We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,141)
Filter reviews
2,141 results
Traveler rating
1,132
536
275
125
73
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,132
536
275
125
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sands restaurant building work no lift beach club wedding party st ives sea view afternoon tea spa area stunning location restaurant staff main restaurant reception staff heated pool travelzoo deal course dinner beach cafe
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 2,141 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed our recent stay at the Carbis Bay Hotel, part of our 50th wedding anniversary celebrations. After finding the entrance to Reception, this is not well signposted. The staff on Reception were very friendly and welcoming on our arrival, we were shown around the hotel which was useful. Our room was small at the back looking onto a flat roof and railway line (I assume this was because the booking was via Groupon offer!) The bed linen was very good, the bathroom was also very clean, good quality towels and bath robes. I asked for fresh milk which was promptly brought to the room. The first night of our stay the food and service were excellent, the sole was delicious, the second night the food was excellent but the service was not as good. A very good choice at breakfast, continental meats & cheese, fresh fruits plus a variety of cooked option choices. Great to sit outside on the terrace with beautiful sea views. When checking out of the hotel, another guest in front of me, also checking out who was given a letter thanking them for their stay, when I asked the receptionist why I didn't received a thank you letter the answer was a thank you letter was dependent on the type of booking. Small comment/complaint why are all guests not given a thank you letter, minor niggle I know but are all guests not valued? Not quite the right note to leave the hotel on, disappointing.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineD3617, Front Office Manager at Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Sue,
Thank you for your review and it is good to hear you enjoyed your special celebration with us. Of course, we value all our guests very much and it seems there was a slight misunderstanding regarding your understanding of the content of the letter to which you refer. Certain accommodation offers are repeated at times; others are not, as with any business. We also have many seasonal offers and most certainly hope to see you again.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have had to abandon a family trip here as after booking a family suite which has two bedrooms and separate living area we were 'upgraded' to a single room for a family of four. This was not at all welcome after a day of travelling and two toddlers who would not settle in a room with us. To make matters worse we were put in one of the bedrooms of the lodges which are usually sold as 4 bed lodges but the hotel split them up and mis-sold them as suites as the hotel was overbooked. There was no soundproofing between these rooms so we could here every movement of the next door room and all the facilities were shared. We were promised something would be sorted out for us the next night so we muddled through the first night and at breakfast we were told three separate times something had been organised for us to move and were told to pack all our luggage up and leave on the bed which we wasted time doing as we were then told that there was nothing that could be done. We couldn't face another night all squashed in a room that was intended for two not four so we ended up driving home very unhappy. We booked a two bed family suite for two nights and ended up with one bedroom in a shared lodge with shared facilities. How they are getting away with charging these prices is beyond me when you are not getting what you pay for.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank tillyd04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineD3617, Front Office Manager at Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We note your review with some surprise as we had several discussions with you whilst you were with us, resulting initially from your making an incorrect booking. Although we had provided the room booked, we made great endeavours to accommodate you and your family once arrived, and offered alternatives which you elected not to take. We regret your decision but would emphasise that, as a matter of course, we always go to great lengths to resolve any issues, as we had in this case.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful 3 nights at Carbis Bay Apartments. Lesley the Reservations Manager was most helpful and did everything possible to ensure our staff was comfortable. Emily showed us around and was very lovely. Our family dog(s) were thrilled to receive their own dog baskets and basket of dog treats for the stay - nice gesture. The apartments are compact and functional and there is nice attention to detail.

Unfortunately the dinner service albeit in a lovely setting - the slow service let it down. The staff were not attentive and we waited 45 mins before the food arrived. Ordered the same two cocktails and they were poles apart in taste and quality - shame when paying £12 for each one. The food was of a good standard but the service let it down. Similarly, we waited 40 mins for our cooked breakfast and the other 2 guests had to wait another 15 mins as they “forgot” their orders! Shame. Whilst the staff apologised, it was not a good start to the day.

Overall, a wonderful place but service is not on par with the ambience of the hotel.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Banjo-Banjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineD3617, Front Office Manager at Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for complimenting our Reception staff and we are pleased you enjoyed your accommodation and it was a treat for your dog! We note your further remarks and are always grateful for all feedback, thank you. We hope that you will come back at a future date and we can get it right for you.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Not good I’m afraid we booked 3 nights months ago a double superior room costing £1000 well we had to complain as room was so small and dark it felt like we were in a wardrobe, moved to another which was lighter but unfortunately the light showed lots of flaws that shouldn’t have been in a superior room and I don’t want to elaborate on these but have some nasty pictures so had to complain again and finely moved to a room which was adequate. Now we’ve stayed in some very nice and some very average hotel rooms but these rooms are really overpriced and the only good thing about hotel is location with view and really helpful staff who’s fault it is not,would not return for half the money SORRY

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Steveclaire_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineD3617, Front Office Manager at Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We note your points and feedback which is not typical at all and regret that we did not live up to your expectation on this occasion. We would hope that you might return at a future date and we will do our best for you.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As soon as you approach the hotel and get your first sight of the amazing bay and beautiful sandy beach you know you are in for a great time. Entering the hotel and the first impression is confirmed. Friendly efficient welcome and a personal introductory tour of the hotel by the charming Lesley. As we were with a group of friends we were upgraded to one of the beach front lodges !!
Difficult to describe in words but one of the best we have stayed in during our trips around the world. Three en suite bedrooms, large lounge/diner/kitchen with everything you could want but the beach front patio and the top floor hot tub are the icing on the cake. Just stunning.
Really good food during our stay and a great atmosphere for our Saturday night group dinner in the beach bar. All the young staff are well trained and nothing is too much trouble - if you want something , just ask. Special mention of Vlad, Alex and Georgina for looking after us so well. We will be back !!!

Room tip: Definitely worth the upgrade to beach lodge.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lord_Brett_Sinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineD3617, Front Office Manager at Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you - a stunning review of our spectacular lodges on the sands - thank you so much and come back soon! Thank you, too, for complimenting our staff.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews