We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rock House
Nearby Hotels
Kenmore Hotel(Kenmore)(Great Value!)
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Kenmore Club by Diamond Resorts(Kenmore)(Great Value!)
$88
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mains of Taymouth Cottages(Kenmore)(Great Value!)
$433
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveler rating
103
3
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
103
3
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky cottageloch tayred squirrelshomemade breadlog burnerwelcome packsteam roomlittle extraswarm welcomehigh standardpennyrolandboathousedippersottersfeedersseclusion
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 107 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2012

My wife and I were lucky enough to spend the Jubilee weekend at the wonderful RockHouse a few miles west of Acharn on the southern shore of Loch Tay. What a place, and what fantastic hosts Penny and Roland are. Besides having the most wondeful property, we stayed in the main house but cottages are also avaialble, it's also in a stunning location within 55 acres where Red Squirrels abound. Our room was beautiful, with a fantastic bathroom and our own patio with table and chairs. There is a comfortable library area with hundreds of books to choose from where you can sit and enjoy a glass of wine. Rockhouse exudes luxury and the tasteful decoration and artwork makes you feel more at home than in a B&B. Breakfast is excellent which includes freshly squeezed orange juice, fruit dishes (strawberries, blackberries, pomegranet, raspberries, apricots, rhubarb etc), cereal, porridge, kippers, full scottish, omeletes, homemade bread and the rest. Eggs come from their own chickens each morning. We even had supper with them one evening where for a modest charge we had an excellent evening meal with two other lucky guests and Penny and Roland, it was more like visiting friends for dinner. Both Penny and Roland could not do enough to make our stay more enjoyable, both are very interesting and the conversation excellent. I would highly recommend RockHouse to anyone looking for 5* standards set in a beautiful tranquil location. We will certainly return this year.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

My husband took me here on the Jubilee weekend for 3 nights as a surprise on the recommendation of my stepson who had previously stayed here. As soon as I walked into the cottage I was smitten. It is absolutely stunning and the views are to die for. Penny and Roland are the consummate hosts and provide a lovely welcome package including cake and fresh eggs from the hens roaming round the property. The kitchen is very well equipped with little extras too if you plan to cook for yourselves which we took full advantage of as it is was difficult to tear ourselves away from the cottage and go out for dinner to one of the many excellent restaurants in the area. We did eat out one evening at Fortingall which was delicious and also had a fabulous lunch at Ardeonaigh Hotel but for the rest of the time we ate at home because it was just too beautiful to leave. Love it, love it, love it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adelman2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed in Waterfall Cottage for three nights in early June 2012. My son and his girlfriend had stayed there at the end of last year and had been so enthusiastic that we had to give it a try. From the moment we arrived, Roland & Penny Kennedy were the perfect hosts. They ensured that we had everything that we could possibly need for a relaxing stay. The surroundings are breathtaking with stunning views from every room. Roland recommended that we walk down to the boathouse where all possible amenities had been provided to enjoy a relaxing evening by the loch. You could even cook there as crockery and cutlery have been provided. The walk back to the cottage within the 80 acres of grounds was punctuated by sights of frolicking red squirrels and even a deer. The cottage is luxurious by anyone's standards with Linen provided by the White Company (the cottage was used for their catalogue shoot), a kitchen with every possible cooking utensil, and a wood burning stove for those romantic evenings. There are plenty of really good places to eat nearby and Roland is happy to advise you but, to be honest, we were sad to leave the cottage - such was the level of comfort and homeliness.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed in Waterfall Cottage for four nights in early March 2012. It was the perfect place to relax, read, eat, drink and just be incredibly lazy. The surrounding countryside is stunning and the views from the cottage are lovely - it's easy to while away the time sitting in front of the woodburner, watching the weather change from hour to hour.

The cottage is a kind of modern Scandi house, decorated in a rustic French way. Really simple, well-chosen furniture and decor. And the kitchen has everything you could ever need.

The owners, Roland and Penny, are great - very thoughtful and accommodating. Can't wait to go back one day.

Room Tip: Waterfall Cottage feels very private and has brilliant views across the north shore of Loch Tay.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank StateRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We stayed in Sky Cottage over a sunny, rainy, snowy weekend in December. The view is magnificient and really couldn't be better.

Every possible thing has been thought about at sky cottage. Every detail, need, want has been anticipated and provided for. But not only provided for but provided for in a luxurious fashion. Nothing has been spared at Sky Cottage.

We joked over how we'd love it if we got snowed in to sky cottage as we couldn't think of a nicer place to get snowed in at. Funnily enought we nearly did get snowed in! but this just added to the charm and beauty of Sky Cottage at Rock House.

What a special, beautiful, perfect scottish retreat.

Room Tip: sky cottage has better views but a little but less privacy as the main lounge aread overlooks the entrance to the main house.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonNYC-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews