. We had a fantastic time, loved the peacefulness and tranquility of the area. The products provided in the cabin were beautiful and the service first class. We felt like the only guests there even though it was busy, the hammock on the deck was an extra bonus! It was exactly what we needed to relax and switch off for 3 days.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Kate212819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo_Narrows, Owner at Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Hi Kate212819, thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad you were able to experience the special magic of "Narrows". We love that you have appreciated the lovely organic Mukti and Essenza products, and that the service was of a high standard. Thank you again, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montville
1.3 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
474 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Falls Montville
The Falls Montville
#1 of 3 in Montville
492 reviews
2.4 mi away
Clouds of Montville Eco Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#2 of 16 in Mooloolaba
388 reviews
24.9 mi away
Peppers Noosa Resort and Villas
25 mi away
Sofitel Noosa Pacific Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat

Address: 78 Narrows Rd, Montville, Queensland 4552, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Montville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Montville
Price Range: $246 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 7 acres of rainforest, seclusion is guaranteed at this award winning retreat, tailored for couples. Six contemporary design pavilions, surrounded by birdsong and the tranquility of ancient rainforest. Delight in your self contained cabin with fully appointed kitchen, complete with Nespresso Coffee machine, free high speed wifi, deep double whirlpool spa baths, log fireplaces and a verandah to soak in the views. Minutes from charming hinterland villages, art galleries and wineries await to delight the senses. Recognised by TripAdvisor' Hall of Fame and winner of the 2013 and 2014 Qantas Australian Tourism Awards, this highly awarded resort provides a unique natural experience with indulgent luxury. Taste the finest regional produce at highly acclaimed restaurants or explore the myriad of walking trails at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing