We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a good shake up”
Review of Le Val D'Ourthe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Angleur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Val D'Ourthe
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angleur
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Needs a good shake up”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel en route to Germany and we also booked to stay on our return ten days later.We arrived, good parking and checked in to our room. The room was spacious but SO oldfashioned in style and furnishings. It seemed very dark and gloomy as the lighting was not marvellous. Large en suite bathroom. All very clean but in need of modernising. Breakfast was not very exciting but adequate. Very limited fresh fruit and even though we were the first there the cereal containers were nearly empty. Good coffee.
A very, very squeaky door separated the corridor with the bedrooms from the bar and breakfast area and it was awful when some people arrived at 4 am to be woken up by this really horrendous noise. I pointed this out to the owner.
On our return visit, guess what. Had the door been oiled? NO it had not!
this family owned hotel needs to be taken firmly in hand and sorted out.It needs new furnishings and better lighting. Would I stay there again, No I would not.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogers26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
2
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
US
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The staff are friendly, the rooms are very spacious, and the breakfast buffet is very good. The free wifi worked fairly well while we were there -- there were some interruptions, but never for long. If you have a car, the location is also very good. Nevertheless, I can't recommend this hotel. We were a party of four and rented two rooms. One room (#31) was perfectly adequate, though a bit hot at night. The other room (#21) was terrible; very noisy and with a badly functioning airconditioner. Without the airco, the room was unbearably hot; with the airco, it was glacial. (It wasn't possible to set the temperature.) Our relatives in room 21 couldn't sleep and by the second night, one of them got sick -- presumably from a combination of sleep deprivation and the freezing airco, since the weather was unseasonably warm and pleasant. We've been back for more than a week, and now both of them are sick. The hotel was fully booked so it wasn't possible to move to a different room. (Frankly, though, it's odd that this room is being rented out at all.) The staff seemed vaguely apologetic but I don't think they recognized just how terribly this room really was. I recommend that you stay elsewhere or, if you don't have a choice, that you make sure to avoid room 21.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karoena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Angleur hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Nice large rooms, about 5 kms or more out of town, can catch bus 377 from train station which takes around 10 minutes but the buses are not frequent. Internet very poor, so many problems trying to get internet to work over the entire four days. The hotel does not have an evening restaurant and there are no restaurants within walking distance. Staff don 't speak English other than the evening shift. Telephone didn't work in the room. On the second last day we left early, around 7am and returned late about 8pm to find the room had not been cleaned even though we put the request on the door handle. Noise does carry within the hotel and you can hear people talking and walking around etc. This hotel is maybe ok if you have your own transport. We wouldn't recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Friendly staff. Spotlessly clean and spacious rooms with all the facilities you could expect for a 3 star hotel. Breakfast was fresh and tasty. No noise to speak of . Location not central but a bus takes u into liege from right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hagis9100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angleur
2.6 mi away
Ibis Liege Seraing
Ibis Liege Seraing
#1 of 1 in Boncelles
290 reviews
2.3 mi away
Husa de la Couronne
Husa de la Couronne
#5 of 19 in Liege
513 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Neuvice
Hotel Neuvice
#1 of 19 in Liege
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
No photo provided
Il Castellino
#1 of 1 in Chaudfontaine
10 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pentahotel Liege
Pentahotel Liege
#2 of 19 in Liege
885 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Liege City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Val D'Ourthe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Val D'Ourthe

Property: Le Val D'Ourthe
Address: Rue de Tilff 412, Angleur 4031, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Liege Province > Angleur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angleur
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Val D'Ourthe 3*
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing