We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - Cannot fault it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mains of Taymouth Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We booked to stay at the Mains of Taymouth on the recommendation by friends. We were not disappointed. We staying in the Gallops and it was lovely - warm, clean, comfortable and fully equiped with a lovely view of the golf course and stables, the whole family was impressed.
The reception staff were very welcoming and full of information and were happy to chat with us. The restaurant, shop and stables were also fantastic - staff, service and value for money will guarantee a return visit to all of them. We are not golfers so didn't try this but would be surprised if the standard was not kept as high.
Kenmore itself is very beautiful and this is a great base for visiting the area, there is lots to do within a short drive (or walk!).
Cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nudge25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for a great review - and also to your friends for their recommendation.
We agree there's lots to see and do over and above golf and look forward to your return visit. Remember to call us direct as you now qualify for our return guest discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 546 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

Just returned form a lovely weekend break at the Mains of Taymouth with my family. We stayed in the Castle Gardens (Schialleion) excuse spelling! Wonderful House. Hot tub... just great..location exceptional. My daughter and i also treated ourselves to a massage and manucure in our holiday home with Liz the beautician which was just lovely, whilst he boys went clay pidgeon shooting. This is our 5th visit to the mains, we have also stayed in Loch view x 2 and the stables x 2. All properties we have stayed in are just wonderful. This is one of my favourite places to visit. There is so much to see and do if you want it or alternatively you can do very little and just relax in a very beautiful part of Scotland. Cant wait to return.. hopefully next year with some friends. My phone wallpaper is set with a picture of Loch Tay taken from the bridge on a previous visit, thats how much i love it, Wish i was still there

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience of Mains of Taymouth, both past and present, on Trip Advisor. The scenery is indeed amazing. Hope to see you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Have just spent an idyllic few days at Mains of Taymouth! Accommodation (Maxwell Villas) was first class, with high spec fixtures and furnishings. Rooms were spacious, with both bedrooms en-suite, contemporary and very clean. Loved the underfloor heating! Villa was exceptionally well equipped and the free Wi-fi was a bonus. Fantastic, tranquil location surrounded by stunning scenery.
Dined at on site Courtyard Restaurant and Bar and enjoyed our meal where staff were friendly and efficient.Thanks also for complimentary bottle of wine!
Made good use of golf course - 9 hole course suitable for players of all standards, including children. Riding stables provide pony trekking for all abilities. I thoroughly enjoyed this activity with placid horses and knowledgeable, pleasant staff .
Overall a great holiday and will most definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeDee49_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for such a fantastic review, we shall be sure to pass your positive comments to the team and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just home from a family holiday break at Mains of Taymouth staying in the Maxwells. First impressions were pleasing. The underfloor heating was superb. Kitchen well furnished with everything you could possibly need. Both bedrooms en-suite and Highland Aromatic toiletries a nice touch. All T.V's worked without problem and although we could not get Wi-fi in the house we could easily log on in the Courtyard (who wants to be on the net on holiday anyway?) The house was spotless and nicely furnished. There was some final internal work being carried out in the building next to us but we were never disturbed by this. All the staff we spoke to were friendly and helpful and aswered any queries we had. Also had two great days hacking out at the Stables with very friendly staff and well behaved horses and ponies. Thank you Katy and Jack, you work hard to give customers what they want. Courtyard Bar and Brasserie did seam to be under pressure at times to accomdate all the diners, but staff were always pleasant and quick to rectify any issues. Will definately be returning within the year!! Lots of cycle routes and the walk upto Black Rock Viewpoint is well worth it for the view over the Loch. We took our dog with us (Dougal) and he thought it was the best holiday he's ever had. Plenty of storage space and great utility room with washer/dryer, iron, hoover and mop etc and yet another toilet. On checking out the kids were delighted to recieve a bar of tablet which kept them quiet for all of five minutes! Great central location, lovely tranquil outlook. Also staff in the gift shop were pleasant and helpful too.

Room Tip: If you like the sunshine then Maxwells1 to 4 get more sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesleyC333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for a super review we're delighted to hear the entire family, including Dougal, enjoyed their stay. We'll be sure to pass your comments to our team. Remember to call Reservations direct in order to benefit from our return guest discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My partner actually wrote the previous review and after reading the response to the review from Mains of Taymouth I was particuarly annoyed. There were a number of reasons for writing that review their customer service is terrible and did not seem to be very helpful, the attitude of the lady at reception left a lot to be desired. We did not dispute that it is a lovely location and the accomodation was lovely but after paying way over £1000 for the weekend we expected everything to be clean and in working order which it was not. We did not have any access to the 16 digital channels that they stated (I understand this may not be a a big deal to some but we paid for the full package) but that isn't even true, hot tubs are never cleaned, filled up or checked during your stay, at piperdam where the accommodation may be slightly less luxurious come and service your hot tub every single morning!. it Just seemed there was one thing after another, they did not take our complaints seriously at all . If you look at all the reviews the ones where people have been dissatisfied they actually have not apologised or recognised the fact they are in the wrong, all they do is tell you how wonderful the place is. Trust me Customer service is really lacking.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lilad848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for your response, please see feedback to the original review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We, from Glasgow, Bristol & Dublin enjoyed a superb weekend at Crannog Lodge. The accommodation was excellent and had everything we wanted.
The hot-tub was a great favourite!
We also loved the location andon-site facilities.
We hope to return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alastair1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

It would be great to welcome you back, thank you for a wonderful 5 star review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

My husband and three month old baby stayed in "The Bothy' for two nights. They don't normally allow short lets, but did in this case as there was a break in between two week long lets. The lady who booked us in was lovely and everything was done with minimal fuss. The cottage had everything we needed for our stay including a cot for the baby. The people at reception who met us were lovely and I would have had no hesitation approaching them with any issues. As it turned out, there weren't any. Plenty of parking outside and a very short walk to the Kenmore Hotel for lunch one day was very pleasant. We didn't make use of the hot-tub as both of us had colds and there was snow on the ground. One point maybe worth noting was that while the hot-tub was private (wooden screens surrounding it), it was not under cover. I sometimes wonder why in these lodges hot-tubs aren't covered, as often the weather prevents use? Only a minor point however. Thanks Mains of Taymouth.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank law1183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Many thanks for your review and the lovely comments, great to hear you had an enjoyable stay despite the colds!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmore
0.3 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
931 reviews
5.6 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,842 reviews
10.9 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Fortingall Hotel
Fortingall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fortingall
266 reviews
9 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
445 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kenmore Club
The Kenmore Club
#1 of 2 in Kenmore
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mains of Taymouth Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mains of Taymouth Cottages

Address: Taymouth Taymouth Mains of Taymouth Country Estate & Golf Course, Kenmore PH15 2HN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Kenmore
Price Range: $264 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mains of Taymouth Cottages 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BOOK DIRECT FOR BEST DEAL We are a 120 acre private country estate set in magnificent Highland Perthshire with stunning self catering properties sleeping from 2 to 12, many with hot tubs, saunas and games rooms, pet friendly, all at either a high 4* or 5* STB standard. Our excellent onsite facilities include our own golf course, riding stables, delicatessen & gift shop and cafe bar & restaurant all within walking distance from each property. Stunning views, tourist attractions & much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Mains of Taymouth Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mains Of Taymouth Cottages Hotel Kenmore
Mains Of Taymouth Cottages Kenmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing