We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location”
Review of Kenmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kenmore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kenmore
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I enjoyed my meal. Service was professional with friendliness as added value. It was really nice to see the front of house staff happy to make you happy. Essence of customer care. Thank you i shall return.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Edinburghsco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    287
    147
    80
    47
See reviews for
164
476
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckhaven
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

we booked a "Romantic stay" for two nights, hotel could do with a bit of TLC, rooms as you would expect of an old building, could do with a lick of paint. Bed linen and towels spotless, nice and fluffy towels and bath robes. We really enjoyed our meal on both nights, the breakfast, like many hotels, not very warm as it is buffet style and kept in hot plates.
It is situated in a lovely spot and the views from the restaurant are amazing.
we found the staff very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claireo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I don't understand why the Kenmore Hotel isn't listed under Restaurants too but we only ate here, we were staying in the Mains of Taymouth apartments.

Decided to treat ourselves and have a steak in their restaurant. View is lovely, we were asked if we had booked a table and the fact that we hadn't seemed to be a concern initially but bizarrely the restaurant was never more than one third full. We both had scallops as a starter. They tasted divine, I'll give them that much but for just shy of £9, I would have hoped the 3 scallops were all big instead of the 3 small ones I was given. Hubby had one that was huge, I was very jealous!

Next up, mains - I had a sirloin, hubby had rib eye. Steaks cooked well but the failing was on the chips. The oil they were cooked in musn't have been hot enough, my chips were too soft, I could bend them and see the oil on the surface and that's just not nice. I've had far superior chips from the fish & chip van in Killin. Waitress asked if our meals were ok so I mentioned the 'chip issue' and she kindly offered to get us a fresh batch ( hubby's were also just as soggy). Well, talk about disappointed - batch 2 were just as bad and by that stage pretty much all the tables were on to their puddings so it wasn't like the chef was busy. We didn't eat any of them so while the steak was nice, that's all we had ( oh, except for a half tomato, 2 onion rings and half a mushroom). It kind of ruined the meal.

Don't get me wrong, staff were very apologetic but that's not a whole lot of use really. They offered us a pudding on the house, I'm glad we went for ice cream as 2 other tables seemed to be complaining about their pudding.

All in all, a tad disappointing. Would I return? it's unlikley which is a shame as we are returning at the end of May and again in August. Chef - go to the chippy van in Killin and ask the lovely ladies how to perfect them!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artemis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Booked a night away here as a birthday surprise for my fiance. I had looked on the website and thought it'd be perfect. I am yet to see the rooms I seen on the website. First room we got offered was dated and well in need of a refurbishment. It also said on website the rooms had a tv with DVD, the first room had an old tv and nothing more. How embarrassing for me, I had went to complain and got offered another room which was just as bad. We eventually agreed to the third room, which was best of a bad lot. Holes in the linen, cracks in the bathroom tiles was the tip of the iceberg!
We hoped dinner would save the day! The meal was lovely but service was awful! Booked our table at 7pm and were still there at 10pm! Luckily breakfast was lovely and different waiting staff were fantastic. At 7 month's pregnant I was hoping for a relaxing night away....it was far from it!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fins14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Enjoyable stay in a traditional old Scottish hotel. The staff, particularly at Reception and in the bar, were very friendly and welcoming. The hotel would benefit from a refurb as the decor in some parts was a little tired. Our room was comfortable and had a huge bath with plenty of hot water. Breakfast was a bit disappointing - adequate but nothing more. The dining room has a beautiful outlook over the river. I felt the hotel was a little over-priced but that is perhaps because it is the only hotel in town. Enjoyed our evening meal served in the pub by a cosy open fire.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morganmaadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had booked one of their luxury lodges - Stob Ban.

From the moment we arrived until the moment we left the staff were very helpful, whether it be the girls on reception or the maintenance man who gave us a great tip on taking a small road up over the hills where we had the most amazing views of the area (we did it on a fine sunny day but really wouldn't recommend driving up there in bad weather).

Stob Ban was certainly luxurious. it had just been decorated and was completely spotless. In fact my two daughters want to live there permanently - they loved the en-suite and walk in wardrobe. The beds were the most comfortable than any I have stayed in before and waking up with views over the loch was pure bliss. The lodge is designed in a minalmist way but could not be more comfortable.

Everything was in the lodge that we possibly needed, and we did both self catering and eating in the hotel opposite as well. The food was lovely and they were very helpful when it came to dealing with adapting the food to suit a nut allergy.

The hot tub was lovely, despite it only being April we had glorious weather and went in it every day.

We used the stables locally and the girls had a great hours hack, and the staff were very friendly and helpful there.

We left, wanting to be there for longer - what better way to end a holiday?

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nutmeg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stayed at the Kenmore Hotel for two nights. Upon arrival we were greeted by a lovely girl on reception. We were given the key to our room which we were told was in the west wing. It would have helped if someone had shown us to our room because we got a bit lost at first. However, on finding it we were pleasantly surprised and had a lovely view from our window. The room was very clean and warm. We had only booked for bed and breakfast but had dinner in the restaurant on our second night. The food was wonderful and I must give a special mention to Kamila, the waitress in the restaurant, who was very friendly and nothing was a bother to her. Breakfast was a buffet style but very adequate. Some of the décor in the hotel is a bit tired but it is noted to be the oldest inn in Scotland. The log fire in the bar was very welcoming. All in all a very enjoyable stay and I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a nice relaxing break away with stunning scenery

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R0se1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmore
5.6 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,293 reviews
11.2 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinloch Rannoch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
12.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fortingall Hotel
Fortingall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fortingall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenmore Hotel

Property: Kenmore Hotel
Address: | The Square, Kenmore PH15 2NU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kenmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kenmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenmore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Kenmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenmore Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing