We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mains of Taymouth Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Break”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

My girlfriend and I spent 3 nights in the fantastic Bothy at Mains of Taymouth. It was immaculately presented when we arrived and came with everything we needed for a relaxing break. The entire property was finished to a very high standard the hot tub was cleaned and warmed up for our arrival. All the staff were friendly, informative and helpful and went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible. This was my 3rd stay in Taymouth and I cannot recommend it highly enough. I will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyrob89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Pleased to hear you had another great stay at The Bothy, thanks for taking the trouble to post a review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    42
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
236
116
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed at the White House for the weekend for my 50th birthday we all had a fantastic time. The White House is perfect very clean and the decor is lovely, the kitchen is well equipped with everything you could possibly need. The hot tub was fab and on the upstairs balcony, handy for going in and out to the kitchen for drinks. The White House also has a lift for those with mobility problems.
Staff in reception very friendly couldn't be any more helpful.
We had a delicious meal in the mains restaurant. we also spent a lovely Saturday afternoon at the Kenmore hotel with John the barman making us wonderful cocktails!
Will defiantly be back, a fantastic time had by all.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morags28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for the review, very pleased to hear the special birthday celebration was enjoyed by all. We also appreciate your mentioning our on site restaurant and hope that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Just spent weekend with my family at the Smiddy Cottage at the Mains of Taymouth, Kenmore (Scotland). Superb weekend, very relaxed and beautiful scenery. Accommodation is first class, with spacious rooms, log burner, hot tub and lots of kitchen space. It was even baby friendly, with a cot and high chair provided. There is also a 9-hole golf course on doorstep to step onto. Great for walking or to nip to pub for some food and refreshments. Staff are friendly and very helpful (even gave us free tablet!). It was so good we've just booked back up again, but this time to the Farmhouse cottage. Can't fault it at all..........

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed your recent break at The Smiddy and thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Farmhouse on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

We chose this accommodation because of their dog friendly policy and the luxury standard. We were not disappointed, the one bed Maxwells villa we were in was lovely had all amenities you could possible wish for in self catering. The furniture and furnishings were also of a high standard and pleasing to the eye. The bed and bathrooms were cosy and well presented. Would absolutely recommend this to other people familes with or without dogs. There was no sign that dogs had ever been in the property. So non dog people need not worry.

The Courtyard bar/restaurant was also a real attraction, handy on site, no drving required, the open fire in the bar really making it a lovely place to be (also dog friendly!) The staff and food was delicious the free bottle of wine with our stay was a bonus and rather nice too. Mixed seating, sofas and tables, a genius idea as it serves many different needs, a relaxed drink or sit down meal. The proper restaurant was next door (same menu)and looked nice to although we did not use it.

One tiny comment you are not allowed to leave your dog in the house, which was a bit annoying if we needed to go out to eat. But as we ate on site in dog friendly bar it was not a problem. Hopefully we will be back one day!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank glasgow99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Many thanks for the kind comments posted following your stay in the Maxwells. We're glad you all enjoyed it as well as your visits to The Courtyard Restaurant. We also hope you will manage to visit us again some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This was my second stay at The Mains of Taymouth and it was fantastic. Last October, twelve of us were in The Farmhouse and this time, four of us stayed at one of The Gallops apartments. It was equipped with everything you need for an enjoyable stay and I'll definitely go back. 5* all the way.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcleigh2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thanks for returning so soon, we're delighted you enjoyed The Gallops apartments as well as The Farmhouse and hope to welcome you back (again!) in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angus
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Booked The Smiddy for the weekend , had been to Taymouth before and stayed at Skibo Lodge which was superb, so was expecting a bit of luxury and quality so did not mind paying for the "5 star quality" but unfortunately "The Smiddy" was needing what we could only describe as a bit of TLC.

Cant fault the area, surrounding facilities and it did not spoil 4 adults on a weekend break ,but 5 star luxury it is not.

The property has basic 4 panel pine doors and ironmongery and basic skirtings and facings that all came straight out of B and Q.
Who ever filled the nail holes in the skirtings was no painter. The rug in the hall is faded, the hot tub is basic with the jets-those that worked - on one speed only and the light in the tub was just that -one light.

Its been a long time since I have seen a more basic patio door than in the kitchen, plastic handles- again B and Q?. The flooring although HW in some areas did not reach the walls, the underfloor heating in the bathroom did not work in the middle of the room below the broken tile, the kitchen had a strong kerosene smell from the boiler and I think needs serviced or looked at.

The property could do with a fresh coat of paint, the kitchen chairs , some are now to soft to sit on and are badly scratched on the sides. The front single glazed door, again B and Q?, is needing rubbed down and painted, the stair in the property has dropped you can see the gaps opening up at the walls. The poor and what can only be described as "cheap" louvred doors in the hall says it all, and they are dirty at the foot of the door.

I could go on and on but there is a recurring theme through this review, in case you did not pick it up... it is... basic... if you choose to rent this out that's what you will get...definitely not 5 star... more 3 star, come on mains of taymouth for the price charged we expect better , get your act together..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnccAngus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay in The Smiddy and we're sorry you were disappointed with the accommodation on this occasion. The Smiddy is a 4 star property and will shortly be undergoing refurbishment as part of our ongoing programme. This is a very popular property and due to forward bookings we regret this refurbishment had not taken place prior to your stay. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay in Skibo and hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I really have nothing negative to say for once!! We were a group staying in three properties, all were well appointed, clean and comfortable. They were decorated differently and all with their own specialities, whether it was pool table or hot tub. The surrounding countryside makes it a fabulous location and we were well catered for by the restaurant (too much food being the problem!). We also used the meeting facilities which were ideally suited for our group.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rural-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for the fantastic feedback following your group visit to Mains of Taymouth, it really was our pleasure to accommodate such a great group of people. We hope you will be able to squeeze in another visit, business or pleasure, in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmore
0.3 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
5.6 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,309 reviews
24.7 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
12.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kenmore Club
The Kenmore Club
#1 of 2 in Kenmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mains of Taymouth Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mains of Taymouth Cottages

Property: Mains of Taymouth Cottages
Address: Taymouth Taymouth Mains of Taymouth Country Estate & Golf Course, Kenmore PH15 2HN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Kenmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mains of Taymouth Cottages 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 120 acre private country estate set in magnificent Highland Perthshire with stunning self catering properties sleeping from 2 to 12, many with hot tubs, saunas and games rooms, all at either a high 4* or 5* STB standard. Our excellent onsite facilities include our own golf course, riding stables, delicatessen & gift shop and cafe bar & restaurant all within walking distance from each property. Stunning views, tourist attractions & much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mains of Taymouth Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mains Of Taymouth Cottages Hotel Kenmore
Mains Of Taymouth Cottages Kenmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing