We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good,Very impressed,Very smokey!”
Review of Kenmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kenmore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kenmore
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Just got back from the Kenmore hotel. We stayed only for the one night dinner,bed,and breakfast,The three of us were very impressed with it all to be honest,A big well done to all the staff including reception and all staff in the restaurant,If i was to raise any point(only so the staff can improve on customer feedback)would be the very smokey log fires in the hotel,They are a very big part of the hotel features however very very smokey and a bit uncomfortable to sit in the bar while the fire is lit,Hopefully this can be easily rectified by a simple chimney sweep more often?Apart from this small point well done to all the staff and hope to see you all again in the future !

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithG1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (928)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

799 - 805 of 928 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2012

We visited Kenmore for a nephews wedding, The hotel provided everything we could ask for and we had a wonderful time. The food was first class ,it had to be! we had three chefs in the party not counting the groom who is a chef and bar manager. The hotel sits on the banks of the river Tay and has been in existence since the 16th century. but is definitely 20th century in its facilities . It was here that Robert Burns wrote a poem on the wall above the fireplace in what is now called the Poets Bar and the original is preserved for all to see. Bar meals on the day after the wedding were good value and a good choice was offered. Will be back

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chas1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We were staying close by for a few days in March 2012 and thought we'd 'treat' ourselves to a lovely lunch.....we were very disappointed. The bar was busy and this looked like a good sign. We ordered starters, then a burger and the steak pie. I was advised at the bar that there would be a short wait as the pie was cooked to order - this was fine. 40mins later the starters arrived, we had the haggis and the soup - very nice. Unfortunately the main courses were totally overcooked. The steak pie pastry was very hard and the inside had totally dried out. The burger too was overcooked. Iniitally when we saw other people get the fish & chips with nifty mini fryers holding the chips, we thought it was quite a unique idea. However our food arrived on a wooden block, pie in one dish, chips (frozen!!) in another holder and veg in another dish - totally unpractical for the person eating it!! My advice - reduce the gimmicks and concentrate on the quality of the food!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

This was booked under the Groupon deal which was 2nights B&B with a free bottle of wine.When booking the hotel was very honest and said that we would not be in the main part of it and across the road,only complaint you dont feel involved or really staying there.The room was very large and airy which was fantastic,this was room 26,the bed was extremely comfortable and I slept fantastically.The sockets did not work where the kettle was plugged in and you had to unplug the DVD player to boil the kettle.I must admit I did forget to mention to reception.My only real let down was the shower,if your in a hurry get up early,trickle says it all,but if your a bath person then you will be very happy,large corner bath.We ate breakfast on both days and this was fantastic,the mushrooms were amazing!.The staff were very helpfull and friendly and of course the views were brilliant.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura1210Paisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We have just spent a beautiful sunny weekend at the Kenmore Hotel. We arrived late on Friday evening to a very warm welcome from the receptionist. The hotel is quaint and olde worlde and had lovely open fires, however the front door was left open during the day and so the bar/seating areas at the front of the hotel were quite cold, which was a real shame. Our room was fairly small but comfortable and very clean. The restaurant where we had breakfast had terrific views, but again was on the chilly side. Although a little limited in choice, the breakfast was very tasty and plentiful. Overall I would recommend this hotel for a short break.

Room Tip: I would request a room at the back off the hotel overlooking Loch Tay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ecosse Claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

This was my umpteenth visit to the Kenmore Hotel and was really looking forward to it. I had told so many people about the quality of the food and especially the Cullen Skink - which is the best I've tasted. The good news was that the soup was just as good, but I;m afraid the rest of our food was extremely poor. The home made burger was dry and completely lacked any taste, the fish and chips arrived overcooked and swimming in a bed of oil and was promptly returned. The replacement was slightly better and came with a rather understated apology.
The staff who served us were foreign but non the less polite and generally attentive - which was not too diffficult as we were the only diners.
Overall, this was our worst experience in many years, so much so that we cancelled our dinner reservation for the saturday. I hope that this was just an off day and it'll be business as usual next time we visit. I'll check on trip advisor first though!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank JOHN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

A comfortable room, not in the main hotel, but nearby in the Gatehouse, a short walk across the square. Food was excellent and the views from the dining room stunning.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for an "Executive" room. Ours was spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian_and_Fiona36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmore
8.9 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
445 reviews
5.6 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,798 reviews
11.2 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,128 reviews
23.8 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
811 reviews
5 mi away
The Weem Inn
The Weem Inn
#3 of 4 in Aberfeldy
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenmore Hotel

Address: | The Square, Kenmore PH15 2NU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kenmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kenmore
Price Range: $92 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenmore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kenmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenmore Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing