We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Briar-Croft

Briar-Croft
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Briar-Croft
Winter Sunset at Briar-Croft View over Loch Tay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Briar-Croft
Winter Sunset at Briar-Croft
View over Loch Tay
Dining Room
Sitting Room
Sitting Room/Games Room
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Bathroom
Twin Bedroom
Shower Room
Loch Tay
Local Historical Site
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kenmore, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Laura M
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed August 10, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Again been a very long time since I visited the cottage ... gotta say ... I missed the tranquility nothing around for miles...comfy and warm well maintained but don't expect wifi that's the best thing about this holiday .... car is a must to get around can't wait to book next year .... x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour Y
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very spacious, well equipped, self catering cottage with superb views of Loch Tay and well sited for day trips to many i”
Reviewed August 5, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Summary
Very spacious, well equipped, self catering cottage with superb views of Loch Tay and well sited for day trips to many interesting places. We spent a fun week here in the beginning of August 2017. Lack of wireless internet or broadband and slightly precarious driveway were minor criticisms that did not detract from our enjoyment of the holiday and cottage facilities.

Loch Tay
Not being too familiar with Scotland, we chose Loch Tay because it didn't seem as touristy and busy as, say, Loch Lomond, nor as far away to travel as Loch Ness. Loch Tay was also well placed for visits to places of interest, such as Castle Menzies, Aberfeldy and Glen Lyon.

Once we had decided Loch Tay was to be our destination, searching for a self catering place to stay meant looking at a bunch of cottages for hire. Briar Croft stood out above all the others thanks to their pool table. I knew instantly this would be an ideal place to keep the kids entertained on days we did not want to go out and about. I communicated with the owners via Tripadvisor messaging system. The responses were swift plus I was given a telephone number to call in case I needed to. The owners gave us a good description on how to find the cottage and how to get hold of the key (kept in a secure box outside the cottage).

Cottage layout
The interesting thing about Briar Croft is that it sort of feels like two individual homes joined together to make one. There is even a dividing door slap bang in the middle. It means you can sleep at one end and not hear a thing from those sleeping at the other end. Perfect for us. My wife and I took the bedroom farthest from the entrance while our kids took the other two bedrooms (there are three bedrooms altogether).

There are two reception rooms. The first one is divided into a kitchen area and dining area, the other reception room is huge and acts mainly as the TV viewing room and the room where the pool table is situated. We flitted between the two rooms as the kids enjoyed running around the place. In both of these living rooms, there are gorgeous views of the loch and surrounding hills.

Behind the back of the cottage lies a small field where pheasants roam, much to the amusement of my kids.

To add to the feeling of living in two homes joined as one, there are two toilets, both right next to each other. One toilet has a bath while the other toilet has a shower. We found that to be a very handy facility and meant we could all get washed and cleaned up in the morning in double quick time.

Arriving at the cottage, there is a very steep driveway. When you enter the front opening, you have a choice of driving right down to the base of the drive where the cottage is situated, or, veering off to the left where there is an ample gravel and grass platform to park the car. Getting out however proved far more tricky as the steep driveway mainly consists of grass...wet slippery and increasingly soggy grass with muddy bits. On several occasions I could not exit in one attempt. In the end, I opted to park the car just outside the cottage. Thankfully it is a very quiet road and there is enough of a layby to allow me to park there. Still, I feel that the owners ought to gravel the drive adequately or better still, tarmac it completely to allow for easier up and down car access. Looking around at the neighbouring cottages, this is what everyone else has done.

Facilities
The kitchen is small but perfectly adequate to cook a family meal. It has all the appliances one expects: fridge, freezer, dishwasher, microwave, electric oven and cooker, plus more than enough plates, bowls, utensils and cups etc. The owners even left us complimentary bagels, tea bags and jam - vital for us as we arrived late at night and did not bring supplies.

The washing machine/tumble dryer was handy. The door needs a bit of a push while pressing the start button or it won't work. Once I figured this out, it meant we could wash and dry out clothes and not have to worry about rationing clothes. Typically we ran out of clothes as our muddy exploits out and about meant several clothe changes in one day.

Being soft London based people, the Scottish summer was still chilly for us but thankfully the cottage's central heating was super efficient and warm. There are also additional heaters throughout the place but we did not require those.

The beds are okay. My wife and I had the double bed at the far end of the cottage and it was a bit soft for my liking. Plus the coils of the mattress often boinged in a noisy way when one of us shifted around in the bed. The bedroom also smelled a bit musty. There was plenty of storage.

In the other bedrooms, the middle room had twin beds and a sink. The bedroom nearest the entrance (and arguable the one with the stellar window views) had a small double bed and also included a sink.

The cottage has a TV in each of the two living rooms. The one in the back living room is much bigger and includes a DVD player, Freesat box and surround sound speakers. In the other living room, there is a small TV and mini hifi system. If you intend to go online while staying here then make sure you have lots of data. There is excellent 4G reception here, but no wifi or broadband. Bring lots of DVDs too as inevitably you will have some down time to kill depending on your schedule.

Location
It is possible I am sure to walk everywhere but ideally, you really need a car mainly because most of the roads to and away from Fearnan often don't have sidewalks or footpaths. Walking out of the village and on to the main road, there doesn't appear to be access to the Loch side. There is a jetty but it is fenced off and I think it is private land. To get to the Loch, you need to drive to Kenmore where you can paddle, canoe or swim in the water.

For simple supplies like loo roll and some food, the gift store in Kenmore was very handy. Aberfeldy, about 15 minutes drive away, is much bigger and the best supermarket there was the Co-Op. We also drove around to visit Glen Lyons (stunning scenery!), Castle Menzies, Fortingall, Killin and many random stops along the way. That being said, Loch Tay itself is huge and it was great to drive all the way around it just for the amazing views plus the Falls at Acharn is worth visiting as is the Crannog Centre.

Conclusion
For seven night's stay in a very well equipped and spacious cottage with superb views I can really recommend Briar Croft. It's incredible value for money. I have easily spent twice as much to stay in a tiny caravan in Devon. Personally I think the Scottish Highlands are awesome no matter what the weather and having a warm cottage to visit after a long day's excursion outdoors is a very important asset to have on holiday and Briar Croft gave us all that.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable base for numerous outdoor activities in the middle of fine scenery”
Reviewed August 23, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The house has all facilities and can be made cosily warm. It is spacious, with essentially two living sections and two bathrooms so that six people are not in each other's way.
The view on a stretch of 10 kilometres Loch Tay never tires (to say the least), and from the same window you can check whether the summit of the Ben Lawers is clouded or not.
My wife and I stayed for three weeks and during one week three nephews visited us, with whom we made bike trips and did a few Munros in the neighborhood. It was always a pleasure after a strenuous day to arrive home at Briar Croft.
The atmosphere is quiet and peaceful and it was a real treat to just spend time there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house is optimal positioned to enjoy great views
Liked least: The beds were a bit narrower than we were used to, we slept OK, though
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauren172...
Chateauroux, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning views,good location.”
Reviewed June 7, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The property was as presented,it isn't a modern house but it fits in nicely with the area.I couldn't have asked for anything better. The house is well furnished warm and comfortable. It is an ideal place to see Perthshire and Fife,I would definitely use it again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina B
Selby, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amazing views , very sweet and so beautiful .”
Reviewed January 28, 2014 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week and loved it . It was lovely to play board games and cricket and running in the gardens with the kids . It hard to spend blissful days with family in today's world but here you just relax and become a family again the second you walk though the door , the cottage had everything right down to a fruit bowl . they had thought of everything. It inst the most up to date decoration but i loved it , it made it part of the charm amazing i would love to go again xx

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bani72
Tui, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bani72
Tui, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing