We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great setting for a good meal”
Review of Kenmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kenmore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kenmore
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A great setting for a good meal”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were in Kenmore for a large family weekend with a large dog. The hotel was very accommodating with the dog such that we could have her in the sports bar and lounge bar. As a large party we ate in the hotel for both lunch and dinner over the weekend and it's the same very good quality menu wherever you eat, and service is brilliant.

This is not a modern chain type hotel, but an original building dating back about 300+ years, so most parts have a bit of character, and the views are some of the best in Scotland, overlooking the river Tay, the old stone bridge and Loch Tay,with a backdrop of autumn forest leaf colour to match New England in the fall.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tabby2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    294
    149
    81
    47
See reviews for
169
480
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Just returned from hosting a 40 strong annual Family Gathering, the venue for 2012 being Scotland' s oldest Inn idyllically situated in the pretty 16th century village of Kenmore at the mouth of Loch Tay in the heart of the Highlands. Rabbie Burns no less was so moved by the setting that he composed a poem and inscribed it in pencil on the chimney breast of the Poet's Bar where it remains to this day.
Despite the transience of event personnel in the preceeding months everything went according to plan thanks to the helpful and friendly management and staff. Particular mention must be made to the quality of cuisine, service and amenities provided for our private dinner in the River View Suite. Hats off to the chef for his excellence of fare - particularly so the outstanding sirloin of beef.
While the bedrooms are somewhat dated the Taymouth Restaurant with commanding views over the River Tay and beyond, bars and public areas are difficult to fault. Feedback from those in attendance from both north and south of the border was extremely positive and overall as host I couldn't have wished for a better venue.

Room Tip: Request river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 323RobinB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This was a special birthday/retirement weekend. The staff, food and accommodation were all excellent. There were 5 couples and on single lady varying in ages from 36-60. Everyone in the party commented on the quality and choice of food, the quirky rooms, and efficient staff.

Room Tip: Room 23 was a brilliant size and would be great in the summer as it has a large balcony overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marilyn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Special offer of a three night dinner, bed and breakfast was not to be missed at this time of year when Perthshire is at its glorious best - autumn colours to die for.
Room was comfortable if a bit tired on the decoration front, hotel was warm and staff were friendly and attentive. Meals were to be in the restaurant, but after the first night when we were almost alone in a relatively huge room, we transferred to the bar downstairs with its log fire, and atmosphere. The new restaurant with its views over the river must be wondeful in mid-summer, but by late October when the nuights are drwing in, sitting looking out at the dark seems rather pointless. Menu excellent and service fairkly sharp.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doubleoban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourock
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just spent an overnight DBB deal thro' laterooms at the Kenmore hotel and was very pleased with the hotel.

Girl on reception was very good, pleasent and informative on the layout and amenities of the hotel, they now do the same menu for the restuarant and the bar with the same prices throughout.

We could not complain about the meal...only issue was that we were not told 'what we could have' for our deal (usually the meals are loaded with supplements on various choices) but as we had Cullin Skink as a starter + the 'fish & chips & Steak and ale pie' for our mains (which was very good) + coffees there were no supplements. The only thing we paid for was the wine...which at £15.95 for the house wine is a tad expensive :( but not it did not break the bank!
Service in the restuarant was a little slow and only one menu available which was a bit strange as the restuarant was only 1/2 full but very pleasent surroundings and great views of the river etc.

Bedroom was a little tired...90' wallpaper and an old bulky TV that was just above floor level on its stand... but we weren't really there to watch TV! The room was very warm which was great due to the cold night

Great log fire in the lounge and considering there was a bit of a snow blizzard earlier and it was a very cold night, it was very welcoming to sit and put logs on it now and again with a large wine at hand.

Usual breakfast buffet, staff very attentative and food well cooked with a fairly good choice.

All in all a very good night and would not hesitate to go back on another deal!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Spur of the moment visit for 1 night. They fitted us, a family of four, in to a decent sized room out of the way of the noisier part of the hotel with hardly any notice. The fab receptionist recognised us from the phone booking straight away and was particularly attentive and keen that we were comfortable with the accommodation. After a lovely walk along the river and stone skimming on the beach of the loch we warmed up by the fire with a few drinks to play some card games with the kids. Lovely! The evening meal was great, they fitted us in at late notice for an early sitting in the main restaurant. The meal was good and we all enjoyed our meals. All was well. The breakfast the next morning was not so great. It took 3 attempts to get our coffee and toast. I could feel myself twitching as guests arriving after us where brought steaming coffee and racks stuffed with freshly made toast. The hot breakfast offered was buffet style and was quite depleted. However all in all the hotel, though a bit tired, is a comfortable stay, and I would happily go back again. The views from our room on to the river were gorgeous, the village itself is exactly as I remember it and the countryside is magnificent. Well worth the trip.

Room Tip: We were in the East/ West?? wing which is great for families - but only if there are no functions on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I am a return visitor to The Kenmore hotel, although there has been at least 2 years since my last visit. I know not to expect fancy decor or modern furnishings so the fact that the place looks a bit 'run down' wasn't really a shock. It would be nice if they would maybe do it up a bit, especially the rooms. You are expected to pay a fair bit of money for a room so you expect a certain standard. I did love the bath in our en-suite as it was huge! Our main complaint about the place was the standard of service. We were greeted well by the receptionist and she was very friendly but our experience with the other staff was mixed. The waiter/bar man in the poets bar was a disgrace. He didn't smile, communicate or even look at you when we walked in. We had to ask if it was ok to get lunch, which he answered with a nod and no smile. So we presumed we were just to take a seat and order at the bar but no one communicated this to us. It was almost an inconvienience for him to serve us and it did seem to take a while for our sandwiches to arrive. The open fire, which was a pleasant memory from previous visits, wasn't blazing and they had what looked like an air-conditioning unit on right above us. I was freezing and had to sit with my coat on. This is all basic customer service issues and didn't really bode well for the rest of our stay. We had booked a table in the restaurant for an evening meal when we arrived and when we went to get our table we were told that the receptionist hadn't put it on the system and it looked like they were full. The waitress didn't apologise or give us an explanation and then eventually took us to a seat. We felt again, like this was an inconvienience and it just made our visit an unhappy one. The food we had in the evening was ok but kind of bizarrely presented. Beware the brushetta if you're expecting a lot of tomatoes!!! I have to say that the haddock was tasty and I enjoyed that part. All in all it was a bit of a hit or a miss and I don't think it should be like that. It's in a beautiful location and has such a lot of character but the attitude of certain staff members really let's it down. I hope if I return in the future that I don't have the same bad experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J1mi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Kenmore Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
I am Personal Assistant to the Chief Executive of The Aurora Hotel Collection. We would be very interested to hear more about your experience and would appreciate it if you could email me on isla.macfarlane@aurorahotelcollection.com so we can talk futher. Should you not wish to contact me at this time, please contact me should you wish to book again with The Aurora Hotel Collection. I look forward to hearing from you. Kind Regards Isla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmore
5.6 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,374 reviews
8.9 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
395 reviews
11.2 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Fortingall Hotel
Fortingall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fortingall
247 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
12.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenmore Hotel

Property: Kenmore Hotel
Address: | The Square, Kenmore PH15 2NU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kenmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kenmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenmore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Kenmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenmore Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing