We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You won't be disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mains of Taymouth Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

This was my second visit to Mains of Taymouth and stayed at one of the Maxwells. The standard of accomodation was excellend and the overall location for touring Perthshire is very good. It also has the advantage of having a good restuarant and bar and deli on site, so everthying you need is on your doorstep. A couple of little niggles, the landscaping and grounds still need a bit of work, we had a very large pool of water outside on the grass and bits of the lawn were missing, which I am sure they are in the process of dealing with. The staff were all pleasant and helpful. So if you want to stay somewhere in great accomodation in a good location you won't be disappointed if you chose Mains of Taymouth, it is expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotchick2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    42
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
236
116
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I have just returned from our 4th visit at the mains of taymouth estate and all i can say is you have to go, the accoomodation is amazing!
We got married in Kenmore when we were there and we booked out 3 of the houses for our family and friends to stay for 4 nights.
There is nothing you require at all when you are there they have thought of everything. The accomodation is 5 star very discreet gardens so you can enjoy your hot tub and also the granary has the best garden for children, we had my 2 year old nephew with us and he played in the garden all day. Its so safe all fenced in so cant escape !!
I honestly cant thank the staff at the mains of taymouth estate enough they have been so kind and helpfull, we even left with one of the dishes by mistake but promised to return it to them in the coming weeks and they were so understanding about it!!!
A Big thank you again to everyone at Mains of Taymouth we will be back soon enough, and i can say that it will be a place that i holiday in every year you can not grow bored of Kenmore the surroundings are absolutely amazing. Great restaraunts and lovely Kenmore hotel 5 mins walk away.

Thanks again

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank croatiaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

This was our 5th visit to MoT and 2nd in Granary Court. The house itself is fantastic, very spacious and well appointed with a great layout over 3 floors and with a very well equipped family dining kitchen. Everything was perfect other than the total lack of wifi which ironically has gone from being very strong in The Stables three years ago to weaker in Granary Court last year to non-existent this year. We did report it whilst we were there. It didn't cause me a problem personally but my dad needed to work whilst we were there so he wasn't too chuffed and my kids wanted it to watch BBCiPlayer so they were disappointed.
Anyway, it was a niggle but that was all and there is very good free wifi at the Courtyard restaurant. Speaking of which, this remains quite pricey, but the service and quality is much more consistent than it was under the previous manager who left towards the end of last year I understand.

Room Tip: Go for one of the 5* properties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StepTrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Stayed at mains court for one week with family,house was great with everything to hand. Hot tub and sauna was great fun for the adults and grandkids. Kids went pony trekking,they loved it,Katie who runs the stables was very good with them. The restaurant on site closed for the week we were there for refurbishment which was a disappointment but the estate gave us a voucher for £100 to eat at the Kenmore hotel which was a very nice gesture and very much appreciated. Would return with no hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hazel n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Good to hear that you enjoyed your break with us at Mains of Taymouth! Pleased to say the Courtyard Restaurant is now reopened and with a new menu too. Do hope that you return to try out our Restaurant and enjoy another break away
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Stayed at Maxwells , accomodation was excellent, furniture and fittings are to a very high standard. My only criticism is that it would have been helpful to have had the instructions for the kitchen appliances, but we managed anyway.

Eat in the Courtyard on a couple of occassions and the food was very good and the staff very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotchick2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Our first review from our brand new Maxwells 1 and 2 bedroom villas and we're so delighted that the reviews are reflecting the superb additions to our portfolio of cottages that we're all very proud of. We're equally delighted that you enjoyed the Courtyard Restaurant and Bar as we have just taken over the management in October and we are striving to provide 5 star quality throughout our estate. Thank you and hopefully see you again (and remember your 5% returning guest discount).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We visited Mains of Taymouth on the back of a recommendation and reviews on TripAdvisor - I can see why people enjoyed it so much but we found our stay thoroughly disappointing. Many of the ideas are great but the execution is a bit sloppy and all the finishing touches that should have made it a great holiday left us wanting more. We stayed in the Bell Tower and far too many things ruined what could have been an enjoyable week.

The positives first:
The location is very nice - plenty of good views around the area.
The cottages are generally well equipped and offer a good degree of luxury.
The bathroom was excellent - big shower, big bath and a sauna - all well looked after.
Food at the nearby Courtyard restaurant was good.

Overall, nice cottages in a nice location... BUT...

The first night we stayed there the heating broke due to a known fault that they hadn't yet fixed and hadn't warned us about so we woke up in the morning shivering in a very cold cottage.

The log fire they have in the kitchen/living area should have been great but with no matches to be found and an all electric hob/oven we had to get some matches before we could try it out and the only tool we had for tending the fire was a shovel - great for clearing out ash, not so good for moving hot logs.

Privacy is a bit of an issue - the curtains/blinds were very thin, some of them didn't even sit against the windows and left huge gaps down the side which made it very easy to see people wandering around outside and for them to see in. Privacy was particularly bad at the top of the stairs where two uncovered skylights in the angled roof meant people in the other cottages or walking around outside could see straight in to the cottage.

The television downstairs was stuck on the wall at a 90 degree angle to the sofa so you couldn't sit and watch anything. Meanwhile, the television in the bedroom was just plain dangerous. At 6'3", I was always going to struggle getting through the very low entrance into the bedroom - something my wife who is a foot shorter could only just do without ducking - but even once I was in, a TV has been stuck on the wall right above the entrance for you to whack your head on if you stand up to soon.

None of these would necessarily have ruined the week on their own but combined together with many other small things such as none of the clocks working (they all had dead batteries) and an incomplete welcome pack (which didn't contain the promised discount vouchers for the Courtyard) I left feeling let down and disappointed. It wasn't an uncomfortable week, but for the price we paid our expectations were much higher!

We stayed in a holiday home in the French Alps a couple of years ago for a quarter of the price and while the Bell Tower had many additional luxuries for us to enjoy, the poor attention to detail let it down and it wasn't even twice as good, let alone four times as good.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob1453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taymouth, Owner at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
We have always experienced our best reviews from the Bell Tower and we are so disappointed that on this one occasion we have not managed to fulfil your expectations. Bell Tower is a 19th centuary house that has recently been renovated to a 5 star Visit Scotland standard with spa bathroom, sauna, roll top bath, under floor heating, four poster bed and is designed for the discerning couple loking for that special, luxurious retreat. The Bell Tower is very quaint and still has many of it's original features - stone archway to the bedroom (yes, us tall people scuff our heads until we get used to it!), log fire and all built in the originial Bell Tower of the original Taymouth Castle Home Farm. It is a unique A Listed building in a lovely location - a perfect escape for a couple looking for a private time.

Of course, we apologise for the minor day to day problems that were fixed immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Had a fantastic week staying in The Bothy, Mains of Taymouth in November. The autumn colours were magnificent.
The cottage is very comfortable for two people and is finished to a high standard. The hot tub is an added luxury which we enjoyed. Staff were very helpful and the shop and restaurant on site are good facilities although we did not make much use of them.
Lots to do in the area and a real feeling of peace.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnboyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmore
0.3 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
5.6 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,295 reviews
24.7 mi away
Duchally Country Estate
Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
12.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kenmore Club
The Kenmore Club
#1 of 2 in Kenmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mains of Taymouth Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mains of Taymouth Cottages

Property: Mains of Taymouth Cottages
Address: Taymouth Taymouth Mains of Taymouth Country Estate & Golf Course, Kenmore PH15 2HN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Kenmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mains of Taymouth Cottages 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 120 acre private country estate set in magnificent Highland Perthshire with stunning self catering properties sleeping from 2 to 12, many with hot tubs, saunas and games rooms, all at either a high 4* or 5* STB standard. Our excellent onsite facilities include our own golf course, riding stables, delicatessen & gift shop and cafe bar & restaurant all within walking distance from each property. Stunning views, tourist attractions & much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mains of Taymouth Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mains Of Taymouth Cottages Hotel Kenmore
Mains Of Taymouth Cottages Kenmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing