We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mains of Taymouth Cottages
Nearby Hotels
Kenmore Hotel(Kenmore)(Great Value!)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Kenmore Club by Diamond Resorts(Kenmore)(Great Value!)
$145
$76
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Fortingall Hotel(Fortingall)
$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Weem Inn(Aberfeldy)
$173
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breadalbane Arms(Aberfeldy)
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Moness Resort(Aberfeldy)(Great Value!)
$80
$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Travelodge Perth A9(Perth)(Great Value!)
$41
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Ardeonaig Hotel(Ardeonaig)
$113
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Dunalastair Hotel Suites(Kinloch Rannoch)
$164
$158
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel(Kinloch Rannoch)(Great Value!)
$156
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (562)
Filter reviews
562 results
Traveler rating
494
47
12
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
494
47
12
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourtyard restaurantcastle gardenshot tubloch taybell towerhole golf coursekenmore hotelhigh standarddeli shopsmiddy cottagefantastic accommodationgames roomwhite water raftingevery utensilpony trekkingonsite restaurantfirst class
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
388 - 393 of 562 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My Husband and I stayed at the Mains of Taymouth Estate for our Honeymoon. We had the cottage called The Bothy and weren't disappointed. The staff were very friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for you. The interior of the cottage was to a high standard apart from a few bits of wear and tear. The hot tub was fantastic and it was a relaxing break, we would recommend and are already thinking of returning next year. The cottage shop was lovely for a little treat too and the restaurant was also relaxing but not too friendly...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your Honeymoonat The Bothy. Thank you also for comments in respect of the property and the restaurant which have been noted. We would love to welcome you back on your first anniversary and hope we will have the opportunity to do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We have stayed at Mains of Taymouth on a few occasions now and absolutely love going back. What an amazing area of Scotland this is and to find such high quality accommodation in this wonderful little haven is fantastic. The quality of the lodges is definitely 5* and the décor really befitting of the area - leather, natural wood and tweed curtains. We have stayed both in the Bell Tower and at no 6 the Maxwells - both different types of accommodation with the Bell Tower being part of the original estate therefore stone built and with a wood burning fire whereas the Maxwells is a new build clad in a wonderful wood which will weather with time. Both accommodations were spotlessly clean and the furniture and fittings were all good quality and in good repair. On arrival (usually in the evenings), the houses were lit up and warm which is so welcoming
The Staff at reception and in the Courtyard are always so friendly and attentive - nothing seems to be a problem for them.
We would definitely recommend this place to anyone and we are so looking forward to our trip up for Hogmany and the gala dinner.

Room Tip: The position of 6 the Maxwells was good as there was a fairly open aspect in front of you.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuealNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Lovely to read your reviews of both Bell Tower and The Maxwells Villas, it can be difficult to choose! Thank you also for the kind comments concerning our staff who take pleasure in ensuring our guests have an enjoyable stay. We look forward to seeing you again at Hogmanay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This time we stayed at Mains Park Court, and it was excellent.
It is very spacious and the bedrooms are all lovely. The kitchen was large and well laid out.
The lounge was easily big enough for all of us, and the pool table came in handy.
The wifi was unfortunately pretty much non existent (which isn't too awful if you're looking to get away from things).
The hot-tub was (as always) well used and great fun. This one had a sauna too!
A special mention for Nicki though. She organised a beautiful cake for the girls whose birthday it was, and helium ballons, and had them laid out in the lodge when we arrived - so helpful, and soooo friendly when sorting things.

Room Tip: We've tried Inchadney, Easter Bruadair and Mains Park Court and loved all of them
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Delighted to hear you had a wonderful time while staying at Mains Park Court and made full use of the amenities. Thank you for your kind comments which we've passed to Nicki who is always happy to help our guests make the most of their stay. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was our second visit to Mains of Taymouth having had a most enjoyable holiday last year (2012). The weather was not as kind to us this year, however it did not detract from the fabulous venue.
With 3 generations of family (6 adults, 3 children) staying at Easter Bruadair, the accomodation was excellent, with 5 bedrooms a large lounge/dining area and a beautifully appointed kitchen. The games room, with pool table, was well used, however the Hot tub was the most popular and well used facility of all.
You will not find this a cheap venue but then again this is no ordinary house, this is luxury 5 star accomodation.
The onsite store and restaurant/bar are excellent facilities with friendly staff and lovely food whether eating at the restaurant or buying from the store.
For golfers there is an enjoyable and not too challenging golf course. Ideal as a resort course for the experienced or the less experienced golfer.
You don't have to drive out to experience stunning scenery. It is there onsite with local walks offering wonderful scenery.
We enjoyed it so much that we are looking forward to seeing in the New Year at Mains when the family will be returning.
I can not recommend this place highly enough. It is such a peaceful and relaxing place to holiday I hope to return on many more occasions.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you for a fabulous review of Easter Bruadair, the facilities at Mains of Taymouth and Kenmore itself. We like to think its rather special too and hope you will have an equally enjoyable stay at New Year. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had booked for a 2 night stay but extended it by another night when we saw the facilities. We were at Maxwells and had the most relaxing break despite the weather. Lovely walks in and around Kenmore, good food and very friendly staff. Well resourced shop on site too. The scenery was spectacular and we used it as a base to go and see a couple of shows in the Perthhire Amber festival. We plan to return next year for a longer break.
Our only negative comment apart from the previously mentioned wifi is the lack of privacy when you open the curtains with the accomodation opposite. It did not ruin our family weekend though

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyceKirkclady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Many thanks for the comprehensive review of your visit to Mains of Taymouth. We're pleased you enjoyed The Maxwells Villas as well as the restaurant and on site shop, and plan to return next year. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews