We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mains of Taymouth Cottages
Nearby Hotels
The Kenmore Club by Diamond Resorts(Kenmore)(Great Value!)
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kenmore Hotel(Kenmore)(Great Value!)
$139
$124
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fortingall Hotel(Fortingall)
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Weem Inn(Aberfeldy)
$165
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breadalbane Arms(Aberfeldy)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Moness Resort(Aberfeldy)(Great Value!)
$139
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ardeonaig Hotel(Ardeonaig)
$107
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Dunalastair Hotel Suites(Kinloch Rannoch)
$167
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (566)
Filter reviews
567 results
Traveler rating
498
47
13
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
498
47
13
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourtyard restaurantcastle gardenshot tubloch taybell towerhole golf coursekenmore hotelhigh standarddeli shopsmiddy cottagefantastic accommodationgames roomwhite water raftingevery utensilpony trekkingonsite restaurantfirst class
Filter
Updating list...
397 - 402 of 567 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had booked for a 2 night stay but extended it by another night when we saw the facilities. We were at Maxwells and had the most relaxing break despite the weather. Lovely walks in and around Kenmore, good food and very friendly staff. Well resourced shop on site too. The scenery was spectacular and we used it as a base to go and see a couple of shows in the Perthhire Amber festival. We plan to return next year for a longer break.
Our only negative comment apart from the previously mentioned wifi is the lack of privacy when you open the curtains with the accomodation opposite. It did not ruin our family weekend though

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyceKirkclady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Many thanks for the comprehensive review of your visit to Mains of Taymouth. We're pleased you enjoyed The Maxwells Villas as well as the restaurant and on site shop, and plan to return next year. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Just spent 2 nights in one of The Maxwell's. Perfect for two for a short break, didn't have to bring anything with us. Good golf, excellent massage in your own surroundings and least 4 eating and drinking establishments within no more than a 10 minute walk all good in different ways. Most comfy beds ever, wish it had been longer. Scenery wonderful at this time of year but can imagine the estate comes into it's own in the sunshine. Will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraH63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent experience of The Maxwells Villas on TripAdvisor. The Autumn colours were wonderful, we're fortunate to be in a part of Scotland that has great scenery no matter the season. Hope to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This was our second visit to mains of Taymouth, staying in the Rivald 3 bedroom, the rooms were very nice the cottage was overall very good. This place is all about location location location so much o do if you like walking, cycling fishing and scenery, It's just a beautiful part of Scotland, you will really will enjoy the experience no matter what the weather, the courtyard restaurant is nice or you can try the kenmore hotel across the road. There is free WiFi in the bar area. there is supposed to be park wifi i did ask them the last time to fix this, it still is useless even standing net to the transmission pole in the rain with a brolly still could not get connected, come of guys get this simple thing sorted. This lets you down

This is a 5 star place to stay and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you for the great review of Rivard and for highlighting the many things to see and do in the area. Thank you also for the comments in respect of wi-fi which have been passed to our provider for attention. We hope this will not deter you from visiting us for a third time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed in Calm Waters at Mains of Taymouth for 4 nights for a friends wedding weekend. The lodge was beautiful, perfect condition, all bedrooms were a great size , kitchen was excellent with everything you could ever need! Locations for Kenmore brilliant . The surrounding area really was stunning , as a first time visitor to Perthshire I was very impressed!
We also ate in the courtyard restaurant for breakfasts and one evening, service excellent and very accommodating of children also excellent changing facilities.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luu28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Brilliant review, glad the entire family enjoyed Calm Waters as well as The Courtyard Restaurant. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is our fifth visit staying in Castle Gardens, the Gallops and this time, Maxwells. Kenmore works for us as it is less than two hours drive, has shop, bar and restaurant and we use the stables, golf and boating on the loch. The overall standard is high and we feel at home. A word of warning though, as we discovered there is no insurance for breakages. When the accoutrements are Denby and AEG etc, and there are glass table tops, this can be expensive, in our case £120. This had to be paid before departure as it seems a previous guest had left and failed to pay up - the implication being that I might do the same! Even after four earlier visits? If you have children remember to take plastic cups and plates in case of breakages.
They have taken to warning that the wi if is weak but that's a poor response when like us who need to be in touch, you are standing under a brolly in the rain with an iPad. The day is surely upon us when guaranteed wi if is like the en suit bathroom and the colour telly - a necessity to get four star rating.
The kiddies swing area beside the courtyard needs an update.
Don't let me out you off though. This is an attractive and relaxing place with some style in a beautiful part of Scotland. We plan to return. If they'll have us!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay in the 5 star Maxwells Villas.  Unfortunately accidental breakages do happen from time to time and the Denby crockery is lovely but pricey! Warning casserole dishes explode when used for cooking on the hob as Nicki appreciated whist helping you clear up the carnage. (we never charge for glasses or small items and major breakages/damage is well covered by insurance).  We’re extremely sorry that, as an important regular client was asked to you pay prior to departure.   Please accept our sincere apologies if you felt unduly harassed.  Wi-fi remains a priority as far as we are concerned as we strive to improve the signal to all accommodations.  However, it is also available free of charge in The Courtyard Bar & Restaurant and guests are also welcome to access wi-fi from the Reception area although complete coverage is our aim.   We welcome candid feedback and, despite these issues, are glad you had an enjoyable stay and really appreciate you continue to encourage others to visit. Thank you and we look forward to you returning in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews