We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view , owner without a point of view”

Himalayan Village Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kausani
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Himalayan Village Resort
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Idyllic settings with idiotic services - is how this place can be best described . Beautiful view of the Nanda Devi but marred by unhygienic food, mattresses , towels . Electricity is literally a shot in the dark . Not a family or couple destination but if you are a Hell's angel or backpacker on a shoe string and have no qualms on food, bedding and power - you can give it a try .

Room Tip: Take the rooms without a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trippinginluxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 9 of 9 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2012

Please do not go to this place in Summer. We went there in June and it was roasting. The day time temp touched almost 45C. On top, the hotel is designed for winter stay. The cottages were very hot during day time. There is no proper power back up. Every 1 hour the generator was switched off for 30mins, making it really uncomfortable.

The view from the room and the hotel is really nice. The location is also good. But this hotel is not suited for a summer stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bong_Traveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

With the change of owner this hotel is renamed as HIMALAYAN Village Resort from the earlier “Kausani Village Resort”. We took the family cottage (which is the first structure when you enter the property). It is big and spacious. Two floors, on the ground it has a large sofa, a small table and LCD TV, climb up the wooden stairs (about 12 of them), you have the bed. Our two small kids between 4-6 were traveling with us, so we asked for an extra bed, but they put two mattresses on the top floor which was extremely comfortable for us. The balcony overlooks the tea garden with amazing views and the bird life which could be seen from the balcony is overwhelming. Very good service, reasonable priced home style food. We found it very helpful food being served to us in our cottage in the evening, though they have a nice dining area also. Our five night stay was very good and would love to return there again. The cottage opens up on the lawn (as most of their rooms) so the kids were not feeling being stuck inside a room, for example in a typical concrete hotel.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suits also overlook the tea garden, they have two of them, I can recommend them also f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AbhishekNDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We booked a cottage in this resort over phone from Delhi for 2 days.13th and 14th Feb. They arranged a taxi for us for delhi-kausani-delhi. We started early in the morning and were supposed to reach the resort within 10-12 hrs. They ensured us that the driver knows the roads of Uttarakhand,knows the road to resort and is a very nice person. But unfortunately he was a very grumpy amateur. And I doubt if he ever left Delhi!! He cant even read the road signs. I had to guide him the whole way!! He took sooo many wrong turns and made our milage higher and higher(we pay per mile) !! and he knows nothing about hill driving!!After so much time and difficulty and bad driving, he managed to reach Ranikhet just before midnight!We had to halt there for the night.Next afternoon,after again with his pathetic driving we reached the resort.which is supposed to be just a 2 hour drive from Ranikhet.We stayed there for 2 nights.14th and 15th.But they billed us for 3 nights!!Because we already booked for 13th though we didnt reach !! How disgusting!!! It was the fault of THEIR driver that we got stranded in Ranikhet.We had to pay the Ranikhet Hotel Bill also.And it was not that,they had to turn away some guest for our booking.We were the ONLY GUEST of the whole resort as it was off season.I really got angry and when I told the manager that i will write a bad review,he exempted 50% for that night. But really,did they had to bill us like that? I know this is the rule for cancelling within 24 hrs,but who's fault it was?They fixed that driver for us.Still...Its not just about the money,its they attitude i dislike.. They were mean with toilet tissue also. They make 6 rolls out of a standard size toilet tissue roll.I have never seen that anywhere :S
But it would be mean of me if dont say that the resort was really grand.Cottages are really comfortable with complete modern facility.And they have spectacular view. Staffs are good.
Anyways,though they have quite an impressive menue, U can get better taste at the small restaurant adjacent to the resort.

Room Tip: Go for the cottages with balcony. Room 101 is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TasiraS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kausani hotels
0.0 mi away
Heritage Resort Kausani
0.0 mi away
Suman Royal Resort
Suman Royal Resort
#5 of 8 in Kausani
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Himalaya Darshan Resort
Himalaya Darshan Resort
#1 of 20 in Kausani
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Krishna Mountview Mountain Resort
0.0 mi away
Chevron Mountain Villa
Chevron Mountain Villa
#5 of 20 in Kausani
44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chevron Eco Lodge
Chevron Eco Lodge
#15 of 20 in Kausani
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Himalayan Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Himalayan Village Resort

Address: Tea-Garden, Baijnath Road, Kausani, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Bageshwar District > Kausani
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Kausani
Price Range: $91 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing