We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All that Glitters !”
Review of Kenmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kenmore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kenmore
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Dissapointed given the reviews. As we travel with our doochies ( dogs ) pleased that the hotel accepts pets. The rooms they allocate are all outwith the lovely main building over the road in an annexe. The room had a nice view of the loch but was really quite basic, old fashioned TV set with only 4 channels, could not watch in bed as on floor on stand. Bathroom clean but could do with replacing, tempremental hot and cold water in the shower. Just a little tatty in places, very comfy bed and bedding a plus. The rooms in the main hotel look far superior. We always travel with the doochies and have stayed in 4 and 5 star where we are not placed in more basic rooms. It would have been more acceptable if the rate for the room was lower than the main hotel but this is not the case. The downstairs bar was good, nice big TV's, very imformal and lively, well frequented by locals. Had a bar meal which was very good but overpriced. Breakfast which was buffet style was a dissapointment. Only eggs available srambled and lukewarm, bacon was salty, sausages poor quality and overdone, toast very underdone. Lovely setting to eat spoiled by substandard breakfast. We paid £89 B&B special rate !. Not really good value for our stay in the annexe you miss out in the " Hotel " experience. If not travelling with dogs you would probably enjoy the ambience of such an old building and may be worth a stay ?

Room Tip: Stay in main hotel, if travelling with dogs leave in vehicle overnight if practical. If not stay els...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VMATHESONMACIVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (904)
There are newer reviews for Kenmore Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

516 - 522 of 904 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for one night as my friend was having their wedding reception there. The staff and everything to do with the wedding was lovely and i had a great time. The downstairs decor was very traditional in keeping with the theme. The bedrooms were huge, my only minor grip was the decor upstairs was a bit dated but everything else was superb! Would recommend

Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
Thank Ddizzygem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel for a wedding. Booked a year ago and considering this was very disappointed with the room we were allocated and the price. Was not worth £99 per night (recently stayed at a Premier Inn for 1/2 the price and facilities were much better). Had a room overlooking a dirty old courtyard right at the side of the hotel you could see the river but only if you hung out the window and cranked your neck. Was advised by Receptionist to book table for dinner as it gets really busy, which we did - but wish we hadn't. It was not busy at all, but we still had to wait a long time for our main course, however, for what we got it was far too overpriced. My partner had sea bass, however, it was one tiny piece of bass, not the whole fish and for this they charged £14.50. £7.50 for prawn cocktail that was quite tasteless is in itself "quite tasteless". I agree with another traveller they need to concentrate more on the rooms in the hotel instead of the location and Rabbie Burns poem. Would I stay here again - probably not.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ells55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We recently stayed in the Kenmore Hotel for 2 nights. It is a quaint old building on the riverbank at the mouth of the Tay river. The weather was warm and sunny one night and we sat on the balcony overlooking the river, sampling single malt whiskeys and enjoying the ambience while we watched fishermen casting on the other bank. There is a large fireplace in the bar room, and above the mantle is a poem written there in Robbie Burns' own hand. Pretty impressive. The guest rooms are cozy, although the neighborhood crows .ensured you did not sleep in in the morning. The food in the dining room is excellent for both breakfast and dinner. The Wi-Fi only works in the lobby and lounge areas, not a problem for me. A great place to stay if you are visiting the Kenmore area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CFofLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Loved our overnight stay here whilst climbing surrounding Munros. The staff couldn't be more friendly, the food was beyond excellent - especially the starter of Crispy Haggis with neeps and tatties! The room was HUGE (double) with large bathroom and such a comfortable bed, I would definitely class as a superior King rather than double bed, and had the best night's sleep! Not exactly criticism, but could do with TV on wall rather than corner of the bed, but I was too tired to watch it anyway so no big deal! The breakfast was buffet style cereals, fruits, fruit juices, full scottish, and was all delicious. The friendliness of the staff really made it for us and we will definitely be back and would highly recommend! (Place was recommended to us and lived up to expectations).

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WHWWalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel has a beautiful location in a lovely part of the country. There's scenery, walking (and fishing'n'golf if that's your thing - though it's not ours). It is one of the oldest hotels in the country, so it's not the height of luxury. But they are trying hard. The restaurant food is at least competent. We were there on a busy night when they had dealt with coach parties, but the food was of good value and quality (elsewhere they might leave the tuna steak a little less well done) and the presentation and service were to a good standard.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olivia2094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

After a drive through stunning scenery we arrived at the Kenmore Hotel, situated in the centre of the lovely village of Kenmore. We were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff and were given a large room at the back of the hotel, with triple-aspect overlooking the River Tay. Later we relaxed in front of a log fire before enjoying an excellent dinner in the spacious, light and airy Grill Room. I had shredded duck bon bons with sweet chilli sauce, followed by the 4-hour slow-cooked lamb, which was delicious. The dessert of rhubarb crème brulee and rhubarb sorbet was mouth-watering! We both slept very well in a large comfortable bed. Breakfast was good, the bacon, sausage and haggis in particular, although we were surprised that only scrambled egg was on offer! We were sorry that we were only able to stay for one night. This would be a great place to chill out for a week!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the River Tay.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s3rjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmore
5.6 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,609 reviews
8.9 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
433 reviews
11.2 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Fortingall Hotel
Fortingall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fortingall
259 reviews
15.3 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
13.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenmore Hotel

Address: | The Square, Kenmore PH15 2NU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kenmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kenmore
Price Range: $106 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenmore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kenmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenmore Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing