We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mains of Taymouth Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed at Loch View from 5th - 9th Aug as a party of 6 including 2 grandchildren. The service from start to finish was outstanding. Thanks to Julie ( and being 35 minutes away ) we were able to view prior to booking. Everything about the facilities is 1st class. Daughter- in -law and grandaughter went horse riding on Wed, which they both enjoyed very much.. Dined in the courtyard one evening ,which was excellent. Everyone in the Kenmore area greets you with a smile ,and seem genuinely pleased you are having a good time. Great resort ,great area ,and very friendly staff all help to make this a worthwhile place to stay ,and a return to destination. Luckily ,we also had some fantastic weather ( that always helps ) to enjoy the hot tub.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbogan6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCourtyardManager, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a lovely review. We're delighted the entire family enjoyed the facilities, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 537 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have just returned from our second stay at the exceptional Mains of Taymouth. The location is stunning and the accommodation fabulous, definitely worthy of its five stars. Previously we stayed at the Gallops, but this time we chose Maxwells. We were not disappointed with either as they are both luxurious, stylish and comfortable and their situation, next to the golf course yet within a few minutes walk of the bar/shop/restaurant, is perfect. The shop even lures me (not my favourite activity but my husband, who loves cooking and food in general, could have remained there happily for hours had we not planned our days!!). As we were celebrating our wedding anniversary, we decided to eat at the on-site restaurant where we enjoyed a beautifully-cooked meal, delightful ambience and friendly service - a lovely memory. Service with a genuine smile was encountered at all times. We explored the area and revisited favourite spots such as Killin and the Falls of Dochart (and, of course, a celebratory drink in the tiny traditional pub attached to the hotel overlooking the falls). Golf enthusiasts may be interested to play at Killin, beautiful views. We took a local walk to the Falls of Acharn and I spent a few hours indulging my passion for photography with a simple walk from the villa, across the bridge, through the village and to the loch where the ever-changing light awarded me some photos to brighten up the long, winter nights ahead. Although I have visited the area since a child, I had never travelled through Glen Lyon. If you visit, make this your priority - you will not be disappointed. My husband and I have travelled to four continents and almost forty countries, Scotland being our favourite, yet we both agreed that this was one of the loveliest drives we had ever done. 'We have seen higher mountains, but none so close to heaven' - a quote from a Canadian visitor to Perthshire and absolutely the right sentiment for this scenic place. Drinking an enormous hot chocolate at the infamous tea shop en route added to the perfection of the experience, even the sun shone (most of the week) to enhance an already beautiful view. I could continue and talk about Aberfeldy, the Kenmore Hotel and other walks but there are other reviews to read which will, I'm certain, encourage you to visit as soon as an opportunity arrives. Take it!

Room Tip: Maxwells has an upstairs plus a patio whereas the Gallops (downstairs) has an undercover patio - gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan_jones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCourtyardManager, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you very much for an exceptional review! I don't think we can add to it in any way except to say we're rather honoured to have lived up to the expectations of incredibly well seasoned travellers. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I have just come back from Kenmore having stayed at Mains of Taymouth Country Estate. Could not fault the accommodation or the facilities. We went there for a cycling break and it was an ideal base for us. Weather wise we had it all but regardless of what the day was like we found plenty to do and see. Will be booking again for next year. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: All of the accommodation is in a prime location and in first class condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCourtyardManager, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thanks for the terrific feedback, glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have been regular visitors to the cottages, having stayed in the Gallops x 2 archway cottage, Calm Waters, skibo and Boudairs and every time the standard and quality was the same 5 star. We. Love the peace and tranquility, the proximity of the golf, the variety and quality of local restaurants within walking distance of the cottages and the friendliness of the staff. When we arrived for a weeks stay with several guests coming and going as the week progressed our dishwasher packed in but the staff bent over backward to make the repair happen quickly despite service teams promising at least a week before it could be done. Realising my panic the manager himself came to fix it. Taymouth is a stunning getaway the location and scenery just awesome. The hot UBS are a much loved addition by our kids and the grounds are safe for little grandchildren to explore and chase ducks. Ken more hotel has a new chef and food is excellent they often provide functions although taymouth itself is developing their own function suite. Each time we go we walk to Taymouth Castle hoping its made some progress toward its potential but that is a way off yet by the looks of it although much to see in kenmore itself nearby aberfeldy has a cinema now ( I went to it 40 years ago to see the jungle book!) and it's starting to provide some nice restaurants there. We love it hope you do too.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a high spec if you want they will join the twin beds to a massive queer size every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ghirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCourtyardManager, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Well, what can we say but a massive THANK YOU for the most amazing review, we really appreciate your support. The local cinema is proving popular too, thanks for the mention. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Had a wonderful week in this superb house. Excellent layout, all wonderful on suite rooms. Really wanted to try out wood burning fire but the weather was too hot.Hot tub wonderful. Great area to keep us all entertained. Only one negative - No sun loungers available but we know the weather we had in July was exceptional so probably they are not needed normally.

Room Tip: This was a self catering house and was very well appointed next to the golf course with only one hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank MargareteMrsH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCourtyardManager, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Wonderful review, thank you, glad you enjoyed your stay in Easter Bruadair. As for the sun loungers, perhaps that would be tempting fate...... : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My family stayed in Maxwell 6, and were pleasantly surprised at how comfortable and well outfitted the unit was. It felt as though we were in a brand new townhouse, with all of the amenities at home. Everything was pristine.

The store at the Mains was fantastic, with great gourmet food and clever gifts. The restaurant on site was also very good. When we return to Scotland, we will absolutely go back to the Mains of Taymouth.

Room Tip: I seriously doubt there is a bad unit on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCourtyardManager, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you for posting a wonderful review, very pleased you enjoyed your stay in The Maxwells as well as the Shop & Deli which has some interesting food and quirky gifts. We do hope you manage to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Excellent accomodation, very warm welcome and the scenery was fantastic. The whole family had a great time. Thank you to all at The Mains of Taymouth.
We hired a boat at the local boating centre and spent a beautiful day on Loch Tay.
The whole experience was very relaxing, thankyou.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCourtyardManager, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Lovely review, thank you so much. Pleased the whole family had a great time and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmore
0.3 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
928 reviews
5.6 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,798 reviews
10.9 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
445 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kenmore Club
The Kenmore Club
#1 of 2 in Kenmore
382 reviews
11.5 mi away
Loch Tay Highland Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mains of Taymouth Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mains of Taymouth Cottages

Address: Taymouth Taymouth Mains of Taymouth Country Estate & Golf Course, Kenmore PH15 2HN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Kenmore
Price Range: $252 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mains of Taymouth Cottages 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BOOK DIRECT FOR BEST DEAL We are a 120 acre private country estate set in magnificent Highland Perthshire with stunning self catering properties sleeping from 2 to 12, many with hot tubs, saunas and games rooms, pet friendly, all at either a high 4* or 5* STB standard. Our excellent onsite facilities include our own golf course, riding stables, delicatessen & gift shop and cafe bar & restaurant all within walking distance from each property. Stunning views, tourist attractions & much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Mains of Taymouth Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mains Of Taymouth Cottages Hotel Kenmore
Mains Of Taymouth Cottages Kenmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing