We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kenmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kenmore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kenmore
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were a little apprehensive about our weekend stay following some of the reviews on Trip Advisor, however we need not have worried it turned out to be a great weekend, we had originally booked for the Saturday night as it was our wedding anniversary, however we decided to change it to 2 nights and we are pleased we did, from the professional service when booking all the way through to the fantastic room with great views and the service and wonderfull food in the delightful restaurant. The staff could not do enough to make us feel welcome, will definitely be visiting this lovely part of the world again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ahodgen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Kenmore Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
What a lovely review – thank you for your kind comments. We were delighted to read that you had an enjoyable two night stay at the Kenmore Hotel & Luxury Lodges. The team were very pleased to read that you enjoyed all of your meals within the Grill Room and that you found the team to be very helpful. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO, Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    283
    145
    80
    45
See reviews for
163
469
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Arrived and left standing at the "please wait to be seated" sign.Eventually just told " go and sit anywhere". My husband asked if we could have a couple of menus and we were told " no, just sit down, I bring the menus". 20 minutes later no menus!! A waitress come to our table and snaps at us " next time u can't just go and sit down" and throws down 2 menus. I explain we were told to sit down but no apology just tells us how she will " kick his [--] for not telling her we were there. We order drinks and this takes another 20 minutes to arrive even though it wasn't busy!!. I order the gourmet vegetable burger. Totally inedible and disgusting..rock hard so I had to break it open and scoop out the middle. No salad or lettuce or tomato or anything on this GOURMET burger! Dry and inedible. Not out first visit there but most definitely the last!!! Also the waiter threw down out cutlery as he went past, with it flying across the table. Completely appalled with service!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mollieboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Kenmore Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience at the Kenmore Hotel & Luxury Lodges. First of all, may I offer our sincere apologies that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. I am concerned about several of your comments, which have been taken on board and passed on to the relevant Department Heads.

Please be assured that we take your comments very seriously. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your concerns further, so that we can avoid any repetition of your experiences in the future. If this would be of interest, I can be reached on Laura.Barry@aurorahotelcollection.com or 01324 831411. Kind Regards, Laura Barry, PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had an overnight stay at the end of August and on arrival were given the keys to a room in the Gatehouse, an annex across the road from the main hotel. The room was small, dark and shabby with dated carpets, décor and furniture. The en-suite was tired and needed updating, the shower was just a trickle. However, the food in the hotel was very good and the serving staff were very helpful and pleasant. Having looked back at the reviews for this hotel, it's a pity that the general management are not acting on the feedback from it's customers. There are numerous comments about the rooms in the annex going back several years which are all scathing and clearly no action has been taken. With a little bit of effort and investment the hotel could reach a good standard.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mari T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Kenmore Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience of staying at the Kenmore Hotel & Luxury Lodges. First of all, may I offer our sincere apologies that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. I am concerned about several of your comments, which have been taken on board and passed on to the relevant Department Heads.

Please be assured that we take your comments very seriously. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your concerns further, so that we can avoid any repetition of your experiences in the future. If this would be of interest, I can be reached on Laura.Barry@aurorahotelcollection.com or 01324 831411. Kind Regards, Laura Barry, PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Oldest Inn in Scotland, decor old worldly in front , with new restaurant extension on the back on the waterfront, with magnificent views of the River Tay, luckily we watched a guy fly fishing while having a pre dinner drink in The Boars Head pub below the restaurant (wine by the glass expensive £7!), lots of ducks too.
We stayed in the lodge across the road from the hotel, downside having to cross the road for breakfast, but quiet, decor needs an update/ freshing up, bed linen and towels fresh &clean, stayed in the family room

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveGra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Kenmore Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Kenmore Hotel & Luxury Lodges. We were pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that you found the location to have wonderful views. The Grill room in the Kenmore Hotel allows you to enjoy these views while having dinner or drinks and I am pleased that you were able to experience them. I will pass all of your comments on to the team at the Kenmore Hotel and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO, Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed two nights in room that needed updating. Breakfast good on one morning and very poor the next. Tried to book a table overlooking the loch for dinner as it was our Silver Wedding but were told 'all the tables may already be booked'. We did not get a good table and were annoyed that one overlooking the loch stayed empty all evening.
Would not return.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Kenmore Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
As you can imagine I was very disappointed to read the review of your experience at Airth Castle Hotel & Spa. At the Aurora Hotel Collection, we pride ourselves on our high standards of customer service, therefore I am extremely concerned that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your concerns further, so that we can avoid any repetition of your experiences in the future. If this would be of interest, I can be reached on laura.barry@aurorahotelcollection.com. Kind Regards Laura Barry PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed on a Sunday night deal, room full dinner and breakfast for two for £89. Steak for two was excellent as were the mussels and dessert. Brilliant restaurant location. All the staff were first class, well mannered and attentive friendly service. Do not get some of the poor reviews, ok a bit dated but that is also the attraction! rooms perfectly adequate, no experience of poor supply of hot water. Could have more fruit yoghurt and egg choice for breakfast but minor point. Will be back as staff, location and price is ideal.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the bridge and the river, stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Kenmore Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
What a lovely review – thank you for your kind comments. We were delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay at the Kenmore Hotel & Luxury Lodges. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay at the Kenmore Hotel. The team at the Kenmore Hotel will be very pleased and will take your comments on board. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO, Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had 2 nights 25th & 26th August.

Good Points
* Food was good

Bad Points
* Room very disappointing
* TV was about 20 years old and had 4 channels. Channel 4 was so badly out of sync it was un watchable. It had no dvd player or digital tv.
*Shower was a dribble
*Room was very musky smelling
*Décor was extremely dated
* Greeting was un-friendly
* Service was reasonable

Room Tip: Perhaps not ideal for a romantic get away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Kenmore Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your impressions following your stay at the Kenmore Hotel & Luxury Lodges.

Having read your comments, I am sorry to learn that your overall experience did not meet your expectations and left you feeling disappointed with some aspects of your stay.

I would very much like the opportunity to personally discuss the various aspects of your feedback. I can be reached at laura.barry@aurorahotelcollection.com, at your earliest convenience.

I look forward to hearing from you and thank you once again for taking the trouble to write a review. Kind Regards Laura Barry PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmore
5.6 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,214 reviews
11.2 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinloch Rannoch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
12.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fortingall Hotel
Fortingall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fortingall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenmore Hotel

Property: Kenmore Hotel
Address: | The Square, Kenmore PH15 2NU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kenmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kenmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenmore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kenmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenmore Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing