We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dipper boathouse. Our retirement dream”
Review of Rock House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rock House
Ranked #1 of 1 Kenmore B&B and Inns
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dipper boathouse. Our retirement dream”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We can't explain the experience, you have to go and stay to feel the experience. Penny and Roland are wonderful and have worked so hard to design this beautiful boathouse. Every inch of the house has been finely tuned and running smooth. Waking up to the sound of lapping water, the sun shine streaming in through every window. Body and shower essentials provided and hand made locally in Scotland, and penny's beautiful baking. We stayed for four nights but wish we had booked for the week, no need to go out if all you want to do is just relax and unwind, thank you penny and Roland for this amazing piece of art forever in our minds. We most certainly will be staying longer on our next visit. Angie Steve

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amberandjess04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
99
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in sky cottage for 4 nights, it is in a gorgeous spot which means as soon as you arrive you feel relaxed! We were warmly welcomed by Penny, who showed us around the cottage, which took my breath away! We wanted to do a lot of walking and the location makes this possible, coming back to the cottage every night was a dream!
Sky cottage is a cosy, romantic, luxurious, homely and relaxing retreat that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend!
We would also suggest no trip to the sky cottage is complete without a trip down to the picnic hut! We went on the last night, cooked our tea lochside, lit candles and watched as the sun went down, very relaxing!!
Loved this place, felt like a real tonic for the soul, we'll be back!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank mandolee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

A hidden gem right on the shoreline . I wrote in the visitors book that it was a little slice of paradise and it truly is. The adventure begins the minute you hop in the borrowed 4 wheel drive vehicle ( which is made is available if required) to get you down the track to the amazing boathouse that is ' Dipper' , which sits on stilts overhanging the water . It is flooded with light from the floor to ceiling windows to take full advantage of the outstanding views all around you. Penny and Roland have catered for anything and everything that you could ever possibly need for your stay. The Welcome Pack is excellent and you can immediately relax on the decking with a mega slice of home made cake and a glass of chilled wine whilst you wind down from your journey . The log burner is so easy to light and makes the place so warm and cosy. Hurricane lamps and candles abound . You are completely secluded and can have a bath with the blinds open whilst watching the ever changing moods of the Loch . We stayed for 4 nights and only left once We saw deer , red squirrels , oyster catchers and dippers so very close to the house . I even ventured into the Loch for a quick dip ( much emphasis placed on the word 'quick') . We left feeling completely rejuvenated and my Husband really didn't want to hand the keys back . We certainly hope to return sooner rather than later .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewbiesWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Cannot recommend Dipper Boat House on Loch Tay highly enough! Spectacular views of the loch can be enjoyed from the super cosy bed, or from a comfy chair by the wood burning fire. The ideal bolt hole to get away from everything. Impeccably decorated in a simple scandi style with a few artistic personal touches. Roland and Penny made us feel very welcome right from the start with warm home made bread and a large slice of delicious cake on our arrival! The kitchen is kitted out with all the crockery/cook ware you could wish for with tea and coffee also supplied, lovely.

If you do stay, go for a food shop before you arrive and then there's no need for you to leave!

Aberfeldy is only 20 minutes away and has an amazing cafe/book shop called The Watermill, also highly recommended. Lovely for a short trip out to get some lunch/afternoon coffee with homemade cakes!

Ideal for a few days to completely unwind and enjoy time with your other half.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Have just returned from celebrating our Silver Wedding Anniversary at the beautiful and scenic Sky Cottage. If you want peace and tranquility this is the place to come. We could find no fault whatsoever and the place is just perfect . The house is immaculate and attention to detail second to none. The kind and welcoming owners have thought of everything to make your stay memorable. Fresh flowers, homemade goodies and wine were just some of the things that make this place just that bit more special, as if the warm cosy cottage and majestic scenery aren't enough! There are a few places to visit nearby, but why bother when this place is so lovely. Also saw a cute baby deer outside window one morning! Would not hesitate in returning. There is one spot that is a bit of a pig sty, but 2 pigs do live in it so we can forgive them for that!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in February at Dipper boathouse and had a fantastic time. Everything from the warm welcome, to the stunning location down on loch edge, to the facilities and decor is spot on. The location is a great base to explore the surrounding area or just to chill out and read some books or watch the wildlife. Roland and Penny have done a great job in creating such a fantastic place - we will definitely be back. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattg81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Had the most gorgeous weekend at Sky Cottage. Penny and Roland were excellent hosts and the house is perfect with an outstanding view. Has a really homely shabby chic feel and is fully equipped with everything you would need for a romantic getaway. House was so warm and lots of luxury touches which added to the enjoyment and did I mention the view!!!. Would highly recommend and we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmore
1.7 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
874 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
407 reviews
11.3 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Fortingall Hotel
Fortingall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fortingall
252 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Kenmore Club
The Kenmore Club
#1 of 2 in Kenmore
361 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mains of Taymouth Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock House

Property: Rock House
Address: Loch Tay, Kenmore PH15 2HU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kenmore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmore
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Rock House Hotel Kenmore
Rock House Kenmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing