We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Positives (and negatives) for work stays near Utrecht” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montfoort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Montfoort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montfoort
Cold Ash, Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Positives (and negatives) for work stays near Utrecht”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a lovely townhouse in a beautiful small town near Utrecht and. There are a few positives and negatives to consider, however, to help you make the decision whether to stay here or in a larger, more corporate hotel nearer to Utrecht or Ijsselestein.

Positives: the showers are nice, as is the attention to detail, the cleanliness and the quality of the bed linen and decoration. The town of Montfoort is gorgeous and friendly, with many lovely shops and cafes.

Negatives: the rooms are tiny (we had the "suite" and it was very small); the hotel was noisy when we were there (the town house design and the location mean that you hear guests coming and going, plus the bins/builders/car alarms of local life).

Also, some of the staff smoke in the central courtyard. With windows open you smell this, and at breakfast you must walk through this small courtyard and in to the smoke.The breakfast (as seems to be true in Holland and Belgium) is quite modest.

You hotel has no parking (though you can park about 50 metres away). This, and the fact that our room was up a very steep, narrow flight of stairs may make the hotel difficult for anyone with mobility problems.

The biggest attraction is Montfoort itself- organised around a canal/river, it is lovely. I walked around while my boyfriend was working nearby and many people said "hello" and were friendly and helpful. It is fascinating to watch life go by in a typical Dutch commuter town.

The nearby restaurant Marnemoende is excellent for a special meal with clients

Room Tip: The suite is pretty but not very big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneSkerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
7
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We were put here by our Dutch colleagues and were surprised. The rooms are of a high standard but this is bed and breakfast otherwise, breakfast is one table for 6 people so different....but it's all there and quite ok. It's in the high street so all amenities are there .... The church bells ring through the night however ..... We ate at Bij Mette - Michelin star restaurant .... And there are several around ....

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoersel, Belgium
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

First wanted to book the best western hotel in Woerden but considering the many negative reviews on this hotel decided to go to hotel Montfoort. And for sure this was an excellent choice. Great nicely designed modern room and bathroom, beds with very good sleeping comfort. Quiet location the whole night .... free parking around the corner.
Breakfast not very extensive but of good quality. We will come back for sure !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

I stayed at this little hotel on a business trip and I was very impressed? The room under the roof was very quaint, the bed was comfortable, everything was very clean. The bathroom was rather small but it had everything necssary and it was user friendly. Breakfast in the morning was another amazing surprise, in a cute small room, very well appointed. Very nice choice of breads, eggs, teas...
There is not much to see in town, but I would definitely stay here again.
The only minus sere the stairs with very high steps as is often the case in Holland.
Excellent value for money. Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viclugano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
finewineexpertskier
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009

I stay at the Hotel Montfoort when I travel for business to a nearby town. Montfoort is itself a picturesque Dutch village - cobble stone streets, with three restaurants (all quite good) and two local bars. There are some retail stores, including a bakery, shoe store, kitchen wares, fabric, and some other fun little spots.

The hotel is small, maybe six or eight rooms, and each room is small. However, they are very tastefully decorated with an en suite bathroom. There is an outdoor courtyard between the front buiding and the back building. There is a fridge in the common area where you can help yourself to complimentary waters, beer, and wine. The breakfast is served in common dining room, which only has eight seats, so the owner tries to accomodate parties at different times. The breakfast is simple and always the same - hard boiled eggs, lunch meats (well, lunch meats by US standards), yogurt, coffee, and juice. If you are looking for something sweeter, the bakery across the way opens very early.

This is the only hotel in Montfoort, and it is quite a good one.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finewineexpertskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montfoort
4.0 mi away
Stadshotel Woerden
Stadshotel Woerden
#1 of 2 in Woerden
5.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western City Hotel Woerden
3.3 mi away
Logis Hotel Het Wapen van Harmelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Van Der Valk Hotel Vianen
10.7 mi away
Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda
5.3 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Nieuwegein-Utrecht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montfoort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montfoort

Property: Hotel Montfoort
Address: Hoogstraat 29, 3417 HA Montfoort, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Montfoort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montfoort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montfoort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of charming Montfoort, near Utrecht and Woerden, our charming 3 star boutique hotel offers a relaxing base with its tasteful, stylish guest rooms (11 in total). Benefit from free Wi-Fi. Have breakfast in our newly renovated breakfast room and plan your day at leisure. Explore the environment by bicycle or simply stroll through the town and admire its many characteristic buildings. When arrive at the hotel enjoy a drink in our Wine & Bubbles bar or sit outside on the patio. You can park for free near the hotel. We look forward to having you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Montfoort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing