We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mains of Taymouth Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First Class!!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Discovered Mains of Taymouth online and decided to use as our annuak family winter getaway! Certainly still had wintery weather with snow covering the ground all weekend but it made the Hot Tub all the more enjoyable!!
Accomodation well appointed and six bed cottage was ample room for 5 adults and 2 little ones! All baby facilites were set up in cottage as previously arranged and couldn't fault the staff for there efforts. Very comfy beds and cottage well supplied with all we needed in the kitchen etc.
Great location adjacent to Loch Tay and 5 mins walk into Kenmore. Lots to see and do in the surrounding area. (Proved good value for money with a 3 nights for price of 2 March offer!!)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nodroge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for your great review. Very pleased to hear all family members enjoyed their stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    43
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
249
124
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We picked this place as a family getaway to celebrate a joint 30th and 70th birthday, as you can imagine the ages of the party involved were mixed. On arrival, the place looked good, poor welcome from staff though. When we found our accommodation a guy popped his head in the door and said 2 of the taps in the bedrooms don't work and the heating is broke in the top bedroom. No attempt was made to fix it, merely letting us know. After having to pay for wifi, every time someone was using it you'd just get thrown off and had to keep logging back in every 5-10 minutes. Being offered a full sky package was a major factor in booking this place, as we planned to be in for 4 days but when we tried to turn it on, the sky didn't work, we reported this problem every day we were there however nothing got done about it and we were made to feel like we were bothering the staff! Paying well over £1000 the last thing I wanted to do was spend each morning complaining about the mounting list of problems this place presented. The 'hot' tub was a great place to keep the beers chilled as it was about -10 and no one came to resurrect this or clean it or top it up... Fairly bog standard procedure. We had bought a lot of fresh meat as there was a barbecue and this was a planned meal, surprise surprise the BBQ didn't work, no gas was in it, back down to complain again. I genunley felt ripped off and so annoyed at this much anticipated break all for it to be problem after problem. To top it off on the way out I decided to go back in to voice my final disappointment in the overall experience only to be greeted by the most arrogant, cheeky and unapologetic person I have ever met. PLEASE DO NOT STAY HERE!!!! Any problems will not be resolved!!! Also I garuntee they delete this review to try and maintain their 'perfect' (far from!!!!) appearance.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Smartpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We always welcome customer feedback and are sorry we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion. This particular property is very popular with our guests and receives excellent reviews, as does our customer care.
The Sky television system required repair by their own engineers who unfortunately could not attend during your stay. We understand our separate 16 channel digital TV system remained fully operational throughout.
We pride ourselves on the high standard of cleanliness and hygiene in all our properties and this includes the hot tubs which without fail are thoroughly cleaned, sterilised and re-filled prior to each arrival.
With regard to wi fi we have taken on board customer comments and are pleased to advise wi fi is now available free of charge in all cottage properties as well as the Courtyard Restaurant & Bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We just came back from a 5 night stay here. We booked and stayed in Rivard initially, a riverside mews house with 4* visit Scotland rating. We took the dog and loved the fact that it was dog friendly.
Check in was fab - and our dog got a treat bone and some poop bags! Furnishings and facilities were A1. The bed was super comfy and there was stereo, TV, DVD, baby gates for our woofer, washing machine, dish washer etc and a welcome pack with Kenmore Bakery shortbread with tea and coffee. The living room and master are on first floor for the view of the lochthrough the trees. (slight minus, the stairs with gaps which our dog couldnt manage) We were a bit dismayed by the sight of a house being renovated right in front of our windows, scaffolding, diggers and JCB's blocking our view. And they fired up at 7.30am waking us from our slumber. We reported it, and were immediately moved. Sadly the second property (Tay View) wasnt a patch on the first and so we went to speak to the ladies in Reception.
They saved the day as we were ready to pack up and go home by that point having wasted a morning packing up and moving property already. We were moved to Mains Park Court which was absolutely amazing. Log burner, heated floor, 4 en suite bedrooms and a single with it's own bathroom, granite topped kitchen, sauna and hot tub. The master en suite upstairs was massive, but the bed wasnt too comfy and I had to put a couple of throws under my side to stop my hips aching but it did the job!
We had a couple of problems there too though, the heating, hot water and DVD werent working but staff saved the day again and had it all fixed within the day before we got back from a good walk.
The courtyard restaurant was dog friendly and fab too - very lovely service and food was nice but a bit overpriced for the quality. Walks along the river and to the beach in Kenmore were lovely and not even marred by some wet weather part way through the week.
Sadly, most attractions locally were shut due to the time of year - we couldnt see Castle Menzies or the Crannog Centre and the Folklore Centre at Killin the other end of the loch was also shut.
We had a fab lunch at the Kenmore Hotel and would have liked to return for dinner but ran out of time.
A further lunch at the Ardonaig Hotel along the loch is also worth a visit. Gorgeous food, but a bit pricey and £29 for sandwiches, soup and drinks for 2.
All in all we had an amazingly relaxing break. Can recommend the location and accommodation and staff highly.
Every employee we came into contact with went above and beyond to be lovely and exceptionally helpful. The staff saved the day!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northerntraveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed in Mains Park Court over Christmas. There were 2 families so 4 adults and 5 children, and a dog. We had a fabulous time. The cottage was warm and clean and there was plenty of space for us all (and the obscene mountain of children's presents and toys!), without getting under each others feet.
The mezzanine level was great, and the children spent much time there playing out of the adults way - a win win all round!
We enjoyed sitting in the hot tub at night...some frosty evenings made for a quick dash back to the cottage after! The sauna chalet was an added bonus.
There is so much to do around the area, the scenery is spectacular. We enjoyed many picturesque walks and the food and atmosphere in the on-site Courtyard was great.
To top it all off we even had some snow - a fantastic Christmas break and we were sorry to leave. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Mains Park Court an excellent option for families - comfortably fitted in 2 families (4 adults and 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

From driving over the bridge over the misty loch the scene was picture perfect for the start of our honeymoon after collecting our keys from the courtyard for the bell tower ( lovely pleasant staff ) we had arrived in what we can only describe as a perfect honeymoon cottage with a definite wow factor and the staff had left us a lovely bottle of champagne. Now the boring stuff great well equipped kitchen sitting room was great all open plan then u take to the stairs a bathroom to die for and a bedroom to suit yeah u have to duck to enter bedroom but guess what your in a cottage.great walks food in courtyard lovely.staff couldn't do enough for you can't wait to come back bringing our parents next time love the place many thank for a wonderful honeymoon Paul and kirsten

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulnkirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, UK
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This was I think our 7th or 8th visit to MoT and it remains a fantastic place to come to and well worth the money with excellent quality accommodation. The wifi having been sorted out is great but I would grumble a little bit about the complicated login procedure - to enter a passcode, pincode, first name, surname, email address and 'phone number on first registration is fine but to have to enter it every time you log on (especially when you have multiple devices and multiple people seeking to use the connection) is a pain in the neck. That said, the provision of strong wifi after years of it being poor or non-accessible, can only be a good thing. Another minor niggle was that there only seemed to be one chopping board provided and for a house that size with the kitchen facilities it has, I would have expected more. Thinking beyond the accommodation itself, the Courtyard remains a good place to eat though the new menu at the Kenmore Hotel is more exciting and very similar in price. Overall, MoT remains excellent and I look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Granary Court is an excellent choice with great eating, living and sleeping areas. I have stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StepTrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed in the Whitehouse and had a lovely relaxing break for 3 nights. Our children had lots of freedom on their bikes. This was our third time staying at Mains of Taymouth and would definitely go back. The hot tub was great to return to after being out for the day on our bikes.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howieclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Look forwrad to seeing you again and thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We have lots of great last minute offers so please check our web site
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmore
0.3 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
888 reviews
5.6 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,526 reviews
9.0 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,943 reviews
10.9 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
1,238 reviews
24.7 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mains of Taymouth Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mains of Taymouth Cottages

Property: Mains of Taymouth Cottages
Address: Taymouth Taymouth Mains of Taymouth Country Estate & Golf Course, Kenmore PH15 2HN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Kenmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mains of Taymouth Cottages 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 120 acre private country estate set in magnificent Highland Perthshire with stunning self catering properties sleeping from 2 to 12, many with hot tubs, saunas and games rooms, all at either a high 4* or 5* STB standard. Our excellent onsite facilities include our own golf course, riding stables, delicatessen & gift shop and cafe bar & restaurant all within walking distance from each property. Stunning views, tourist attractions & much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mains of Taymouth Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mains Of Taymouth Cottages Hotel Kenmore
Mains Of Taymouth Cottages Kenmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing