We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kenmore Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Kenmore Club by Diamond Resorts(Kenmore)(Great Value!)
$231
$221
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Fortingall Hotel(Fortingall)
$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Weem Inn(Aberfeldy)
$172
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breadalbane Arms(Aberfeldy)
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Moness Resort(Aberfeldy)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Travelodge Perth A9(Perth)(Great Value!)
$48
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Ardeonaig Hotel(Ardeonaig)
$115
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Dunalastair Hotel Suites(Kinloch Rannoch)
$216
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel(Kinloch Rannoch)(Great Value!)
$157
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$321
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (959)
Filter reviews
959 results
Traveler rating
306
329
173
90
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
306
329
173
90
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoldest inn in scotlandloch taywest wingpoets barrabbie burnsoverlooking the riverboars headveranda roombeautiful locationbuffet stylevenisontaymouth castlehot tubbit datedmain buildinglovely mealwaiting staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
775 - 780 of 959 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We spent an overnight at The Kenmore Hotel last week for one of their Christmas Party Nights.Arrived early afternoon and were able to check into our rooms right away.As some people have said, the rooms are a bit dated but personally I think the furniture suits a hotel of this age and character.We then headed for the Poets bar beside a cosy log fire and tried some meals from the Grill menu and a few drinks that we enjoyed while talking to other hotel guests.This was excellent and more than enough to take us through to dinner.At dinner the Christmas menu contained the usual suspects but was presented beautifully and tasted excellent.After a few more drinks the party started and everyone joined in with the dancing and fun .We had a good sleep with comfy beds and woke to a lovely view of Loch Tay.Breakfast went down a treat then we had a walk around the local area with stunning views.We asked if we could have a look at the self catering lodges and were shown around two of them.The standard of refurbishment is well worth the 5 Star Visitscotland award and we will be looking to book one or two with friends and family in the new year.From Reception to bar staff and housekeeping everyone was very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank Danny_Maxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

The oldest inn in Scotland steeped in history with connections with Rabbie Burns, nice room , nice food and very hospitable , and the wood burning stoves added to the character. Well Worth a visit views were stunning from the restaurant during the day

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isobel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Its billed as the oldest Inn in Scotland so I suppose its allowed to be a bit tired and in need of modernisation. That said we had a great stay here and others are right - the location is fantastic for walking, distilleries and local Highland towns. The really positive things are the bar ( local beers are good ) and a good whiskey selection. We ate in the bar 3 times and all of our meals were excellent and we thought, good value. Breakfast was fine, though the waitress struggled a bit on day 2 as she was on her own - someone did later come to help her though. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful - absolutely no problems with any we came into contact with.
Our only negative was the room we had (no 9) - it didnt resemble any of the ones on the photos and was definately in need of updating - fairly tight space wise, old wardrobes and bathroom furniture - it was though all very clean and the bed was comfy. Personally I thought it a bit noisy as well but that might be partly down to the age of the building. Others seem to have had much nicer rooms - possibly they paid full price and we went on a deal ( which I have to say was pretty cheap for the 2 of us) - so perhaps I should'nt complain !
Local Drummond Hill and Kenmore Hill are decent low level walks as are the Falls of Achern and Birks of Aberfeldy. There are also much higher and more challenging walks around but you need decent weather.
We like this area and despite my grumbles I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Not room 9
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Fantastic stay at the Kenmore. Log fires sprinkled throughout add to the charm. Stayed in the Veranda room with fantastic views overlooking the Loch, very comfortable spacious room and bathroom. Tasty 3 course Christmas dinner and no complaints with breakfast in the morning. Friendly, attentive staff. Lovely walks close by. All in all a very good stay and will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cramond8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed on a DB&B deal which was excellent value. A nice lounge, log fires to sit by and an excellent dinner in the evening. Breakfast was a bit of a disappointment on the hot food front and the plates were cold. Comfortable bedroom with a big bathroom. We stayed in room 3 which faces the main road. The face of the building is lit with high intensity lighting which completely defeated our curtains and somewhat spoilt our night's sleep.
Note to Management: Easily cured by installing " black out " linings.

A friendly welcome on arrival and attentive staff. Well worth visiting though do be aware this is an old building with a charm that has the occasional creaky floorboard.

Room Tip: Do not take a room at the front unless you can be assured that " black out " blinds/linings are in place.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillBiggar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews