We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“3rd time very lucky”

Review of Cliff Cottage

Cottage with beach one minute down the path
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage with beach one minute down the path
Downstairs bedroom with seaview The cottage and conservatory and grounds with St Ives in the distance (20 minutes away)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Cottage with beach one minute down the path
Downstairs bedroom with seaview
The cottage and conservatory and grounds with St Ives in the distance (20 minutes away)
Sitting room facing the sea
View over hedge towards Hawks point and Gwithian
Corner fence by private path to beach one minute away
Conservatory with view of cliff side and scented pink geraniums
Master bedroom with panoramic seaview
Downstairs bedroom with seaview
Sitting room fireplace
Dining table in the window of the sitting room showing the view and stained glass windows
Front door of cottage with scented lemon tree
Decorative souvenirs in the conservatory
Reading room window with sea-view
Table and sofa bed in reading room
Entrance hall staircase dining room door to far sitting room
Front of the house with balcony of master bedroom
Sitting room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Pantry
Carbis Bay beach below the cottage with the view of the cliff path leading to St Ives
View of cliff cottage facing the bay towards St Ives
View of Hawks Point and rainbow over Godrevy lighthouse and seven miles of golden sands at Gwithian
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Carbis Bay, St Ives, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
traceyemm...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“3rd time very lucky”
Reviewed September 21, 2019 for a stay in September 2019

This is my 3rd stay in cliff cottage my choice of location for my 50th birthday and the weather was amazing all week this is in my opinion the best cottage in England the house is perfect the location is perfect and excellent value for money every thing you could want is here as well as space which is of a premium around Cornwall thank you soo much best holiday ever tracey

Date of stay: September 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patimarr1
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful house, perfect location”
Reviewed July 14, 2019 for a stay in July 2019

I've just spent a week at Cliff Cottage, my first trip, and it was magical. Perfect location, waking up to the sound of the waves from beach below, not to mention the view! What a way to start the day. You're living in 'the house on the cliff', and you're proud of it! You're in a gentler, calmer section of Cornwall, quite private as you eat your breakfast looking out over the bay, but not remote - the charming and efficient train that runs behind the cottage can whisk you into the hustle and bustle of St Ives in only minutes. We also took the train inland to St Erth, for a wonderful river walk. Don't be concerned about the train line's proximity - it doesn't disturb you at all, it's a 4-carriage character from The Famous Five, not the Paddington Express. We found ourselves waving at it, as our week progressed!

The walks in the vicinity of the house are nothing short of breathtaking (sometimes in both senses of the word (!), and you can walk directly from the house, or drive to dozens of alternatives in a short time. If you're a dog-owner, the beach is restricted in the summer, which worked well for us, as it made us get up early to stroll the virgin sands prior to the 8am curfew - the beach to ourselves, it was glorious!!

As for the house, well, we fell in love with it. As many previous reviews have indicated, it's full of character, and is Tardis-like - so many rooms, we felt we hadn't stayed long enough to explore them all! They're also spacious, with beautiful high ceilings and large, let-the-view-in windows, and spotlessly clean. Even the boot room (fabulously useful with dogs!) is roomy. It's definitely an oldie-worldie, not a plain, boring, modern house - but that's not to say it's deficient in any way at all. We had constant hot water, used the modern cooker and dishwasher regularly, showered with decent water pressure etc. It's Victorian, stylish, with furniture to match. Yes, Annabel could take down walls, create a huge open plan set-up if she wanted, but thank goodness she hasn't. The proportions are perfect.

Downsides? None, really. You quickly get used to the fact that there's only one bathroom (there's a large guest basin in the downstairs loo, anyway, for night-washes) and the fact that the sink is separate to the main kitchen, in the scullery. Some might think that the TV could be bigger, but it was more than adequate for watching some of Wimbledon this week, and it would be fine for snuggling up beside the open fire if you had a winter booking.

We (3 old university chums and two small terriers) had a most memorable week, and were gutted to leave. If you're lucky enough to find Cliff Cottage available, do go. But don't tell anyone. Let's keep it our little secret!!

Date of stay: July 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2019
Dear Pati, Thank you for describing the Cliff Cottage experience so well and expressing such pleasure in being at home there. It makes me very happy as I love it too in the same way . I hope to have you back whenever you can come best regards Annabel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoT-BP
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing as always”
Reviewed June 25, 2019 for a stay in May 2019
1
person found this review helpful

Our fifth trip in five years to Cliff Cottage, and as soon as we open the door it feels like home. This is not a place with all mod-cons, and is all the better for it. Annabel has kept lots of the original furniture, and resisted the temptation to update the kitchen into something modern and bland. Instead it's a trip back in time, full of character and personal touches. The views from the front rooms and garden are breathtaking, and access to the beach is either down your own private path (quite steep) or down the road to the hotel (less steep) - whichever way you go your feet are in the golden sand in a few minutes. Can't wait to go back!

Date of stay: May 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2019
Dear Bill Thank you fir a wonderful review. You are a favourite guest best regards Annabel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgetj5...
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed April 25, 2019 for a stay in December 2018

We stayed in December for my birthday with family but have only just got around to doing the review. We had the most wonderful time at Cliff Cottage and cannot wait to return. The cottage is just heaven. We felt so lucky to be there. So beautiful, clean, well maintained and well equipped (even wellies!) We walked into St Ives each day along the coast path. Father Christmas came into the town on the RNLI lifeboat on the Friday evening which was such fun to watch. Ideal location with the most beautiful views. It was a magical weekend and one we will never forget.

Date of stay: December 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 27, 2019
Dear Bridget ,Thank you for your delightful review. I could imagine the walk and the scene best regards . Annabel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 14, 2019 for a stay in October 2018

Date of stay: October 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 16, 2019
Dear Becky Thank you very much for your charming and delightful review. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay .best Regards Annabel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Global782...
1 review
“Great location, stunning ocean views”
Reviewed August 20, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Stayed 7 to 14 July. Booked at last minute and was a little hesitant as don't usually do bank transfers, so spoke with owner Annabel who was very helpful. Pleased we booked Cliff Cottage; our jaws literally dropped when we arrived and took in the amazing location with the Atlantic below us. We enjoyed many meanders down to the beautiful Carbis Bay beach and also just relaxing in the comforts of the cottage/ gardens whilst taking in the stunning views. Had some lovely coastal path walks, and it was easy to get to St Ives on the train. Loved the traditional style of the cottage, and had everything we needed. Highly recommend for the location and proximity to the ocean. One recommendation would be for more comfy seating in the lounge to accommodate more than four people.
We plan to return

Date of stay: July 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2018
Thank you very much . I am so glad you enjoyed your stay Regards Annabel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadgeP186...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning yet again.”
Reviewed July 12, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

This was our 5th visit to cliff cottage and it was as stunning as ever. It has everything to offer, albeit paddle boarding on the beach located from the garden path to the golden beach below, a coastal path walk to St Ives town and train back or many an hour relaxing on the lawn watching the sun set. You really couldn't want for more. Debbie and the gardener keep everything spotless. At the end of the day a good night's slumber in the massive scrumptious beds. Open the French doors and hear the waves below. In the words of Arnold Schwarzenegger, we'll be back! Cliff cottage is truly stunning.

Date of stay: June 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2018
Thank you very much. It makes me very happy to know you loved your stay Annabel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing