We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally avoidable”
Review of Hotel Pine Havens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pine Havens
Ranked #19 of 20 Kausani B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We booked a holiday through Makemytrip.com and this hotel came as part of the package. Sorry to say, I am extremely disappointed. This hotel should not get any stars at all since this seems to be one of the very few hotels in Kausani that does not have a mountain view. Why would anyone want to come to Kausani and look at some hills & trees? Moreover, the food was disappointing and the dining room & tables dirty. What was most hilarious was that a guy had to stand guarding the door to stop monkeys from coming in!!! This hotel has no generator / power back up, so we had to sit in darkness & were provided candles until power came back. Overall service was very bad therefore our advice would be to strongly avoid this hotel. Everyone booking through Makemytrip.com just beware of this hotel and insist on another one.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebbieGUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Pine Havens
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 34 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2012

Kasauni is for you if you like sleepy towns, with not much to do. The place has very good views and an ashram where you can spend some silent hours. This hotel was a big downer, the rooms were very unclean, with very average interiors and paper thin walls. The restaurant was very very dirty with unclean tables and a very unclean kitchen. Considering the facilities the tariffs is very high. They give heaters which are of no use and they charge extra for it. Its not even a heater its just a blower.
Only good thing about the place, is that it is close to the town center

Room Tip: There is not much to choose from, it has a row of room with not much of a view. You could probably...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank madhukarbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

This is one of the best place ive ever visited so far... the location of the hotel is beautiful with an extra ordinary view from the rom.. there are all similar type of rooms.. no standard and suite and stuff.. just the same rooms which are very spacious and well maintained.. the staff of the hotel and the manager of the hotel were very helpful.. inface they went out of way and drive 25kms one way to a small village to get a birthday cake.. Food is the best.. if less vacancy in hotel then the cook will cook food u wanna eat and trust me the food is awesome.... moreover the sunrise and sunset point is very near to the hotel.. just about 3 mins walking ...... the climate is good and the staff will ensure u have the best of the time till u stay.... they r now coming up with a new hotel at shimla... Wish u all the best guys.. uve been more than kind to us....

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mannmehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

You are greated by shabby porter (only half drunk) at gate of hotel;
You expect a decent 3 star property while you land in place only good as shabby guest house in Pahargaunj, New Delhi; (And this is after experiencing excellent service at Hotel Vikram Vintage Inn, Nainital)
Your hotel is not facing Himalayan mountain view and you are charged higher than other hotels having mountain view;
You are charged EXTRA for room heater (Rs.350/day) at Kausani in month of December after booking the package @ 4000+/day (Its like charging for fan at Mumbai hotel); [This was ultimately not charged next day probablly since i checked-out abruptly incurring loss of 4000 bucks]
Heater (which is not heater but blower) supplied to your room does not work unless you request for replacements (Heater’s cold too…);
You are not served welcome drink / fruit basket as per terms agreed with Makemytrip.com unless asked for, yes this all is served with dressing of frowns (As if you asked for his Dowry Jewel);
Lenin seems they were last washed in era Before Christ (B.C.);
1 liter mineral water bottle is not available, you need to buy 2 liter bottle only (Isn’t this old trick now…);
You order for food which comes after delay of 30 min and that too with hairs all over (Looks like chef’s pulled all his hairs on our arrival);
Your room does not have LCD, you need to settle for 18 inches (color) TV (Similar to one my grandpa purchased when color television were invented);
Property does not have power back-up and every half hour the power-phase supplying power to television and heater goes off (You are left in lurch wondering if this is done to annoy you since you gave feedback about room heaters);
Room service staff is indifferent and are not concerned at all about your comfort even if it means your child goes to sleep without milk;
When you express your unhappiness about above things to Manager/Management, they pounces on you in anger as if communicating ‘Settle with whatever is given else get out’;

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hjsassociates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2010

We stayed one night at Hotel Pine Havens,Kasouni. It is very near( walkable distance) from Sunrise & Sunset point. which is the main attraction of Kasouni.,It is a hill resort & peaceful place .People visit here to stay away from daily fast life & enjoy the scenic beauty of this hill station.Room service is OK.Restaurant is on first floor & food quality is excellent.
There is Mahatma Gandhi's Museum. Also, there are 2 famous places to visit-Bajnath temple whcih was built in 12th century & a tea factory & tea garden.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
4  Thank DEEPBaroda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

I went to Nanital in first week of july for summer vacations with my wife and 4 year daughter. We planned a 1 night, 2 day excursion to kasauni from nanital. I booked this hotel online after looking at list of 5-6 good hotels available in kasauni (there are not many, kasauni is very small hill town in itself).

1) Great Service. To some part it may be attributed to only few guests in hotel at that time (it was almost end of summer vacations for many schools). But nevertheless, we provided real royal treatment by placing chairs in first floor balcony for evening tea (to enjoy rain),
after rain was over we moved to grassy lawn on ground floor and we were served soup there, where as rest of dinner was served in restuarant in first floor. food quality was really good (was prepared fresh, as there was no other guest availing dinner that day in hotel) so kitchen guy took our order and bought required stuff fresh from market.

Property is comparitively newly build. room was good, color contrast could have been better. but really clean...... pillow, towels, bedsheet was spotless.

24 hour hot/cold water supply.

mountain View was really good. but for sunset/sunrise view one has to walk 100-200 meters till Anashkti ashram or so.

Free Parking

Price was bit higher because of booking done via makemytrip. i guess in india you get best rates when you speak face to face. but it was compensated by upgradtion from deluxe to super deluxe by hotel manager.

Staff was really Courteous.

Overall very good experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ravi1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

Good points:
- Courteous staff with prompt room service
- Delicious food quality
- Interesting location makes for some good views and atmosphere in the hotel
- 24 hours hot and cold water
- Good outdoor dining area
- Free parking facility within the hotel

Bad Points:
- Monkeys around the area create nuisance by snatching eatables and personal belongings like cameras, bags, cell phones from our hands. They also come inside the outdoor dining area and land straight on the tables and take away the food served.
- No back-up electricity provision at the hotel causes inconveince as powers upply is erratic in the town

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scorpio_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kausani hotels
0.8 mi away
Heritage Resort Kausani
0.2 mi away
Suman Royal Resort
Suman Royal Resort
#5 of 8 in Kausani
119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sun n Snow Inn by Leisure Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pratiksha Himalayan Retreat
0.9 mi away
Chevron Mountain Villa
Chevron Mountain Villa
#5 of 20 in Kausani
43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Krishna Mountview Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pine Havens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pine Havens

Address: Near Uco Bank Kasauni | Distt Almora, Kausani 263639, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Bageshwar District > Kausani
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Kausani
Price Range: $24 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Pine Havens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Pine Havens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing