We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Onar
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Egli(Andros Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Eleni Mansion(Andros Town)
View Hotel
Anemomiloi Andros(Andros Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
    Aegean Castle(Paleopoli)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (181)
    Filter reviews
    181 results
    Traveler rating
    166
    12
    2
    1
    0
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    166
    12
    2
    1
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsother gueststhe riverthe ownera special placebeautiful placeparadise on earthour honeymoonbeautiful beachfresh vegetablesdelicious foodclear waterdirt roadlaid backfamilies with kidsone of a kindgreat atmospheresmall community
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    122 - 127 of 181 reviews
    Reviewed June 6, 2013

    this place is magic and true at the same time, quite a unique mix, even in Greek islands.
    magic because of the incredible natural environment (the perfect beach, the ancient plane trees...all you see in the pictures is real, no photoshop!) treated with respect by Onar owners (the Athens businessmen family is native of Andros island, a sort of return to their origins).
    true because everything is very friendly and easygoing, it doesnt try too hard to impress as it doesnt need it.
    we should all thank Mateo The Manager and his father for this crazy adventure and hope it will stay as it is today.
    bravo!

    little suggestions:
    - if you just want to relax for a few days avoid renting a jeep, to visit the Hora you can go with the driver (paying extra, of course), calculate one half day visit. it's lovely.
    - May was perfect season for us, meteo fantastic and water temperature not as cool as expected because the bay is quite protected. the beach was totally desert at this time, no boats at all.
    - the houses are all nicely designed (Im a demanding Italian architect :-)
    - we have named Onar guests 'Onar People', because they were all a bit special and nice. Normally we dont like the shared table concept for dinner, but I dont know why this time it was really lovely.
    - if you want a romantic dinner for two you can always talk to the chef who will be happy to arrange it at your house, you can also order special dishes (all at a little extra)
    - from May 2013 there's a new young Greek chef coming from Lancaster Gate hotel in London who brought to Onar very upscale gourmet techniques but never forgetting to use only local simple ingredients coming from Onar garden. Sous-chef Dimitri also assures top quality in all dishes (again, we are Italian gourmets :-)
    - once arrived at Andros Port do some shopping at the very nice bio supermarket which has high quality products, we bought tomatos, juices, little snacks etc and we had enough for the entire week to have light lunches in our house.
    - there are many nice trekking paths, I recommed at least to follow the river until the little lake (you can have a picn nic there) and to go to the light house. there are also longer paths such as to the monastery (1 hour) and to the nearest village (2 hours).

    Room Tip: n.4 The Olive is nice, secluded, but with less natural shade around. it's good if you dont like the open plan design of all the other houses for two people. n.5 The River is perfect for honeymooners as it is big, with a huge bathroom and has very well designed external spaces. they are all nice, anyway, designed by an architect combining local materials and rational space design.
    • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank elghira
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 3, 2013

    Onar is unique...The interior design, as well as ,the hospitality,service and all people working there, were exceptional. We were speechless... never been this dazzled before. Onar is simply BEAUTIFUL in every little detail:The hospitable owner and manager Mateo,the friendly and genuinely happy staff,the excellent food in an outdoor and romantic restaurant surrounded by plane trees.
    Could not recommend a relaxing holiday to anyone even higher. Would love to go back.
    Thank you and your team for a wonderful time Mateo, (give our love to your father).

    • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Nadia D
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed May 13, 2013

    I have been very spoilt as an editor of a magazine and travelled to a lot of places, often for free. So I am always wary when trying out somewhere I havent heard of. But I found Onar on i-escape and took a punt, and it was well worth it. If you are looking for parties, pretentious and overpriced food and five star luxury, this is not the place for you. If you want serious downtime, in a remote valley, with a magical fairy tale walk to the beach, and food that you literally cannot believe is real, or such good value, this is it. We were dying for sun, and it hardly came, and even despite this, we had the best holiday. I would recommend it to anyone, and would go back in a flash.

    • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank sachab186338
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed May 6, 2013

    ONAR is a one in a million. The wonderfully entertaining and hospitable manager Mateo (and his amazing family), the friendly and genuinely happy staff, the beautiful villa accommodation, the little private beach, the crystal clear creek running alongside and all throughout ONAR. Everything was wonderful and it made for a truly relaxing holiday.

    Andros is a beautiful, lesser known island to foreigners like me. Travelled here with my girlfriend and we were lucky enough to experience Orthodox Easter here. A very memorable experience, authentic Greek Culture and food, great company and a truly unique environmental setting.

    Villas are large, stylish and very very clean, some small cooking appliances supplied even though there is delicious food on offer in the restaurant. Restaurant is outdoors and very romantic. Short walks up to the small waterfall in the creek or down to the beach are musts on the list. Villas are spaced nice and far apart and they have Air Conditioning, plenty of lighting and windows and also have massive verandahs with seating out front and back.

    The crops in the yard are just stunning and all the surrounding trees and nature just make you feel like you have literally ducked off into a dream world for just a few days. A Perfect retreat to relax, finish a writing project, spend some time with a loved one, swim at the beach or just sit back and enjoy the beautiful environment.

    Could not recommend a relaxing holiday to anyone even higher. Would love to go back and show my family this wonderful piece of Greece. Thankyou for a wonderful time Mateo, you and your team (and your family!) deserve an award!

    Only advice for people coming:
    - Get George the Taxi to drive you, very fast, very safe and great value, trust me...
    - Hold on tight on the final windy Gravel Road (not too long so don't worry)
    - Bring/Wear proper shoes if you go for a hike, this place is natural so you may have to watch out for prickles!
    - Shop for snacks at the port when you arrive on the ferry (ask George and he will take you there on the way). Meals are delicious but snacks in the fridge are always a good call (Or if you sleep in past breakfast! )
    - Talk to the staff! They are so friendly and will help you have a great stay
    - Go for a walk to the waterfall! and also up to see the Famous Cyclades Fences, so impressive!
    - Give Mateo a hug and a 'High 5' for me for making such a beautiful place and a wonderful memory :)

    Room Tip: After looking at all the villas I am impressed, they each have their own style with different features. All have a large verandah area out front with shade to sit and enjoy breakfast or to hang towels. Also ours had a large shaded secluded area out the back. Even though there were other families staying at the time of our holiday, there was no interference or privacy problems. The bathrooms are large and showers luxurious. We stayed in the Villa with Stone flooring next to the "Big House". No complaints at all, it was almost too big!
    • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank Mdmclean88
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed November 25, 2012

    I had such a fabulous time at Onar. Mateo (the owner) was clearly born to start a place like this, and Onar is an extension of his personality - both exceedingly warm and entertaining, and environmentally and aesthetically sensitive. The villas are beautiful, the food was great and the beach is the best I have ever been to. I'll definitely be going back.

    • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    4  Thank LordLivingstone
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews