We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly staff, great rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Ridderkerk
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ridderkerk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed for one night. Beautiful hotel. Rooms were big and very nice! Loved the shower and bath. I slept like a baby in their soft bed. Service was fine, very friendly. Food was delicious!
But make sure you don't keep your roomkey (card) next to your phone, because then for some reason it won't work anymore. They have other ones, thank god, but just to help you avoid it!

Hotel is also situated in a great location. We went to Dordrecht and it was about a 15-20 minuten drive. Rotterdam and Kinderdijk (must-see) are very close as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvaSneek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 1,375 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2014

Rooms are very good size and very comfortable beds. large bathroom with separate shower and tub. the restaurant is good size with a very nice selection on the menu for reasonable prices. Comfortable bar area with couches, fire place and tables. Breakfast has many selections for hot and cold foods. Location is not great with little access to nearby shops or restaurants. Out by itself.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinZ1924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

PROS:
- Wi-Fi is now unlimited with good coverage in the rooms
- fantastic breakfast
- solid dinner
- spacious and comfortable rooms

CONS:
- prices, especially in the bar and restaurant
- bed!!! the beds are NOT flat, tried several rooms and it's all the same, this makes you wake up during the night...

All in all it is very convenient place to stay when doing business in Rotterdam area. But longer stay would probably lower the rating due to very strangely shaped beds.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Van der Valk is a dutch hotel chain known for its good value for money. Van der Valk Ridderkerk is no exception to this rule. Nice, large and clean rooms with a good bed. Breakfast very good and a welcoming staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afcajax2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night on business and overall it was good, but it doesn't stay in my mind as anything particularly amazing.

Here, as usual, is my balanced review of things to note.

I liked:
The large reception, swift and friendly check-in, free and reliable Wifi, modern, clean surroundings, good sized room, huge free carpark and easy access from the motorway network.

There wasn't anything I didn't like, but a couple of things to be aware of:
The hotel is shaped like an athletics track with rooms all around the side. It reminds me somewhat of a prison. In the middle on the ground floor some exercise machines had been added in pairs at various locations. It was good to see them there as the hotel has no fixed gym, but exercising meant being in full view of other guests as they entered or exited their rooms. Quite bizarre! Breakfast was what you would expect of a large hotel like this - plentiful but expensive. I can't comment on dinner as we ate out.

Overall this hotel is good but nothing outstanding.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonJCowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed here 3 nights last July to visit Rotterdam and surroundings with Dutch F-friends.
Big modern hotel ; ample FREE parking.
Hotel is built around an atrium.
Front-office friendly and efficient.
Rooms about 30m2 with big double beds, working desk with free Wi-Fi, safe and minibar.
Bathroom with many free amenities.
We had only 1 diner together with our Dutch friends.
Dining-room was crowded and I would advise to make a reservation.
I did not find a set menu and we ordered à la carte. Food well prepared and presented.: you get value for your money but do not expect high gastronomy.
General impression : good, friendly and polite staff ; good location close to major highways and also for visiting Rotterdam-city , harbour and neighbouring townssuch as Schiedam.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roboesGistel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Visited as had business in the area and the company we were visiting made reservations. Given the slightly industrial area I expected a travelodge/motel type place. How wrong I was! You must visit here just to see the crazy cruise ship shaped atrium that the bedrooms are based around and the beautiful and relaxing bar area. The whole building is (in my humble opinion) just wonderfully done.

Add to this really great food in a lovely and relaxed restaurant, staff who are intelligent and helpful and spoke perfect English and were never rude or dismissive of my total lack of ability with language and I had the most wonderful stay.

I am trying to figure out a trip just to take my husband to see this hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ridderkerk
Van der Valk Hotel ARA
#1 of 1 in Zwijndrecht
902 reviews
Novotel Rotterdam Brainpark
#11 of 53 in Rotterdam
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 53 in Rotterdam
807 reviews
Apollo Hotel Papendrecht
#1 of 1 in Papendrecht
828 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 53 in Rotterdam
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Ridderkerk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Ridderkerk

Address: Krommeweg 1 | Ridderkerk, 2988 CB Ridderkerk, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Ridderkerk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ridderkerk
Price Range: $98 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Ridderkerk 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Ridderkerk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing