We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5* all the way, Mains Park Court, just perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mains of Taymouth Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Having stayed in many self catering properties throughout Scotland, I have to say this was by far the best! Having looked at the photos on their website and read reviews, we decided to give it a go. WOW!!! SO glad we did!! Everything in the whole place was just 5*. Our house, called Mains Park Court, had 5 ensuite bedrooms, gorgeous kitchen with all mod cons, pool table, great wee mezzanine where the kids went to play games (or me to read a book in peace) huge garden with sauna & hot tub!! The whole experience at Mains of Taymouth was just memorable. We celebrated my husbands 50th birthday whilst there and the reception staff organised a cake & a huge bunch of balloons!! We all played golf on their golf course, took the kids riding up at the stables and ate in the restaurant who, by the way, do take-away food, great for a night off he cooking! Just the most perfect family holiday EVER! We will be back and will be telling our friends. Thanks to all the friendly and helpful staff for making this one of our best family holiday ever xx

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sc00tb00t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (523)
There are newer reviews for Mains of Taymouth Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 523 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2013

Sumptuous properties: beautifully equipped, very comfortable. Really helpful staff, great restaurant, bar and shop on site, all of which make self-catering a doddle. Loch Tay and the surrounding area are fabulous.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank DKOx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTaymouth, General Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay at Mains of Taymouth and made full use of the on site facilities. Many thanks for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

A great place for our first break with young (first) baby. The Maxwells are very well kitted out, very warm and great kitchen/bathrooms. The mild weather meant that they were probably too hot, but a few open windows helped.
V helpful booking team and reception onsite. Mid-week December meant that everything was very quiet - a couple of the pubs we wanted to lunch at were also closed (Fortingall, Logierait).
Wifi coverage ropey and TV setup not brilliant, but you don't come to Kenmore for these things!
One other thing to note for new parents was that the 1 bedroomed Maxwells are effectively open plan, so baby was put in the bathroom for some quiet in the evening before we went to bed! Good meal and beer at the Courtyard restaurant too, as well as an excellent deli/shop

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillLindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTaymouth, General Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Mains of Taymouth, we’re so glad you enjoyed it despite a couple of technical hiccups. The weather has been rather changeable and thanks to high insulation The Maxwells are quite cosy in the Winter months. Our on site Restaurant is open all year (well 363 days), thanks for giving it a mention as well as the shop.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My wife and I recently spent five nights in the Bothy. The venue was lovely, clean and warm with log fire. The Hot-Tub was magnificent, absolutely fantastic when its cold outside and snowing !, and lovely and warm in the tub. This experience alone has convinced me to consider a Hot-Tub myself.

Reception and Restaurant staff could not have been more friendly, in particular Nicki.

Coupled with a beautiful relaxing location, it could not have been better.

Will definately consider it for our 1st Anniversary .

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimM634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTaymouth, General Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Lovely comments from a lovely couple, thank you! It was our pleasure to welcome you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Booked in here for a break with the family and our lovely two labs. Stayed in one of the Bruadairs. I've stayed in quite a few self catering houses as we find it a great way to spend time together and must be said this house was by far the best in every way! Under floor heating, lovely bathrooms, comfy beds, dream kitchen lots space to socialise and not to forget the hot tub. The golf course was frosted over so unfortunately we could not play however the first tee was veey close and we had a walk over the course which looked nice. The countryside around Mains of Taymouth is great for walking away from roads and the dogs and kids had a blast. We use the Courtyad -the local restaurant and nice atmsphere and very good food and the kids and dogs were made to feel welcome unlike Taymouth marina it has to be said. A minor maintenance issue was dealt with promptly and the reception staff were delightful. We will use the returning guest duscount that was kindly offered.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank njosmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTaymouth, General Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Wow, what a fantastic review, thank you. Pity about the golf, perhaps you will have better luck should you visit us again. Thanks also for kind comments concerning The Courtyard Bar & Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Forget this place if you have a well-behaved dog and you fancy an afternoon stroll without it. You can't. Pets cannot be left on their own at any time... unless it's in the boot of your car. That's the response I got from Robin Menzies, the proprietor of Mains Of Taymouth. Customer service is another thing you'll have to go in search of... we certainly didn't get anything resembling good customer service in the week we stayed here. Not to mention that there's no truth in the marketing spiel about offering Free Wi-Fi - truth is, they struggle to get any signal there and have done for months (if not years) - so forget about it if you need to stay in touch with the office. Oh, and don't bother with the onsite restaurant either... they offer takeaway service but can't actually live up to that promise if they're busy - which is generally why you would want a takeaway anyway! The abrupt, impersonal response to any takeaway request leaves you in no doubt that Mains of Taymouth seriously fails to live up to anything like it's 'luxurious' billing - in fact, the much nicer Kenmore Hotel 100 yards away over the bridge is a far better experience altogether, so go there instead! They welcome pets, give them treats, offer great food and excellent customer service... everything our Mains of Taymouth's expensive mistake isn't... If you've booked thinking you're in for a relaxed and pampered retreat - forget it. Cancel while you still can and go somewhere else.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank The_Space_Between
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTaymouth, Owner at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Mains of Taymouth Country Estate is a mecca for dogs!! We are surrounded by magnificent walks amongst lovely scenery. Our staff are helpful and conscientious (as you can see in our many other reports) and we are all dog lovers. It is a shame that Mr ........ and his 2 retired greyhounds that need to be constantly tethered did not appreciate our countryside or that we ask for dogs not to be left unattended in our properties. Be warned other holiday home owners – Mr ............. has a selective memory, of course we never once suggested he put his dogs in the boot of his car. He was rude to me and our staff and threatening with regards to our reputation. And no he did not get a refund. On a plus note he did state in his customer feedback that we are” high standard and a perfect location peaceful, remote and surrounded by the best views Scotland has to offer.” That is very rewarding to us.
We have a takeaway menu for the Courtyard that allows you to enjoy the good food in the comfort of your holiday home. Mr ............ arrived late on a very busy Saturday night without warning and it is regrettable that we let him down on this occasion. We make every effort to satisfy our customers and we will make sure not to allow this to happen again. The Courtyard has good wifi, well behaved dogs are welcomed and it is a very pleasant atmosphere. Wifi is so important and we are making constant improvements to its coverage to increase the spread of hot spots throughout the estate and a satellite system is being installed to give faster speeds as the telephone lines in our area are rural to say the least.
Whether you are coming to stay with your 4 legged friend or not Kenmore is a fantastic destination and it is unfortunate that on this occasion we did not live up to our guests expectations.
Robin Menzies
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

A great setting and a beautiful property. Lovely views from the windows and from the grounds. Very quiet site with no noise from neighbours. Well stocked kitchen with evertything you could need. Beds were very comfortable with gorgeous bedding. All the fixtures and fitting were of a high standard - the wooden floors were especially nice. The flat was decorated in a unique style with nice touches such as mirrors and tables decorated with natural wood. The flat was very clean and spacious and the bathrooms were great. I would highly recommend for couples and families. Disability friendly. Didn't see much of the staff but what contact we did have was friendly and useful both before the trip (by email) and on the day. All in all a very restful and enjoyable experience and we very much wished that we could have stayed longer. Thanks so much to everyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you for a great review following your recent short stay in The Gallops apartments and pleased it suited all party memebers. Thank you also for the kind comments concerning our staff. Perhaps we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmore
0.3 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
905 reviews
5.6 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,611 reviews
9.0 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,837 reviews
12.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,998 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fortingall Hotel
Fortingall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fortingall
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mains of Taymouth Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mains of Taymouth Cottages

Address: Taymouth Taymouth Mains of Taymouth Country Estate & Golf Course, Kenmore PH15 2HN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Kenmore
Price Range: $242 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mains of Taymouth Cottages 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 120 acre private country estate set in magnificent Highland Perthshire with stunning self catering properties sleeping from 2 to 12, many with hot tubs, saunas and games rooms, all at either a high 4* or 5* STB standard. Our excellent onsite facilities include our own golf course, riding stables, delicatessen & gift shop and cafe bar & restaurant all within walking distance from each property. Stunning views, tourist attractions & much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Mains of Taymouth Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mains Of Taymouth Cottages Hotel Kenmore
Mains Of Taymouth Cottages Kenmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing