We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend getaway”
Review of Kasteel Wittem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kasteel Wittem
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wittem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We decided relatively ad-hoc to spend a weekend away with the kids to celebrate our 11th anniversary and found Kasteel Wittem through some internet searches for hotels in Limburg. We picked the Tower Suite offer for 2 days and brought our mountain bikes with us to ride in the are (there are lots of routes from beginner to advanced). We arrived at the hotel at sunset and the appearance of the hotel was fantastic. Candles on the oudoor stairs to the front door... Ronals welcomed us and seated us down for a welcome drink and registration - all very relaxed. The tower suite on the 2nd floor comprises of a master bedroom (circular), seperate toilet and bathrooms and a small 'living' which was converted to 2nd bedroom for the kids (full size beds). We had a great time, lucky with the weather and really felt special during our stay. Last but not least; the breakfast is a true delight; worth every euro! We will certainly be coming back!

Room Tip: There's no elevator so bear this in mind when making reservations!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 81 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed for 1 night in July 2012 (invited by a friend/business partner), and had the privilege to enjoy this wonderfull hotel. Top class accomodations (room, bathroom, view ...) in an ever so quiet and romantic environment.
Excellent breakfast in a beautiful dining/breakfast room. Very friendly and top service.
Indeed a very special place !

Room Tip: we stayed in room 4 (1st floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We spent two nights at the Kasteel Wittem as part of our anniversary trip to Holland (along with a couple days in Amsterdam and a couple days of biking through central Holland). The castle was the highlight. The owners (Ronald and Silvia) are wonderful and we had great conversations on topics such as the Dutch monarchy and things to do in the area. The food (breakfast and dinner) was great and the rooms were elegant. There is a back terrace - and in good weather - it is magical. The room was fine. A bit quirky (it was built a few hundred years ago...), but plenty big with a nice bed and bathroom. The area near the castle is picturesque. We toured Maastricht and rented scooters and had a ball. My wife and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David-Needham-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Ronald and Silvia: Our four night stay at Kasteel Wittem was just wonderful. You are such gracious hosts, and have created a very special retreat from the sometimes overwhelming world of tourism. Thank you so much.

Tripadvisor readers: This is a very special place. The owners (and active managers), Silvia and Ronald de Meij, and their staff, are wonderful hosts. The castle is gracious and up to 21st century standards. The grounds are immaculate. The bucolic countryside is criss-crossed with many hiking and biking trails. Driving to Maastricht, Aachen and even Koln is easy. Visiting the nearby American cemetary is a very moving place. Ronald and Silvia will book you into excellent local restaurants, several a mile or less away and easy to find. Be sure to stay for several days.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ekdw3w43l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The Kasteel and the location are beautiful. The area offers many choices of places to visit, walks or drives in the countryside with outstanding scenery. The hosts offer you a drink upon arrival and take you to a comfortable chair to fill in the check-in forms before escorting you to your room. The rooms are tastefully decorated and very comfortable and the chocolates and fruit provide a nice touch. My room looked out over a peaceful pasture with grazing cows. My stay was very restful. The hotel does not serve an evening meal but my host directed me to a very good resturant a short distance down the road. Breakfast at the Kasteel is a bit pricey, but I did not regret it as it was part of the whole experience and very good. Only negatives were that the wifi did not work in my room; I had to come to the main floor. I found the open design of the shower and toilet a bit strange. As I was solo this was not really an issue but I would have found the lack of privacy a bit diconcerting had I been sharing the room. The latter observation is very minor and did not detract at all from my wonderful stay and great memories.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank room41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We went for our honeymoon and had a great couple of nights. Room was large and nice outlook. Hosts were wonderful, lots of extras like bottle of wine in our room, drink on arrival and coffee free the next day. We asked for bathrobes and even though they were meant for next room up, they gave them to us free of charge.

Only negatives was we were told we would get a double bed and turned out to be two singles pushed together with seperate bedding on each bed. Not the best for a honeymoon but maybe that is what a a double is in Europe, not sure. Also when they made up our room they took all towels and did not replace them. When we asked we just got two towels not bathmat or hand towel etc. Phone in room can not call reception so we had to go down whenever we needed something, not a biggy but kind of a pain when you realize you need towels when getting out of shower!
Note: There is also no jug for tea and coffee in room and no fridge mini bar.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMcArthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We arrived and were made welcome with a drink; how nice and friendly. This friendly feeling stayed with us throughout our stay at the Kasteel, which is efficiently and cleanly run together with this friendly warm ambience. We were lucky enough to be upgraded and our bedroom was lovely and spacious with an excellent bathroom. Breakfast is leisurely, plenty of food, all served with warmth and efficiency. It is a pity that the Kasteel does not do evening meals as I am sure that we would have wanted to sample these if available. One slight niggle is that if you want to sleep with your bedroom window open then there is traffic noise in the morning as the Kasteel grounds are bordered by roads on three sides. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank photosight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wittem
5.4 mi away
Kasteel Bloemendal
Kasteel Bloemendal
#1 of 2 in Vaals
376 reviews
5.5 mi away
Kasteel TerWorm
Kasteel TerWorm
#2 of 6 in Heerlen
299 reviews
10.2 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#4 of 38 in Maastricht
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Bilderberg Kasteel Vaalsbroek
0.8 mi away
Saillant Hotel Gulpen
6.6 mi away
Winselerhof
Winselerhof
#1 of 3 in Landgraaf
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasteel Wittem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasteel Wittem

Address: Wittemer Allee 3, 6286 AA Wittem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Wittem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wittem
Price Range: $140 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasteel Wittem 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantisch en intiem 4* Kasteelhotel met restaurant Violin, waarbij alle 12 kamers uniek zijn. Het oudste deel gaat terug tot in de 12e eeuw, in dit gedeelte zijn onze 2 torensuites gesitueerd. Ronald & Silvia de Meij heten u samen met hun toegeweide team van harte welkom en proberen u vanaf het moment van binnenkomst tot aan uw vertrek, een warm gevoel van thuiskomen te geven! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kasteel Wittem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasteel Hotel Wittem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing