We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a great experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citta Romana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Citta Romana
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hellevoetsluis
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Hessen, Germany
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“what a great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

this destination, location and property is just simply prefect for a break. the entire spot is very clean, spacious and modern. all is very well organized. the only issue we were facing is the very slow service in the restaurant....BUT nevertheless this was the only negative taste.

Room Tip: House 325 is a very good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LianneEmondt, Salesmanager at Citta Romana, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for sharing your great experience at Città Romana on Tripadvisor.

We are happy that you have a positive meaning about our destination, location and property.

Thank you for your opinion about the service our restaurant, this gives us the opportunity to improve our quality.

It is good to read that our effort is noticed by our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    100
    37
    14
    1
See reviews for
134
33
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houten, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We rented a standalone cabin for 6 people (while being with 4). The cabin was well maintained, very clean and had proper working facilities (tv, good shower, full kitchen equipment). The park itself it relatively quiet and an excellent base to visit nearby towns as Hellevoetsluis & Brielle, plus offers a good starting point if you care for a swim in the lake or the North Sea close by. I can recommend a trip to the Second Maasvlakte, where they are working on expanding the Rotterdam Harbour area.

Some downsides: even though the cabin is for 6 people, there were only 5 chairs outside. Next to this the desciription on the website claims there should have been 2 lairs, but (despite we could have used them during the good weather) they were not there. I asked for them to be delivered but was told that we had rented a cabin that was privately owned and that the park was not allowed to bring their own stuff to a privately owned cabin. This was not made clear in the booking conditions and is definitely a mishap. Next to this we chose the 'lazy Sunday' check-out option (check-out at 17.00 instead of 10.00 + a nice breakfast) and were asked for the delivery time. However we indicated 10.00 for breakfast time and they woke us at 9.00 with the breakfast (which was an excellent breakfast by the way). These minor points for improvement will give them a top score next time should they address it properly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartijnFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We rented a semidetached "luxury" villa for 5 adults and 2 babies.
The house looked better online, the furniture is cheap, the bathrooms outdated, but we did have almost all we needed.
The ground floor was pretty hot, but upstairs it was cold. Especially the bathroom upstairs was too cold, for the adults after showering and of course for changing the babies.
There was a steam shower - which didn't really work - we had a technician come over to explain the steam function, but he didn't know either...
There was a washing machine and a dryer, but some of our clothing couldn't be tumble dried, so it would have been handy to have had a rack.
We used the kitchen, but had to improvise since it was poorly equiped: bad knives, missing woodden spoons. Some pots were dirty so we had to clean then before using them..
We ordered bed sheets and towels and had one towel each (adults only) we had to bring towels and sheets for the babies. Missing small towels for the toilets and the kitchen. And mats for the bathrooms of course after showering the flors were wet and slippery.
The house wasn't cosy, the living room was cold - a lamp or a painting could warm it up.
Free wifi was a plus and the big television.
The stairs to the first floor was made of iron and made much noise when people walked them. A light sleeper would wake up because of them at night.
I guess it all sounds pretty negative, but the worst part was that they turned off the gas in the houses. They had notified us via a letter, but they didn't write from which time of the day and for how long. We called the reception and they told us that it could take from half an hour to half the day. I wonder why they couldn't do this kind of maintenance early in the morning and not during the day.....
All in all this stay could have been better. We were disappointed since we did expect a luxury villa and we did pay for that. I wonder how the non-luxury villas were?

Room Tip: Call first to find out what you should bring yourself. Extra towels etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pipaluk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waalre, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

The park has various types of holiday houses for rent, we had a 6 persons villa with 3 bedrooms of which the size was Ok.
One bathroom with toilet on the first floor, downstairs a spacious living with a kitchen and a toilet.
Also a sanitairy room with wash machine and dry tumbler including an additional fridge.
Free Wifi available and about 100 TV channels in numerous languages.
Beds are pretty soft and only 2 meters long.
Price / quality of the house is in good balance.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Erwinreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We took villa for 6 people and were very happy with our choice given high quality standards and service. Apart from it we liked overall setting - villa had a small garden where ducks from small river were coming to visit us from time to time. Really no neighbors or noises apart from nature. The price per person was the most competitive which we could find in this region so really no drawbacks.

As we left early in the morning we didn't check on restaurant option as villa had all inside facilities to prepare breakfast by ourselves. I would come back there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonNico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

No complaints about the accomadation its first class,what lets the complex down is the restauraunt & bar! The staff were rude,the meals were cold,thats if you got what you ordered in the first place! They would bring your main course while you were still eating your starter! my friend had no serviette so the waitress went to the bar returning with a beer cloth from behind the bar!! one of our party ordered a curry,it eventually arrived after an hour,it was just a shame people had arrived after him ,been served and had left the restauraunt for the bar! To top it all on the last night the barmaid in the small bar shut with half an hour to go before closing,why?? Because it was her birthday and she wanted a private drink with her friends! The accomadation is faultless,the girls on reception are friendly & helpful but next year we will be eating out in a nice little bistro we found. I must add the restauraunt & pub is let out for franchaise so next year you never know!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angler29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

I come here to the restaurant every Sunday for a cup of tea/ coffee, during my son's swimming lesson. The staff here is always very unfriendly, carries a long cranky face. She feels it's under-staffed here, because she has to take care of the breakfast here for people who stay in the "hotel", plus taking care of the drinks ordering from people like me, ordering a drink during their children's swimming lessons.

Though a drink may not cost much, people like me come here every week, and we are still paying for it. However, the staff is often cranky and moaning about the amount of work. It's not the customer's problem, but a problem of the management. She should be complaining to her manager and not to the customers!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank famLin-ho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hellevoetsluis
Cape Helius Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hellevoetsluis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Badhotel Renesse
#1 of 9 in Renesse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#4 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Carlton Oasis Hotel
#1 of 2 in Spijkenisse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
NH Atlantic Den Haag
#16 of 67 in The Hague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citta Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citta Romana

Property: Citta Romana
Address: Parkweg 1, 3221 LV Hellevoetsluis, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Hellevoetsluis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hellevoetsluis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Citta Romana 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Citta Romana has got 263 luxury accommodations on the beautiful and spacious park. In the central building of the resort you will find a heated swimming pool and a sauna, cosy pub, restaurant with beautiful terrace, beauty salon and a massage studio. Furthermore, every holiday home has its own free Wi-Fi internet access and free satellite TV with 100 + channels. Altogether, national and international guests fall short of nothing during their stay at Citta Romana. The area of Citta Romana offers for everyone its own pleasure. Hellevoetsluis has some great historical stories to tell, you can find them out in the different attractions for example, museum ship "the Buffel" or the dry dock all in the Fortress area of Hellevoetsluis. The surroundings are full of beautiful walking- and bicycling paths. Further on in summers you can go wild on the Aquasplashpark, or even go wilder at Beach club Natural High to go kitesurfing or blo-karting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Citta Romana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing