We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow what a wonderful Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kenmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kenmore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kenmore
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wow what a wonderful Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

If you want a wonderful experience then the Kenmore Hotel is for you. We have just spent the weekend in one of its 5* cottages while attending a wedding. We were well received and our cottage was a delight. We also enjoyed the wedding meal and evening disco . Breakfast the following day was reasonable. This is the oldest Inn in Scotland and it has some great charm and character. Yes you may find some of the rooms in the hotel a bit dated and need some upgrading but I wouldn't let that spoil your stay. All that and we still did not have enough time to explore all the beautiful countryside around. Mind you we have seen a lot of it on previous visits to the area.

Room Tip: If you want something special try one of the 5* cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndriEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    283
    145
    80
    45
See reviews for
163
470
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

Stayed near this hotel and visited several times. The first for drinks, when I was served with a pint of beer which was totally opaque and unfit for consmption. The bar staff were young and inexperienced and struggled to deal with this. The next evening a group of eight of went for dinner. My starter was fine, if a little bland. I ordered steak for main course, which in itself was very well cooked, but with a dissapointing selection of veg and worst of all FROZEN CHIPS. For an establishment that looks like it should have a high standard of cuisine, this was a let down. For a steak costing in excess of £20 I expected at least home made / hand cut chips and a decent selection of vegetables.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phill100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Cosy hotel with roaring fires. Friendly and helpful welcome.

We had food in the hotels "poets" bar on two occasions and the food on both nights was lovely and well priced. (Try the fish and chips or the steak and ale pie.)

Rooms and decor a little dated but for the age of the hotel anything else wouldn't look right.

Good full breakfast in the morning overlooking the river Tay.

Staff were good but some seemed pre-occupied and service wasn't the best it could have been. It only takes a moment to say good morning and although some staff were friendly some just looked bored.

Good hotel for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissyN5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Insch
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Myself and my husband stayed there for 1 night we've driven past the hotel several times and was intrigued to stay there. It is very popular with weddings and always seemed busy. When I called to book the hotel I was offered the Veranda Room as it was their best room - it had a terrace and a conservatory. So as it was a special occasion I went ahead and booked it at a cost of £170 B&B. On arrival we booked in, weren't offered any help with our bags etc. On the way to the room it was obvious that the hotel's decor needed to be updated - holes in carpets which were shabby and dirty looking, paint chipped, walls scuffed and marked. One thing in it's favour was the hotel was VERY warm, a fact which was imposed on us when we eventually opened the bedroom door and this wall of heat hit us - first thing we did was turn heating down and opened windows. The room was a large room, very bright, clean but very dated. The terrace was covered in moss which had fallen from the roof, the so-called conservatory! was VERY VERY shabby and basically a construction which had been built on the terrace as a very lightweight add on, the windows of the conservatory didn't close, there was mildew and more chipped paint and dripping with condensation. The bathroom was large and clean but the shower was horrendous. Altogether the room was VERY DISAPPOINTING and VERY MIS-SOLD and MIS-DESCRIBED on the hotel's website. In contrast with the heat in the rest of the hotel Archie's Bar where we had drinks was positively artic. We ate at the hotel - my husband enjoyed his food (he had liver parfait and a steak) I was not overly impressed with my meal the soup was good but the 2nd course was very disappointing. We didn't stay for sweet. Overall what could be a great hotel as the setting is outstanding, and they are the only hotel for about 12 miles it was VERY DISAPPOINTING. Would NOT stay here again and would NOT recommend it.

Room Tip: no advice to give as this is our first and last stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TOKInsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for two nights, it is a very old hotel with wonderful character and friendly staff who will make your visit as comfortable as possible and are very welcoming. Proper fires, and lots of comfy areas to sit and chat or have a drink. The food however was truly superb both from the bar menu and the restaurant. For beer lovers it had Thrappledouser on tap.

Our room was brilliant really quirky, looking over the square and a view of the hills, very comfy bed and great that it had space for another bed for our daughter. Superb

Location is truly brilliant, and if you eat in the restaurant tables look over the river.

If you love old style hotels who really know what customer service means and truly do deliver on their food then this is a real must.

We will def be back.

Only improvement and I am being picky "breakfast could be slightly improved."

Room Tip: Romeny was great for two adults and one child and have a good view where you can see the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cburg46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed at the Kenmore on the 11th to 13 Feb with a KGB deal voucher. It was one of my better choices. The Hotel and staff were second to none. They were very pleasant and friendly. The area was beautiful. The food was lovely and very well presented. We had a lovely weekend. Great walks along the Tay and beautiful scenery. Will defo be back.

Room Tip: We were in room 4 that overlooks the square. Lovely room and huge corner bath for a soak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BingRoadhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

Kgb deal ! 2 nights bed and breakfast . Excellant value , dog friendly hotel is a plus point. staff helpful , food in bar good. only negative point annexe is that suitable for wheelchairs . Overall well worth a visit. x

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellamac7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmore
5.6 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,222 reviews
11.2 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinloch Rannoch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
12.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fortingall Hotel
Fortingall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fortingall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenmore Hotel

Property: Kenmore Hotel
Address: | The Square, Kenmore PH15 2NU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kenmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kenmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenmore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kenmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenmore Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing