We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 star hotel..... 5 star bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Van der Valk Ridderkerk
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ridderkerk
Certificate of Excellence
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
184 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“4 star hotel..... 5 star bathroom”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Ok, we all have our "foibles" - "things we like best", - for me in a hotel - it is the bathroom area.

Well in Room 401, i met the my best to date. Approximately 10 feet square, it has a fully walk in shower for 2 [wink, wink].., - a bath which is long & deep, - ideal for Netherlanders - who are generally known to be the "tallest" in Western Europe, very hot & consistant water through wonderful bathroom taps, plenty of towels and a sparkling fully tiled bathroom with plenty of space to "swing a cat" - although none was available or were hurt in the making of this report.

Normally i stay at the sister Van der Valk hotel [ Blijdorp - also very good], but circumstances meant that i stayed at Ridderkerk for the first time.

It is to the South of Rotterdam, and next to A-15 motorway - which quickly links to the others surrounding the area e.g. A/4 / A16/ A20 and is about 5 miles south of Rotterdam centre.

If you go into Rotterdam, be aware - they do not like cars [ and parking costs are really expensive - if you can find a park area - as they have a chip / pin facility] - better to use Park / Ride - details from the hotel reception.

Further there is nothing to see around the hotel - no sights, no views, - nothing other than from Room 401 - the rear of the A-15 motorway- which is about 350 yards away - but due to good windows - there is no traffic noise.

We sayed in an "Atrium Room" - and booked via the Van Der Valk site direct [ last minute] which actually allows you to book up to 14 days before you arrive. We booked a Saturday night / Sunday morning one night deal for two people and including full breakfast for 79 euros.

I guess through the week the room rate / breakfast will cost much more - especially as i think businessmen will use it.

Room 401 - was large and had two single beds pushed to gether - with very soft mattresses / pillows. The room had adaquate lighting / tv / fridge and wardrobe space - with comfortable and desk chair. Wi fi is available with some restrictions - from free to a nominal charge. The only room negative was that there was no tea / coffee making facilities which we prefer if possible - but no problem as coffee is served downstairs at a nominal 2.25 euros, and very nice it is [ with the accompanying biscuit/ sweet].

The hotel itself is a very spacious building with plenty of relaxation seating - and magazines to read [ although primarilly in Dutch]. Smokers have comfortable tables chairs outside & under cover to some extent.

I have always found the staff of all Van Der Valk hotels i have stayed at to be very helpful & courteous - and so great credit to the management in their staff training to achieve & maintain such high standards.

The breakfast is an open buffett - with the greatest choice in warm & [ cold] continental breakfasts - with no limit to what you want - or how often you want more [ and as a canny "Yorkshire man" who appreciates breakfast" - it is mana from heaven - and is by far a strong reflection of this hotel group that i have found to be consistant within their standards.

No complaints whatsoever - other than the internal / room decorating [ carpets - wall colouring ] is not to my personal taste - and yet it seems to blend in very well.

Did not eat in the hotel [ other than breakfast] so cannot comment on the quality of food and presentation. However, over the week end they had "food tasting" / "brunches" for the local populace - and couples / familiees attend this event and i believe it to be very good value - so i guess the meals presented were of a very high standard to be so popular.

All in all i have found this hotel to be of "excellent" quality, and very much reflective of good hotel consistancy of the Van Der Valk [ Toucan] group which is prevelant in the Netherlands, and in some parts of Belgium, France & Germany within Europe.

Good Job !!!!

Room Tip: Room 401 - on the 4th floor - near to the lift, no traffic noise from nearby motorway. Superb bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wfmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    408
    60
    6
    3
See reviews for
132
443
19
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
90 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

If I recall correctly this property wasn't originally built by the vdValk family, which may account for the slightly smaller than usual rooms. Nevertheless they are a nice size and offer everything a business or leisure traveller may wish for. Food and beverage are reasonably priced and quality is far above average. Unfortunately this property doesn't offer a large diningroom terrace like most vdV's have. Staff is very friendly and helpfull with information on how to get to Rotterdam and what to visit. Be aware though that this hotel is not in immediate proximity of the Rotterdam city center, a 15min. car or 30min. train transfer is required to get where the action is.
By the time I was ready to check-out I was also ready to make a new reservation which kinda expresses my satisfaction at Hotel Ridderkerk.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LeoRaeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Excellent food, friendly reception, spacious rooms, free parking and nice service.

Room Tip: Executive rooms offer coffee facilities / jaccuzzi and double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AthensBmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
132 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Stayed 1 night for a conference at the hotel. Very modern, including the bedrooms and bathrooms. Be prepared to book in advance, since on this Tuesday the hotel was full. Restaurant also good, not a cherry on the appelmoes in sight!

Room Tip: If you want coffee and tea facilities choose the executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravCdeWurld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Stated for two nights
When compared to a hotel in the uk of the same room rate, this hotel is very good value for money.
Rooms very large, modern and very comfortable.
No coffee or tea making facilities in the room but room service is available with a tray charge of 7.50
Good bar/restaurants .
I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank read_review_first
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Instead of staying at my mum and dad's while visiting the Netherlands we sometimes stay here for a few days. It is a real treat! Rooms are very nice and modern. Breakfast is great, kids love it. Not a holiday location but very convenient for Rotterdam.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T0niB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Zürich
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Had a Executive Room at the top floor with whirlpool but in the future a Atrium Room will do as well, because the whirlpool is a bit noisy.
The beds are very comfy and the breakfast is excellent. Staff is very nice and helpfull.
Hotel is near Rotterdam. The southside is just a few minutes away and the city centre can be reached within 15 minutes by car or half an hour by public transport.
Will be staying here again when we visit family in Holland.
TIP: Search the internet for cheaper bookings. We stayed two nights in the Executive room for only 135 € including breakfast with two persons, and next time will only be 85 € for two nights and two persons in the Atrium Room including breakfast. Certainly less than it is worth.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSA13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ridderkerk
4.1 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel ARA
Van der Valk Hotel ARA
#1 of 1 in Zwijndrecht
695 reviews
3.5 mi away
Novotel Rotterdam Brainpark
Novotel Rotterdam Brainpark
#10 of 52 in Rotterdam
927 reviews
4.2 mi away
SS Rotterdam
SS Rotterdam
#9 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
nhow Rotterdam
nhow Rotterdam
#7 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,465 reviews
7.6 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Dordrecht
6.2 mi away
Apollo Hotel Papendrecht
Apollo Hotel Papendrecht
#1 of 1 in Papendrecht
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Ridderkerk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Ridderkerk

Property: Van der Valk Ridderkerk
Address: Krommeweg 1 | Ridderkerk, 2988 CB Ridderkerk, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Ridderkerk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ridderkerk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Ridderkerk 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Van der Valk Ridderkerk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing