We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kenmore Hotel -”
Review of Kenmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kenmore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kenmore
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Fantastic location in Kenmore village at the end of Loch Tay, with beautiful views of the River Tay. We came to climb in the mountains, and there are many Munros close by. Very welcoming and efficient reception, and very friendly staff. Lots of character. Excellent food. Superb all round.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (936)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

761 - 767 of 936 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a difficult one - we booked our trip through a deal and so we did save money, DBB for 2 nights, had we paid full price I think we would be more disappointed. The restaurant was lovely for dinner, the food was excellent - if I was writing a review on the restaurant alone it would be 5* all the way. A really beautiful meal and for the summer nights there are tables outside.
The hotel in terms of decor etc is poor, our room was tiny, you basically walked in the door and were met with the bed. The bathroom was fine although the shower was useless, it did however have a corner bath and so after a long walk you could have a good soak!
The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful in all areas of the hotel - reception/bar/restaurant. The Poets bar was cosy with the fire crackling and a glass of wine, what more could you ask for on a cold winters evening.

In terms of recommending the hotel - for service and food I absolutely would but don't go expecting much from the rooms. It is a beatuiful location, you are surrounded by hills and the river. We went as a couple but would definitely go back to the area with our dog and will be looking into the lodges that the hotel has.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Husband and I had lunch recently at the Kenmore Hotel and will not return. We each had a small plate of soup followed by one egg mayonnaise sandwich each and the cost came to £22.50. That is £11.25 each! Neither of us had anything else, no other courses or drinks. This is a complete rip off. It may be worth mentioning that there were only 6 other diners in the restaurant at what should have been a very busy weekend lunchtime. Let us hope that the Kenmore Hotel does not go the same way as other nearby hotels which have had to close.

Georgette

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank georgetteScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Kenmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

I am Personal Assistant to the Chief Executive of The Aurora Hotel Collection. We would be very interested to hear more about your experience and would appreciate it if you could email me on isla.macfarlane@aurorahotelcollection.com so we can talk futher. Should you not wish to contact me at this time, please contact me should you wish to book again with The Aurora Hotel Collection. I look forward to hearing from you. Kind Regards Isla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were in Kenmore for a large family weekend with a large dog. The hotel was very accommodating with the dog such that we could have her in the sports bar and lounge bar. As a large party we ate in the hotel for both lunch and dinner over the weekend and it's the same very good quality menu wherever you eat, and service is brilliant.

This is not a modern chain type hotel, but an original building dating back about 300+ years, so most parts have a bit of character, and the views are some of the best in Scotland, overlooking the river Tay, the old stone bridge and Loch Tay,with a backdrop of autumn forest leaf colour to match New England in the fall.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Tabby2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Just returned from hosting a 40 strong annual Family Gathering, the venue for 2012 being Scotland' s oldest Inn idyllically situated in the pretty 16th century village of Kenmore at the mouth of Loch Tay in the heart of the Highlands. Rabbie Burns no less was so moved by the setting that he composed a poem and inscribed it in pencil on the chimney breast of the Poet's Bar where it remains to this day.
Despite the transience of event personnel in the preceeding months everything went according to plan thanks to the helpful and friendly management and staff. Particular mention must be made to the quality of cuisine, service and amenities provided for our private dinner in the River View Suite. Hats off to the chef for his excellence of fare - particularly so the outstanding sirloin of beef.
While the bedrooms are somewhat dated the Taymouth Restaurant with commanding views over the River Tay and beyond, bars and public areas are difficult to fault. Feedback from those in attendance from both north and south of the border was extremely positive and overall as host I couldn't have wished for a better venue.

Room Tip: Request river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 323RobinB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This was a special birthday/retirement weekend. The staff, food and accommodation were all excellent. There were 5 couples and on single lady varying in ages from 36-60. Everyone in the party commented on the quality and choice of food, the quirky rooms, and efficient staff.

Room Tip: Room 23 was a brilliant size and would be great in the summer as it has a large balcony overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marilyn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Special offer of a three night dinner, bed and breakfast was not to be missed at this time of year when Perthshire is at its glorious best - autumn colours to die for.
Room was comfortable if a bit tired on the decoration front, hotel was warm and staff were friendly and attentive. Meals were to be in the restaurant, but after the first night when we were almost alone in a relatively huge room, we transferred to the bar downstairs with its log fire, and atmosphere. The new restaurant with its views over the river must be wondeful in mid-summer, but by late October when the nuights are drwing in, sitting looking out at the dark seems rather pointless. Menu excellent and service fairkly sharp.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doubleoban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmore
10.7 mi away
Dunalastair Hotel Suites
Dunalastair Hotel Suites
#1 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
311 reviews
11.2 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
1,303 reviews
5.6 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#5 of 17 in Pitlochry
2,202 reviews
13.3 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 17 in Pitlochry
723 reviews
8.9 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenmore Hotel

Address: | The Square, Kenmore PH15 2NU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kenmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kenmore
Price Range: $118 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenmore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kenmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenmore Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing